The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #ThirstDay Book Love

Thanks to David Etkin for this Thirst Day Meme:

Quote from David: “Today is Thursday THIRSTday.” http://mretome.wordpress.com

photo 4

Book Love by Penny Kittle – Professional book – I finally had time to really concentrate and celebrate Penny Kittle’s message. I loved this book. There were many different ideas that I’d love to adapt to elementary school. I adored the concept of summer reading book clubs led by various teachers with students getting the choice to choose which book club to join. Additionally, having specific independent reading time for the whole school on an almost daily basis for both students and staff is a beautiful idea that I’d love to explore in the future…

Here’s some of my favorite portions:

p. 34 – “I want a balance for my students because easy reading builds confidence and hard reading builds skills. Anything that is always hard becomes something I avoid…. It’s all about balance—which applies to most things we do… If we want to create lifelong, satisfied readers, we need a balance between the careful study of complex texts and time to pursue personal passions in books of choice for pure pleasure. The key is we have to teach both….”

p. 35 – “The most important condition in my classroom is my relationship with my students… I value engagement more than any particular text, and helping students learn to make good choices rests on suggestion, not coercion. I believe the only real and lasting interestin reading comes from engagement, so it is at the heart of what I do. The secret of my system, perhaps, is the accepted and encouraged diversity of the books that line my shelves.”

p. 37 – “If the trajectory in our teaching is focused on lifelong reading as I believe it must be, then I believe we should be moving readers toward greater choice as they age… I am not advocating eliminating the study of literature and hope that there will always be a host of choices in the deep study of literature at all ages, but I am questioning the balance between content and kids.”

p. 43 – “… Until they’re turning pages independently, they won’t apply what we teach them in close reading. Guided practice with texts isn’t enough; students need daily independent practice.”

Goodreads Summary: “”I believe each of my students must craft an individual reading life of challenge, whim, curiosity, and hunger, and I’ve discovered that it is not too late in high school to lead a non-reader to reading. It’s never too late.” -Penny Kittle Penny Kittle wants us to face the hard truths every English teacher fears: too many kids don’t read the assigned texts, and some even manage to slip by without having ever read a single book by the time they graduate. As middle and high school reading declines, college professors lament students’ inability to comprehend and analyze complex texts, while the rest of us wonder: what do we lose as a society when so many of our high school graduates have no interest in reading anything? In Book Love Penny takes student apathy head on, first by recognizing why students don’t read and then showing us that when we give kids books that are right for them, along with time to read and regular response to their thinking, we can create a pathway to satisfying reading that leads to more challenging literature and ultimately, a love of reading. With a clear eye on the reality of today’s classrooms, Penny provides practical strategies and advice on: increasing volume, capacity, and complexity over time creating a balance of independent reading, text study, and novel study helping students deepen their thinking through writing about reading building a classroom library with themes that matter to 21st century kids.
Book Love is a call to arms for putting every single kid, no exceptions allowed, on a personal reading journey. But much more than that, it’s a powerful reminder of why we became English teachers in the first place: our passion for books. Books matter. Stories heal. The right book in the hands of a kid can change a life forever. We can’t wait for anyone else to teach our students a love of books-it’s up to us and the time is now. If not you, who? Book love–pass it on.”

Water bottle from Watsons, these are always around… even though I’d love to be free of wasting plastic…

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter also, follow my blog with Bloglovin! I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian #ThirstDay Book Love

  1. Adrienne
    October 31, 2013

    I have this on my “to read” list. the library doesn’t have it yet. I might just have to buy it.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 31, 2013

      I’m glad to own a copy… but bought for library so that I can pass it to different colleagues. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2013 by in Blog, Book Recommendations, Book Review, Books, Thirst Day and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

