The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR What are you reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  This past week was a little distracting but additionally fighting a flu bug has helped my reading progress. (Not sure if it is a blessing or a curse… usually if I’m sick I can’t even read so I suppose I’m grateful that I can plug away at books a little bit!) I didn’t pick out any picture books or early chapter books this past week, shall refocus on them soon enough. Usually I don’t complete this many fiction titles, was pleased with my progress on my to-be-read shelf although I did add a few new titles to it for Hong Kong Battle of the Books.  

Fiction Books:

The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver – After finding the first few chapters a little too much because of the spider images involved, this book was fascinating. I couldn’t stop reading it and loved the results. I would compare this book to The Hobbit, Wizard of Oz, and Alice in Wonderland with the different worlds involved. Pretty powerful fantasy. Can’t wait to tell students about this book and additionally play all of the brilliant book trailers! Goodreads Summary: “Evocative of Alice in Wonderland, this novel from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver is a bewitching story about the reaches of loyalty and the enduring power of hope.
Looking across the breakfast table one morning, twelve-year-old Liza feels dread wash over her. Although her younger brother, Patrick, appears the same, Liza knows that he is actually quite different. She is certain that the spindlers–evil, spiderlike beings–came during the night and stole his soul. And Liza is also certain that she is the only one who can rescue him.
Armed with little more than her wits and a huge talking rat for a guide, Liza descends into the dark and ominous underground to save Patrick’s soul. Her quest is far from easy: she must brave tree-snakes, the Court of Stones, and shape-shifting scawgs before facing her greatest challenge in the spindlers’ lair, where more than just Patrick’s soul is at stake.” I’ve read most of Lauren Oliver’s books, but this one was the first that I ordered due to a series of videos.

Magic by the Lake by Edward Eager – How I loved reading this book aloud to my son. There are so many words that are aged within this story but the content of the story is brilliant and quite engaging. I found that there were many connections to other brilliant books, love that other authors were influenced by Edward Eager’s style. Goodreads Summary: “Further adventures of Mark, Katherine, Jane, and Martha, who find their source of magic in a lake near which they are spending the summer.”

.

Jamespotter2The Curse of the GateKeeper (James Potter #2) by G. Norman Lippert – Finished reading this eBook finally… really enjoyed continuing the Potter legacy. I know it is fan-fiction but I loved this book. Pretty developed story with many terrific twists and turns in addition to adding new quality characters into the book. I especially am enjoying how Merlin the magician has been added to the storyline and how the book jumped back and forth from past to present this time.

Audiobook:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – Wow, what an awesome fantasy with the most creative world and fascinating characters. I never realized how invested in fantasy characters and setting I would be! I’m dying to listen to the sequel but have a few other fantastic audiobooks presently to enjoy. Goodreads Summary: “Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low. And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war. Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out. When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?”

Adult:

IMG_6179IMG_6178I knew I was in for a wringer of a book when my fantastic library assistant handed this book to me the day before she left our school. (She’s returning to the UK.) The serious look, the “you must read this” comment as she handed it over… I put it to the top of my TBR (to be read) pile… Hide and Seek by Jacqueline Wilson was a book that was a one sit read. Cannot put down, must deal with tiny print, worth every upsetting minute… made me see sides to people I didn’t want to see. Basically the story is about a 19 year old boy who grew up being bossed around and bullied constantly. When he receives a tiny bit of friendship and attention from two girls he met in a park, he couldn’t leave them behind. Which meant… he kidnapped them. This is completely an ADULT book. This was Jacqueline Wilson’s first novel and I found it so powerful and upsetting to read. Jumping back and forth between the perspective of one mom who had a mature daughter who she trusted to go to the park and convinced another mom to let her four year old daughter to go as well… and the reaction of the parents and children and the mental instability of Norman the kidnapper will pull you along on quite an upsetting, suspenseful ride. If you can get a hold of this book, be careful, might impact decisions on letting your children go somewhere independently.

I am currently reading:
Fire Spell by Laura Amy Schlitz (called Splendors and Glooms in the US) –
 So far, I’m simply nervous since I read a little too much of the back cover and am anticipating some terrible situations arising. Goodreads Summary: “The master puppeteer, Gaspare Grisini, is so expert at manipulating his stringed puppets that they appear alive. Clara Wintermute, the only child of a wealthy doctor, is spellbound by Grisini’s act and invites him to entertain at her birthday party. Seeing his chance to make a fortune, Grisini accepts and makes a splendidly gaudy entrance with caravan, puppets, and his two orphaned assistants.
Lizzie Rose and Parsefall are dazzled by the Wintermute home. Clara seems to have everything they lack — adoring parents, warmth, and plenty to eat. In fact, Clara’s life is shadowed by grief, guilt, and secrets. When Clara vanishes that night, suspicion of kidnapping falls upon the puppeteer and, by association, Lizzie Rose and Parsefall. As they seek to puzzle out Clara’s whereabouts, Lizzie and Parse uncover Grisini’s criminal past and wake up to his evil intentions. Fleeing London, they find themselves caught in a trap set by Grisini’s ancient rival, a witch with a deadly inheritance to shed before it’s too late.”

I am currently listening to:
Clockwork Angel- The Infernal Devices Book One by Cassandra Clare
– Pretty twisted beginning for an audiobook. Enjoying it though! Goodreads Summary: “Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still. When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.
Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What’s more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa’s power for his own. Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by—and torn between—two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm’s length . . . everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world. . . . and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.”

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

22 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR What are you reading?

  1. Holly Mueller
    June 3, 2013

    I’m listening to Daughter of Smoke and Bone now – it’s so good! Clockwork Angel looks good, too! I listened to Splendors and Glooms and loved it! And oooh – Hide and Seek looks creepy! Thanks for sharing and happy reading!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 3, 2013

      Clockwork Angel is quite fascinating… 🙂 Enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone ending…

  2. Amanda
    June 3, 2013

    I loved Clockwork Angel (though it scared my sister to bits, which aids my enjoyment of it!), I have never heard of these James Potter books—are they fanfic to what I think they are? You really just made my entire week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 3, 2013

      Yes, fan fiction to Harry Potter- quite great quality, really suprised and pleased me… enjoy them!

  3. msyingling
    June 3, 2013

    I do love Edward Eager. I think Half Magic is my favorite, but they are all good. I’ll tell my daughter about the Potter Fan fic, but she’s a purist and might not appreciate them!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 3, 2013

      I have one purist who LOVES them, another who won’t go near them… free books to download, low risk! 🙂 Half Magic was pretty fantastic.

  4. Tara
    June 3, 2013

    None of these books are familiar to me, but I know my sixth graders will love them!

  5. Stephanie Shouldis
    June 4, 2013

    I kept putting off reading Splendors and Gloom, but once I read it I really enjoyed the story. I’m curious to hear your opinion of it.

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 4, 2013

      I’m plugging my way through, distractions are slowing me down though… shall see how long it takes!

  6. I am dying to read Spindlers. Just haven’t gotten to it yet. I think I’ve read all of Oliver’s other books, though. She’s one of my favorites! I LOVED the fantasy of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but I couldn’t stand the romance for some reason. I need to reread (or listen to the audio) so I can read the sequel, because I definitely want to continue in that world. The Clockwork Angel is such a fun read. That’s another series I need to read on in!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 4, 2013

      Well, honestly, Daughter of Smoke and Bone– loved it except the romance- perhaps too Romeo and Juliet? Perhaps hard to accept that stretch of personality/connection over another body/time? I do want to read the sequel, soon enough… I have a few too many series that I want to return to as well! 🙂

  7. bluestockingthinking
    June 4, 2013

    Love Daughter of Smoke and Bone, it amazed me as well. Splendors and Glooms was a most perfect book to read by candle light each night, I love a good creepy read. I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, but I don’t know if I want to read the James Potter books…even though I believe you that they are good books…something about it just feels a bit “off.” But I’m sure I will have to check them out at some point! 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 4, 2013

      Ech. Now I’m nervous that I’ll get creeped out by Splendors and Glooms reading it at night… good to know how you read it! 🙂 Understood- James Potter- it certainly isn’t J. K. Rowling’s work, but I guess I needed a fun escape and I was happy to return to that world again without rereading the series! 🙂

  8. carriegelson
    June 4, 2013

    I found Daughter of Smoke and Bone at a local bookstore and purchased it for one of my summer reads. Pleased to hear such a positive review! You had the same experience with The Spindlers as we did in my household – once over the initial creepiness, all was okay!

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 4, 2013

      I certainly felt like a little kid with my reaction to Spindlers. 🙂 I happily handed it to my student who begs me for creepy books… shall look forward to seeing what she thinks.

  9. Myra GB
    June 4, 2013

    Hi there, I enjoyed Fire Spell. It took me awhile to finish it though (it IS kinda long), but well worth the read. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone – can’t wait to read it. Your description of The Spindlers intrigued me – I’m big on fantasy. 🙂 Will look out for that one too.

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 4, 2013

      So many books!! I’m still only a little way into Fire Spell… shall see how I progress.

  10. Earl
    June 6, 2013

    I can’t wait to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone since she’s a local writer and everyone seems to only have good things to say about the book.

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 6, 2013

      I enjoyed seeing her last year with the 60 Second Newbery festival and put her books on my TBR list then… cannot wait! (Used to be a local author for me as well!)

  11. Oooooh, Splendors and Glooms! I would love to hear what you think about it. I liked it but it was missing a few things for me. The Splinders looks cool. I was just talking with a kiddo about fantasy books and I swear he knew every book I recommended! Might have to tell him about this one. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      June 6, 2013

      I really enjoyed Splendors and Glooms!! Just completed it. Spindlers was quite cool, creepy cool…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

