The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts  and http://www.unleashingreaders.com for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Yikes to ambition, work has now begun without my completion of the hopeful To-Be-Read list… I think my biggest problem was that I added 12 extra books after getting excited about new releases in addition to borrowing some from the library as well. Then, I hit a wall this week. I got “don’t want to i-tis”… “I don’t want to see what happens next, must stop for now…” I’ve been reading some upsetting books which I really didn’t want to complete… so I didn’t read as many as I normally do.

Fiction books Enjoyed: 

Numbed! By David Lubar, humor/science fiction/math, 4th grade and up- this book is the perfect combination of humor and math. Terrific introduction to why math is important and integrated into our everyday lives in vital ways. I enjoyed reading how two stubborn boys learned how to embrace and solve math problems within a short period of time after being numbed (losing all functioning math skills) by a little robot who loved math and knew they needed to be taught a lesson. Interesting resolution and fun story. I think this book would be a good read aloud for teachers who want that combination of literacy and math in a natural humorous way. Recommended. Affirmative. Goodreads Summary: “When Logan’s class takes a trip to a math museum, his mischievous friend Benedict is sure it will be a boring day until he discovers a robot and its creator in an off-limits area. The robot proves feisty, and soon both boys get zapped. They realize only later that they left the museum without their math skills. To get back the knowledge they need for school not to mention buying food at the mall, divvying up dinner at home, and much more they’ll have to get back to the museum and pass a series of math challenges. Being numbed will teach Logan and Benedict just how useful, and even fun, math can be.”

Chupacabra by Roland Smith – 4th/5th grade and up, Adventure – First off, warning! This is not the finale. I read somewhere that it would be the completion of the series, but no. You are left hanging with anticipation of the new book release. Enjoyed revisiting settings, characters, meeting new ones, finding out that Roland Smith snuck in a character from another favorite book. Brilliant book with a subtle message of animal cruelty and exposure to the psyche of people who collect animals. I really appreciated the creativity of the children and the darkness of each of the villains. Goodreads Summary: “A mysterious creature, a missing girl, and danger at every turn . . . CHUPACABRA, the riveting sequel to TENTACLES and CRYPTID HUNTERS, reunites Marty and his unusual uncle, cryptozoologist Travis Wolfe, as they search the world for Wolfe’s daughter, Grace. Grace has been kidnapped by her grandfather, the ruthless and dangerous Noah Blackwood, who has also stolen the two dinosaur hatchlings Wolfe was raising in secrecy. Now, with word that the mysterious creature known as Chupacabra has been sighted again, Wolfe is torn between his obsession with finding cryptids and his desperate need to rescue his daughter. With trouble at every turn and a dangerous journey ahead, will Marty and Wolfe come face-to-face with the mythic monster? Even more frightening, will they reach Grace before it’s too late?”

Mud City by Deborah Ellis – 5th grade and up, Realistic Fiction/Multicultural – Another part of the series that began with The Breadwinner. This time we revisit a best friend’s life after they are separated due to running away from violence. I have honestly read a few too many stories recently that connect to children living in poverty, digging through trash, and begging for food and money. Another heartbreaking story for children but well worth every minute of reading… I heard there is a fourth story in the series so shall be searching for it. Goodreads Summary: “This final book of the acclaimed trilogy that includes The Breadwinner and Parvana’s Journey continues the story of Parvana’s best friend. Fourteen-year-old Shauzia, has escaped the misery of her life in Kabul, only to end up in a refugee camp in Pakistan. She still dreams of seeing the ocean and eventually making a new life in France. Shauzia finally decides to leave the camp and try her luck on the streets. She is determined to earn money to leave Pakistan. Peshawar is dangerous and full of desperately poor children like herself, but she has her dog Jasper.She figures she knows how to survive, but an incident with a dishonest man lands her in jail, where she spends the night, terrified and despairing, before she is rescued by well-meaning Americans.
They take her and Jasper to their home in a residential part of Peshawar, and for a time she has a taste of a life where children are safe and have food to eat. But just when she thinks the family will ask her to stay with them, disaster ensues, and Shauzia finds herself driven back to the refugee camp, where she discovers the old choices are not so easy any more.”

Guardians of Ga’hoole The Rise of a Legend by Katherine Lasky– 5th/6th grade and up, Animal Fantasy- interesting prequel to the Ga’Hoole series although at times I found it a little scattered jumping from one character to the next… Appreciated the celebration of creativity and innovation along with respect for inter species cooperation and female role models… This was not my favorite piece of the series but for die-hard fans, it is an essential component. Goodreads Summary: “Far off in the ice-choked land of the Northern Kingdoms, a young screech owl is marked by destiny. He is Ezylryb, an owl who will rise through the ranks of the Killian Army to become the commander of a battalion of snakes. But although Ezylryb is touched by greatness, his battle-filled life is punctuated by tragedy–from the attack that leaves his father flightless forever, to a terrible betrayal by Ezylryb’s own brother. But the young owl–with the support of a snake named Octavia–rises above it all, rises high on strong wings. For Ezylryb is no ordinary owl. He’s the stuff of legends. He’s a Guardian of Ga’Hoole.”

Audiobook I Enjoyed:

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – High School and up, Realistic Fiction – I was so caught up in this book that I didn’t want to complete listening to it. Absolutely beautiful, enthralling, heartbreaking…. I knew what was coming. I loved how the story developed. It was quite a powerful book told through two perspectives, from Eleanor and Park. Goodreads Summary: “Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.”

I’m currently reading:

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan – Honestly, brilliant book. Amazing, creative character I’m completely captured by… Goodreads Summary: “In the tradition of Out of My MindWonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.  Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.”

I’m continuing to read Book Love by Penny Kittle, professional read. Taking my time reading this book.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

15 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading

  1. Earl
    August 19, 2013

    I was surprised to hear Guardians of Ga’hoole had a new installment coming out. No wonder people kept asking about it at our store!

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 19, 2013

      How funny… I was wondering how much publicity it had. There are so many books out there in that series now!

  2. Julee Murphy
    August 19, 2013

    Brilliant addition with the Why Students Don’t Read What is Assigned in Class video. I plan on watching it again and sharing it with my reading community.

    I have to buy the Roland Smith Chupacabra. Kids in my school are frequently talking about chupacabras and love a good scare.

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 19, 2013

      🙂 Important topic.
      I love that series- Chupacabra is the third book but is fine as a stand alone too…

  3. Myra GB
    August 19, 2013

    It’s the first I’ve heard of Chupacabra – I like the sound of the title, so will check that one out. I’m familiar with Deborah Ellis’ novels but haven’t read any of them yet – hopefully, we can come up with a theme that would get me closer to reading those lovely titles. I love the video clip you shared! I shall share it with my own teacher-students in the university.

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 19, 2013

      Chupacabra is going to be released soon, 3rd book in the series by Roland Smith but can stand alone. Oh, I bet Deborah Ellis’ novels will fit a theme soon enough. They’re brilliant.

  4. dimac4
    August 19, 2013

    I am in awe of your depth & breadth of knowledge of children’s fiction & how you read so many so quickly. You are truly an inspiration to me!! Always look forward to the next instalment of IMWAYR!

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 19, 2013

      Thanks so much Dianne- right back at you!! 🙂
      Goodness knows what I’ll get thru this coming week. Not too inspired by the books I’ve started… might be a picture book week! 🙂

  5. elibenoli5
    August 19, 2013

    So happy to see Deborah Ellis’ book on your marvellous list – she has become a classroom favorite. Eleanor and Park is a special book – thanks for sharing the trailer!

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 19, 2013

      Thanks for reading! 🙂 I just love Deborah Ellis’s books. Eleanor and Park will be a reflective book- unforgettable.

  6. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    August 20, 2013

    Wow! What an amazing variety of titles this week! I’ll have to check out the Roland Smith series. I think I’d have students interested in that set.

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 20, 2013

      Roland Smith writes some of my favorite adventure/survival series… perfect for 4th/5th grade and up…

  7. Andrea Payan (@payanar)
    August 20, 2013

    You read some great books this week! I will absolutely have to look for Numbed! I love when math is integrated into a great story. I also have Eleanor and Park on my list to read soon.

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 20, 2013

      Thanks! I really enjoyed Numbed! I grew up with math word play problems… my dad was as obsessed with math as the robot was. 🙂 Enjoy Eleanor and Park when you have time to read, simply a treasure of a book!

  8. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Audiobook Favorites | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

