The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #ThirstDay with Maggot Moon

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Thanks to David Etkin for this Thirst Day Meme:

Quote from David: “Today is Thursday THIRSTday.” http://mretome.wordpress.com

maggot Moon

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner: I went to a local Thai restaurant today for a set lunch- included phad thai, spring rolls, and a soda! I was waiting for the Chinese Visa Department to open after their 12pm-2pm break. I was just finished waiting for over an hour to fix a “human error” made at the Hong Kong Visa Department… Thank goodness I had Maggot Moon for both waiting lines. It is an engrossing, upsetting, non-stop action book, I’m half way through but quite upset over an violent incident in the book presently, so have taken a pause to read something a little lighter and then I’ll go back to finishing this book today.

I heard about Maggot Moon many times this year by word of mouth and then with it winning the Carnegie Medal (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals Carnegie Medal) and the COSTA award, I knew it was a “must-read”. It was on my school’s book order list for the fall, but since I was able to pick it up at the store yesterday, I grabbed the opportunity. Push all other books aside ladies and gentleman and prepare yourselves for a middle school book packed with: friendship, rebellion, danger, conspiracy theory, and swearing… fantastic middle school/high school novel. (Really, really not for children under 12, quite violent and upsetting in my opinion.) I appreciate living here in Hong Kong where I’m aware of books published all over the world, not just in America. I feel like opportunities now abound for my reading experience (so I’ll never catch up on my reading, what’s new?) I do admit, I was aware of books from around the world before, but now, they’re at the forefront of my mind so that I can accommodate my wonderful international student readers.

Oh, and did I mention there is a character with dyslexia within the pages of the book? The dyslexia mentioned in a way that is respectful, honest, and heartbreaking simultaneously? *Shall add to my other blog post where I list my favorite books connected with special needs!

http://www.maggotmoon.com – looks like there is a fantastic audiobook and eBook option for enjoying Maggot Moon as well!

Interview with the author: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-22973574

I could connect this book with many others, the book I am thinking of the most is The Book Thief by Markus ZusakMaggot Moon is bringing me through a similar heart-wrenching experience…

Goodreads Summary for Maggot Moon: “In Sally Gardner’s stunning novel, set in a ruthless regime, an unlikely teenager risks all to expose the truth about a heralded moon landing. What if the football hadn’t gone over the wall. On the other side of the wall there is a dark secret. And the devil. And the Moon Man. And the Motherland doesn’t want anyone to know. But Standish Treadwell — who has different-colored eyes, who can’t read, can’t write, Standish Treadwell isn’t bright — sees things differently than the rest of the “train-track thinkers.” So when Standish and his only friend and neighbor, Hector, make their way to the other side of the wall, they see what the Motherland has been hiding. And it’s big…One hundred very short chapters, told in an utterly original first-person voice, propel readers through a narrative that is by turns gripping and darkly humorous, bleak and chilling, tender and transporting.”

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 comments on “Styling Librarian #ThirstDay with Maggot Moon

  1. Debra Rosenquist
    July 4, 2013

    When you compared it to The Book Thief I knew I would add it to my list! Now stop recommending all these good books…my house will never get cleaned.

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading #titletalk | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

