The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 40

Wow. We’ve hit 40 weeks that we’ve lived in Hong Kong. Is it starting to feel like home? Am I able to say, time to go home now instead of “Time to go back to the apartment?” Well, that fluctuates on a daily basis. My son is settling more. I think as long as he’s with us, he’s amazingly adaptable. My husband is the best partner… has kept me stable, volunteered for loads of hours at my school, has been patient constantly, and has been balanced in approaching life in another country with deciding new life goals. I’m grateful we have this time to sort out our passions, energies, and also continue to provide me the opportunity to continue with my career passion: being a teacher librarian.  Sure, the job has changed over time drastically, but that’s why I appreciate it. I like change. Especially when I can be introduced to it and mull over everything on my own… I think that is the reason why I appreciate working with technology as well. I can meet loads of new programs and then step back and think on how the resource will work to my benefit…

Enough of my random thoughts. So 40 weeks. We’ve explored, travelled, visited family and friends, and settled a bit over here in Asia. So what is next? A summer with no plans yet. (Yikes to humidity, shall see if we survive!) An independent visit for me to see a special teacher librarian friend in Okinawa in May. A school IB evaluation looming in a few weeks. (I appreciate how staff are taking care of things, finding out how to react to an evaluation in a manner that is valued over time versus just creating little projects temporarily.) A skeleton plan to visit New Zealand in the future. A hope to travel and visit areas in China. A goal to add more words to my Cantonese repertoire which is presently abysmal. And many more things…

Food: We visited a delicious restaurant called Cafe Locomotive, loved the Vietnamese food here, amazing. We have 8 items on the menu we’re looking forward to trying when we return!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My whole school took Earth Day walks down a lovely street near the school. Enjoyed some of the views along the way… The grade levels went in rotations so that all 700 students didn’t walk at once. I was quite thrilled to see how many parents also participated!

Enjoyed the billiards place, entertaining place to socialize with colleagues.

Something my husband and I appreciate about Hong Kong is that when we notice that a building is vacated or a business has closed, quite soon another one will pop up. I’ve watched in the US for years with heartache the waste of space and businesses that closed with nothing else opening there for years. The thing that bothered me more was seeing how new construction is popping up nearby instead of using the space already created. So in Hong Kong, I’m pleasantly surprised by the new businesses that open. One was the smoothie shop right down the street from our house…

I decided to take a long walk through a mall while I listened to an audiobook. I love how I can be exposed to stores from around the world right in one mall. Sure, there are some US shops there but I’ve enjoyed learning about other places as well. I was thrilled to find out about another bookstore that had a wide selection of titles. It was so fun to discover a few titles that I really wanted to add to my school’s library collection.

Delicious Korean BBQ Restaurant my family randomly tried out. We enjoyed chatting with a friendly waiter who lived in Hawaii in the past.

So, overall, entertaining week with some delicious food.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I share thoughts 3-5 times per week on books, Hong Kong life, and technology.  I also have a Facebook page or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers, thank you very much! Would love if you followed my posts by going to right side of screen and subscribing.  Here are past posts on Hong Kong Transitions through the weeks: I bounce between professional and personal reflections.

Week 39: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 39
Week 38: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 38
Week 37: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update US Visit Edition Week 37
Week 36: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 36 Junk Boat Special Feature
Week 35: Styling Librarian Week 35 School Life, Exhibition, and Flower Expo
Week 34: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 34 Windsurfing
Week 33: Styling Librarian Week 33 Hong Kong Update
Week 32: Styling Librarian Week 32 Hong Kong Update
Week 31: Styling Librarian Week 31 Update
Week 30: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 30 Update
Week 29: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 29 Update
Week 28: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 28 Update
Week 27:Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 27 Update
Week 26: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 26 Update
Week 25: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 25 Update
Week 24: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week Update Week 24 The Vietnam Edition
Week 23: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 23
Week 22: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 22
Week 21: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 21
Week 20: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 20
Week 19: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 19
Week 18: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 18
Week 17: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update: Week 17
Week 16: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 16 Update
Week 15: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 15 Update
Week 14: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 14 The Thailand Edition
Week 13: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/10/22/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-13/
Week 12: Hong Kong Transition: Week 12
Week 11: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 11
Week 10: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/10/02/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-10/
Week 9: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/23/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-9/
Week 8: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/17/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-8/
Week 7: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/09/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-7/
Week 6: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/02/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-6/
Week 5: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/26/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-update-week-5/
Week 4: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/19/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-4-update/
Week 3: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/13/styling-librarian-hong-kong-move-update-week-3/
Week 2: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/03/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-positives-and-negatives-week-2-update/
Week 1: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/07/27/styling-librarian-post-about-hong-kong-move/

2 comments on “Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 40

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 41 | The Styling Librarian

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 42 | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

