The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Pull Up A Chair, It’s a Saturday Book Share Seven Stories Up

Recently, I began a new blog theme, “Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share”. It is a good time to focus in on a book I found special recently. Here’s my thoughts on the beautiful book Seven Stories Up by Laurel Snyder:

sevenstoriesup

I absolutely loved reading Seven Stories Up and I am certain that I will reread it quite soon. It was such a special book that I actually just couldn’t stop reading. I loved the premise of the story where a mother and daughter are driving to a strange new place to meet a stranger. It was so easy to be drawn into the enchanting world that Laurel creates in the hotel… I already felt like I was reading about a magical place even before the magic of Laurel Snyder’s time travel began. I loved the friendship that developed through the time travel and the adventures that occurred were entertaining, I held my breath through most of them because I was quite worried about how both characters would fare in the situations they kept finding themselves in… rollerskating in a store filled with delicate items? I wouldn’t recommend doing that! This book made me really appreciate modern medicine and knowledge that has grown about diseases and how to care for people. It was a lovely story. I’m quite grateful that Laurel Snyder helped me attain an advanced readers copy! Highly recommended! But I also recommend going and grabbing the wonderful companion to Seven Stories Up called Bigger than a Bread Box and reading it numerous times before this book is released- on January 28, 2014!
Quotes that kept me reading and wondering and loving this book:
“It’s like she’s got a big black hole inside. Like she’s hungry and can’t get full, no matter how people try to feed her.”
“I only know that I belong somewhere else. Or somewhen.”
“It was much nicer in the warm, dry clothes, with the rubbed-clean feeling of a rain shower.”
“Magic is what people call it when the universe corrects itself and they happen to be watching.”

Summary at Goodreads: “In this companion to Bigger than a Bread Box, a leap back in time and an unlikely friendship changes the future of one family forever.
Annie has never even met her grandmother before.  In fact, she’s never had much family to speak of.  So when she and her mother pull into the drive of her grandmother’s home in Baltimore, Annie can hardly contain her excitement!
But when she actually meets her grandma, the bitter old woman doesn’t seem like someone Annie could ever love, or miss.  Until one magical, stormy night changes everything.
It’s impossible that Annie could have jumped back in time. . . right? But here she is in 1937— the year her grandmother was just her age!
Molly is an invalid. She lives by herself, on the top floor of a hotel.  She seems a little lonely, but friendly and fun, nothing like the horrible old woman Annie just met.
Annie entices Molly down from her room, and together the two girls roam. They sneak around the grand hotel, and explore the brick streets of old Baltimore. Carnivals and taxis, midnight raids on the kitchen.  The two grow closer.
But as Molly becomes bolder, and ventures further from the safety of her room, Annie begins to wonder how she’ll ever get back home. Maybe she’s changed the past a little too much. . .”

About Pull up a chair, it’s a Saturday Book Share: I’ve had many books I review that I just want to feature. Simple and easy, celebrate a new book encounter. So that’s what Saturday Book Share is about for me, celebrating books! Perhaps some days I’ll share the book with a short reading of a portion. Or perhaps other days I’ll just share a glimpse of the book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post). I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

FTC Required Disclosure: This site is an Amazon affiliate, and purchases made through Amazon links (including linked book covers) may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you). Additionally this site is a Powells Books affiliate, and purchases made through the linked book covers may result in my receiving a small commission (at no additional cost to you).
© 2013 by Debbie Alvarez of The Styling Librarian. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @stylinlibrarian or at my Styling Librarian Page on Facebook.
What book treasure will you find?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

