The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #TreatTuesday

TreatTuesday

Thanks to Twitter Friends for creating a delicious meme.

Especially thanks to Niki Barnes at Daydream Reader 

and  Shannon Houghton at Ms. Houghton’s Class.

Treat Tuesday.

IMG_5175b

I know I’ve mentioned this book and author before, but I believe the power of this book allows me to repeat:

I love the book When The Wolves Returned – Restoring Nature’s Balance in Yellowstone by Dorothy Hinshaw Patent – here’s why:

When I was recently in a planning meeting with my Year 3 Teachers (second grade) they mentioned how the next Unit of Inquiry would be on Sharing The Planet – Earth’s limited resources (Smore link with resources!)… I enjoyed collecting videos and resources for this unit but a resounding message I got from the discussion was that the team would like to avoid sharing only negative stories… they would like to share a story that showed how awareness could actually provide a solution and help resolve an issue. This book- When the Wolves Returned – was the first one on my mind. What other book is well written, interesting to read aloud, packed with facts, introduces how the definition of parks came to be, and shows how when a species was hunted to extinction it impacted the ecosystem… then then provides hope through people’s realization and restoration of the wolf population. I just found this to be a fascinating topic and fantastic book. I can’t wait to pass it on to my team. (One of the books I purchased in the US for a team!)

Goodreads Summary: “Yellowstone National Park’s majestic geologic wonders and remarkable wildlife draw millions of visitors each year. But there was a time when these natural treasures were in great danger, all because after years of unrestricted hunting, one key piece of the puzzle had been eliminated—the wolf.
Now, more than a decade after scientists realized the wolves’ essential role and returned them to Yellowstone, the park’s natural balance is gradually being restored.  The informative dual-level text and spectacular full-color photographs show the wolves in the natural habitat that was almost lost without them.  Readers of all ages will be inspired by the delicate natural system that is Yellowstone.”

I’ll go with a book and a treat. 

*I did find a video that also reinforces the point:

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

4 comments on “Styling Librarian #TreatTuesday

  1. Lorna
    April 17, 2013

    This sounds like a great title! Wouldn’t it be great if there were something similar for Yosemite? Or even the huge Elwha Dam removal in Washington State. Hmm…I didn’t think I had any writerly aspirations!

    • The Styling Librarian
      April 17, 2013

      Oh yes, I’m the same way… I would LOVE to find other titles similar that introduce a dilemma that was created, addressed, and then mostly resolved by humans… shows the hope in situations vs. just the doom of many books.

  2. Niki Barnes
    April 17, 2013

    I will have to check this title out! It sounds really interesting!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

