The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Magic by the Lake by Edward Eager – Retro Review by Debbie Alvarez

Honored to have another opportunity to post on Nerdy Book Club… this time reviewing Magic by the Lake by Edward Eager!

Nerdy Book Club

Déjà vu?

Debbie, didn’t you review Half Magic by Edward Eager last June?

Why yes, I did. But I now have reread Magic by the Lake with my son and appreciated (again) how strong and creative Edward Eager is as an author. I saw how his books reflected on today’s titles that I’ve enjoyed. How fantastic it was to read a book that didn’t have a cliffhanger, stood on its own, and had wonderful depth to the messages… I’ve missed classic books. Sure, there are a few words here and there during the story that my son and I took pause at, looked up in a dictionary, and discussed. Isn’t that the way with many books? I had Year 6 (5th grade) students recently telling me that they didn’t understand some words that were in a book published in 1985! So here we go… I enjoyed reviewing a book…

View original post 444 more words

2 comments on “Magic by the Lake by Edward Eager – Retro Review by Debbie Alvarez

  1. lenorelook
    June 6, 2013

    Looks like illustrations by Quentin Blake?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2013 by in Books.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Top Posts & Pages

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

