The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Happy Book Birthday Brush of the Gods #TreatTuesday

TreatTuesday

Thanks to Twitter Friends for creating a delicious meme- Treat Tuesday. 

Special thanks to Niki Barnes at Daydream Reader 

and  Shannon Houghton at Ms. Houghton’s Class.

I’ll go with a book and a treat.

Gorgeous book with a little treat, hasn't been opened although the book has been opened numerous times!!

Gorgeous book with a little treat, hasn’t been opened although the book has been opened numerous times!!

Happy BOOK Birthday to Brush of the Gods by Lenore Look, illustrated by Meilo So! So excited to see this book out in the world now… My students and I received a copy of the book as a gift and we absolutely love it! We enjoyed watching Lenore Look read it aloud during our Skype author visit and now to have an autographed copy of our very own, well that just takes the cake! Thank YOU Lenore Look!!

What a beautiful title page, wonderful room for an autograph as well!

What a beautiful title page, wonderful room for an autograph as well!

Here’s my thoughts on the book: I’ve watched Brush of the Gods collect one lovely book review after another. See below for other reviews!

There are many reasons I think that Brush of the Gods, picture book biography about Wu Daozi, is brilliant. I’d heard about the famous artist in the past, how there was a legend on how he walked into one of his paintings instead of dying… I appreciated how much hands-on research Lenore Look went through to create this book which has brilliant in-context details. This really shows in the language Lenore incorporates through the book. I also love the word choice throughout the book- here are a few golden lines: “Grind your Ink”– reading to understand that line was fascinating, especially when Lenore included this line: “Black tears appeared between the stones.” Another favorite line was about an everyday direction: how many of you were told to ‘sit up straight’ in the past? Well, when Lenore has Daozi sit up straight she does this: “Daozi stretched his neck so that his head floated like a moon above his brush.” Doesn’t that form a picture in your mind? Watching Wu Daozi’s life unfold through the pages was fascinating. It also left me with abundant curious questions such as: Could paintings come to life? Could someone hold and use the brush of the gods? Would it be possible for someone to walk into their own painting? Lenore Look’s writing with the perfect illustrations from Meilo So leaves me with more questions than answers, which I honestly love. It is a wonderful thing when a book can fill you with interest and curiosity.

When I share lists of Caldecott contenders, it would absolutely be part of my list… my only concern is that although Lenore Look is an American author, Meilo So lives in Scotland, so I don’t think that Brush of the Gods would qualify as a contender because of Meilo So’s location.

Isn't this a lovely address mailing label? I can't share Lenore's address but I did hug the envelope when it was received, I admit it...

Isn’t this a lovely address mailing label? I can’t share Lenore’s address but I did hug the envelope when it was received, I admit it…

Here are some of the reviews of Brush of the Gods I’ve noticed lately: (How many stars will this brilliant book collect?)

http://wakingbraincells.com/2013/06/17/review-brush-of-the-gods-by-lenore-look/

https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/lenore-look/brush-gods/

http://www.publishersweekly.com/978-0-375-87001-9

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887324577904578555552420076738.html

http://www.slj.com/2013/05/books-media/reviews/pick-of-the-day/pick-of-the-day-brush-of-the-gods/

http://bookdragon.si.edu/2013/06/19/brush-of-the-gods-by-lenore-look-illustrated-by-meilo-so/

http://lenorelook.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/a-star-a-star/#more-2305

http://www.slj.com/2013/05/books-media/best-of/bookmultimedia-review-stars-list-may-2013/

*Treat is oreos- a treat my husband brought in for emergencies for us during library work hours. I find it interesting that they’re sold in rolls like this!

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

3 comments on “Styling Librarian Happy Book Birthday Brush of the Gods #TreatTuesday

  1. lenorelook
    June 25, 2013

    Reblogged this on a globby bloogie by lenore look and commented:
    Many thanks to Debbie Alvarez for her wonderful Book Birthday wishes!!! I have NO time to blog about it myself as I’m in the thick of finishing the next Alvin book under threat of imminent death! What a wonderful gift this is to reblog 🙂 THANK YOU, Debbie!!! And thanks again to all the amazing readers at Bradbury School for listening 🙂 !!! XXOOXXO

  2. lenorelook
    June 25, 2013

    WooHOO!!! Thank you, Debbie, for this wonderful Book Birthday gift! And for hugging the envelope :). I can just picture it 🙂 . And thanks again to all your amazing readers at Bradbury School for listening! You guys are the best! Mmmm, Oreos! They’re my fave! XXOO

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

