The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #TreatTuesday No Monkeys No Chocolate

TreatTuesday

Thanks to Twitter Friends for creating a delicious meme- Treat Tuesday. 

Special thanks to Niki Barnes at Daydream Reader 

and  Shannon Houghton at Ms. Houghton’s Class.

I’ll go with a book and a treat.

IMG_8303

No Monkeys, No Chocolate by Melissa Stewart and Allen Young, illustrated by Nicole Wong –  how fantastic is this non-fiction picture book? One thing I loved as a child was reading the Cricket magazine with the little insects who dropped in during articles with little comments and conversations in addition to a little comic strip which occurred and continued throughout multiple magazines. I was reminded about this when I read No Monkeys, No Chocolate because there are little book worms who are commenting in various ways through the book with fantastic comic relief. Brilliant book. Packed with well organized facts about how delicate and important multiple organisms are within the ecosystem which impacts the creation of chocolate/cocoa beans. Since I am thoroughly addicted to dark chocolate, I loved learning more through every stage. My son was a little grossed out by the coffin flies laying eggs inside the leaf-cutter ants heads and tiny maggots wriggling out and eating the ant’s brains. I can totally see many students just loving this portion! I cannot wait to read it aloud!

Goodreads Summary: “Most kids love chocolate, but few of them know that its main ingredient, the cocoa bean, comes from a tree that grows in tropical rain forests. Dual-layer text describes the life cycle of the tree, emphasizing its botanical structures and highlighting the interdependence of the plant and animals such as the pollen-sucking midge, brain-eating coffin fly, and aphid-munching anole lizard. Two wise-cracking bookworms offer meta-textual commentary and humor in this fascinating depiction of a microhabitats survival.”

Treat = dried apricot… good for those moments when I desperately need a boost of energy since my school is a “no nut” school, so I can’t have my old 6 almonds for energy… (Sorry I didn’t have chocolate to accompany this book as a treat- would have been perfect but alas….)

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,874 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

