The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Book Review: Rose

I received Rose by Holly Webb from Netgalley to review and just couldn’t wait to read it. It was released in the UK for a while but is newly being released in the US. I look forward to getting this whole series ordered over here in Hong Kong. I have a feeling I’ll be able to get the UK edition of the books though! Pretty bright covers for them!

I recently sat with my son and watched the movie Annie and he was pretty astounded that I knew most of the words to most of the songs. I’d forgotten how much fantastic dancing throughout the movie, a feast for the eyes.

Then, I sat down and read Rose. This was a feast for my imaginative soul. I loved creating the settings with visions… which include some really interesting characters and situations. Rose grew up in an orphanage and is relieved and eager to get a job as a house maid when someone comes by to pick one of the girls at the orphanage for the job. But Rose slowly reveals her magical side that she’s scared for anyone to notice, especially her new master, Mr. Fountain. Mr. Fountain is an alchemist who lives with many servants, one apprentice, a special cat, and his daughter in an older home. As layers of Rose’s abilities and knowledge are revealed to the reader, you become more anxious for the next stage of her experience of life at the house. She goes back to visit friends at the orphanage and discovers a sinister plot that was only slightly mentioned prior in the book. What a capturing book… I don’t want to ruin any portion of this book for the reader by going further…

I loved reading this book and thought the fantasy and adventure were creepily fantastic. They would partner perfectly with Doll Bones by Holly Black, Spindlers by Lauren Oliver and Splendours and Glooms/Fire Spell by Laura Amy Schlitz. (I think all three of these books have a slant towards the fantastic, fantasy creepy side which Rose often leaned toward as well.) Never too scary although I did read one chapter a bit quicker than some other ones! Overall, I do highly recommend this book and look forward to purchasing it for my school. I know my students will be quite excited since they adore Holly Webb’s animal fiction book series. Her books fly off the shelf.

hollywebbbks

image001

Goodreads Summary: “The grand residence of the famous alchemist, Mr Fountain, is a world away from the dark orphanage Rose has left behind. For the house is positively overflowing with sparkling magic—she can feel it. And it’s not long before Rose realises that maybe, just maybe, she has a little bit of magic in her, too. . . . The first book in an exciting, get-lost-in-the-world series about orphans, alchemy, magical powers and sinister child-catchers.”

HollyWebbAbout the Author from the Publisher: Holly Webb is a bestselling author in the UK with her books Lost in the Snow and Lost in the Storm. As a child growing up in London, Holly fell in love with stories from Ancient Greek myths, which led to studying Latin and Greek and eventually reading Classics at University. She worked for five years as a children’s fiction editor, before deciding to become a writer. The Rose books stem from a childhood love of historical novels, and the wish that animals really could talk. She lives in Reading with her husband and three small children. Visit Holly at holly-webb.com.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

4 comments on “Styling Librarian: Book Review: Rose

  1. lenorelook
    September 7, 2013

    Sounds wonderfully creepy! Can’t wait to find ’em. Thanks for the recommendation.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 7, 2013

      🙂 Not sure how but I’ve been attracted to some pretty creepy books this year… loved them! 🙂

  2. lenorelook
    September 7, 2013

    Ooh, loved that interview with her too. Just watched it. Thanks for including it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

