The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and http://www.unleashingreaders.com for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! I’ve enjoyed numerous books this week but decided to share only a few… others I’ll share other days of the week. My reading stamina is increasing.

Fiction Books:

Parched by Melanie Crowder – 5th Grade and up, Multicultural/Realistic Fiction – This was a really tough book to read. I enjoyed it nonetheless. I found the approach to speak from the point of view of three characters, a lead dog, a young boy and a young girl was a powerful choice. Touching to read how personal choices are adjusted to help others all the way through the book… Desperation for water is clearly outlined as well through the book. I was personally in debate about when this story was written, feels a bit futuristic/dystopian at times versus being set in present day. I do recommend this book for others but must say if is for the readers who can handle death and heartbreaking scenes. Goodreads Summary: “A mesmerizing debut about a girl, a boy, and a dog struggling to survive in a parched and barren land. Sarel is a girl with secrets. She knows which tree roots reach down deep to pools of precious water. But now she must learn how to keep herself and her dogs alive. Nandi is the leader of those dogs. She knows they can’t last long without water—and she knows, too, that a boy is coming; a boy with the water song inside him. Musa is that boy. His talent for finding water got him kidnapped by brutal men, yet he’s escaped, running away across the thirsty land that nearly claims his life. And so Sarel, Musa, and the dogs come together in what might be their last hope of survival.”

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – What? I have to wait! I have to wait until next year for the third book! And there are four books! I just ate this book up. I couldn’t believe how lost I can get in Marissa’s world. I loved the adventure, new characters, mystery, survival elements, and new concepts added to the story. Pretty darn fantastic. Highly recommended. Sequel to Cinder.  Goodreads Summary: “The fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth… Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner”

The Fire Horse Girl by Kay Honeyman – middle school and up – Historical Fiction – Quite the adventure within this book! From immigration to detention to gangs to cultural rejection, there isn’t much of a break for these characters. Really found this book engrossing and couldn’t believe what Jade Moon had to go through. It is a safer book for students to read even though brothels are brought up, they don’t go into details like Sold does.  Goodreads Summary: “A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See! Jade Moon is a Fire Horse — the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true. Then a young man named Sterling Promise comes to their village to offer Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise’s smooth manners couldn’t be more different from her own impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn’t want to admit many Chinese, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the “Ellis Island of the West,” she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path . . . one as brave and dangerous as only a Fire Horse girl can imagine.”

I read a few other books that were randomly sitting on my shelf…

Crummy Mummy and Me by Anne Fine – Realistic Fiction, 4th grade and up – I was quite pleased to squeeze in an Anne Fine book selection. I read a few of her books last year and enjoyed watching numerous students read more and more of her books over the past year. This one was a little different… A young girl is pointing out through every chapter how her mom isn’t a terrific mom and isn’t sensible enough. I found it quite humorous overall.  Goodreads Summary: “How would you feel if your mother had royal blue hair and wore fishnet tights? It is not easy for Minna being the only sensible one in the family, even though she is used to her Mum’s weird clothes and eccentric behaviour.”

The Golden Dragon by Peter Osborne – Fantasy, 4th grade and up – A colleague recently brought this book to the library and pointed out that it was autographed years ago- published in 2005. Interesting quick fantasy which a brother and sister must solve riddles they receive through a magical lotus paper flower and travel around Taiwan. I thought it was a good introduction to culture, traditions, and temples in Taiwan. I could think of a few students who would enjoy the riddles as well.

Love in Translation by Wendy Nelson Tokunaga – Realistic Fiction, Adult – I randomly picked this book up and read it in half a day. Haven’t read a ‘brain candy” adult book in quite a while. It was a tood story about a woman who drops everything to move to Japan and try to solve her missing father and aunt mystery. I enjoyed reading about her experiences trying to adapt to a new culture and community.  Goodreads Summary: “Stuck.  That’s how 33-year-old aspiring singer Celeste Duncan feels, with her deadbeat boyfriend and static career. But then Celeste receives a puzzling phone call and a box full of mysterious family heirlooms which just might be the first real clue to the identity of the father she never knew. Impulsively, Celeste flies to Japan to search for a long-lost relative who could be able to explain. She stumbles head first into a weird, wonderful world where nothing is quite as it seems—a land with an inexplicable fascination with foreigners, karaoke boxes, and unbearably perky TV stars. With little knowledge of Japanese, Celeste finds a friend in her English-speaking homestay brother, Takuya, and comes to depend on him for all variety of translation, travel and investigatory needs. As they cross the country following a trail after Celeste’s family, she discovers she’s developing “more-than-sisterly” feelings for him. But with a nosy homestay mom scheming to reunite Takuya with his old girlfriend, and her search growing dimmer, Celeste begins to wonder whether she’s made a terrible mistake by coming to Japan. Can Celeste find her true self in this strange land, and discover that love can transcend culture?”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

20 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Thanks for your reviews. When I was reading the summary of Parched, it reminded me of a novel I had read in middle school about a brother and sister lost in the Australian wilderness for some reason. And I had the hardest time remembering what it was. Thank goodness for Google!

  2. Julee Murphy
    October 21, 2013

    I had not seen the book trailer for Scarlet so I will look it up and share it with my sixth grade class next week. I have really enjoyed the series and so have my middle school girl students. Terrific series.

  3. Myra GB
    October 21, 2013

    Most of the titles you shared are quite unfamiliar to me, so I’m glad to read through your thoughts about them. Haven’t read any of Anne Fine’s novels yet, which one would you recommend I start with? You’ve done a lot of reading in the past week! 🙂

  4. megan
    October 21, 2013

    I loved Scarlet even more than Cinder! I can’t wait to see how Meyer weaves two more characters into this story. I need Cress! http://wp.me/pzUn5-1Ip

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 22, 2013

      I agree, I really enjoyed Scarlet… Isn’t it funny how many YA books are coming out in the next month/year that are so fantastic and anticipated?! I love it!

  5. Lorna
    October 22, 2013

    I started Cinder, but put it down, as I was attracted by shiney new titles coming it at a rapid rate to my library hold shelf. I really should head back to that one!

  6. Holly Mueller
    October 22, 2013

    Parched was recommended to me as a follow up/related book to A Long Walk to Water. I loved Cinder and Scarlet, too, and look forward to the rest of the series! 🙂

  7. I felt the same way after finishing Scarlet; I have to wait until the next year? So creative!

  8. Megan Ginther
    October 22, 2013

    Oh, I’ve heard about Parched. I’ll have to check it out. We just finished A Long Walk to Water as a read-aloud in my fifth grade class. I’m sure some of my more advanced readers would love Parched.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 22, 2013

      I think it is appropriate for more advanced readers, they’ll find some poignant connections.

  9. I look forward to reading Scarlett! I read the first in this series recently and was surprised by how engrossed I was with it. I didn’t know that there were going to be 4 titles!

  10. MummifiedSelke (@mselke01)
    October 24, 2013

    I snagged an ARC for Cress… so reading the series just bumped higher on my to do list 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

