The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: 10 Favorite Podcast Inspirations

IMG_0283

I love listening to podcasts! Sometimes more than listening to audiobooks, which is saying a lot. Some of my favorite podcasts are picked over audiobooks quite often. In fact, I’m finding that I’m not quite keeping up with my audible membership yet. Though perhaps that is because I haven’t found a perfect audiobook in a while. My favorite audiobooks (for those interested) were Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan and Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly and Sarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay. Plus anything by David Sedaris. My son and I adored listening to numerous audiobooks together. Our favorites were Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White and The Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander. I was amazed how much my son retained and could discuss at six years old from our drives back and forth from school each day. (I miss driving a little bit, especially with my kiddo but now I find myself often in cabs or buses with Chinese radio stations blaring at me or conversations buzzing around me and I just take a break with a podcast or audiobook.)

In any case, I do love podcasts immensely. I’m excited about how many new things I can learn about, for free!

Podcasts that I adore:

1. Patrick Carman Intersect with Jeremy Gonzalez

-Anytime I can listen to Patrick Carman talk, fantastic! I have enjoyed his presentations at various locations in the past in addition to chatting with him at Wordstock last year. (Honestly, my friend and I followed him around and listened to his excitement about yet another fantastic series he was creating.) Have you READ Patrick Carman books? If you haven’t, you’re in for a treat reading fans. Take the time and get lost in one of his worlds! I’m a huge fan of his Atherton series along with The Land of Elyon, Floors/Whippet Hotel, Skeleton Creek and Elliot’s Park. Ok, I read pretty much anything Patrick has written! Have you watched his TED Talks video?  Fascinating. Love his perspective on multi-platform reading!

2. Katie Davis Brain Burps About Books

I love listening to the entertaining, energetic, talented, creative, and honestly well-connected Katie Davis! I learn so much in every podcast I listen to which usually isn’t just about books but also about technology, business development, and many other topics… She interviews the people I want to talk to, so I feel like I am living vicariously through her… I also love her books. Take the time and enjoy these fantastic podcasts.

3. Kids’ Comics Revolution!

I am OBSESSED with graphic novels, at least children’s graphic novels. I just bought the Kindle version of this book, A Parent’s Guide to the best Kids’ Comics: Choosing Titles Your Children Will Love by Scott Robins and Snow Wildsmith:

IMG_0291

because the author of Babymouse- Jennifer Holm recommended it on a video… very excited to get lost in reading it. But if you want to hear directly from the graphic novel creators and get the inside scoop, you’re in for a treat with this podcast! I loved listening to some of my favorite graphic novelists!

4. The Moth

Listen to real life stories? Yes please. Some of these make me cry. Some make me laugh. Often they help me grow as a person…

5. Smart Passive Income

I have listened to this podcast for over a year thanks to #2 Katie Davis’s interview with the creator on one of her podcasts. Sometimes he talks about starting up a private business and podcasting (learning, not implementing, yet). He’s interesting to learn from and I honestly like listening to it because (at first) it was completely out of my normal knowledge base. Sure, I’m a huge fan of Suze Orman and have read multiple books by her and other financial management advisors, but this is a different topic altogether. Free book is available as well!

Podcasts that I’m planning to listen to soon:

6. The LARGO! Podcast – Let’s All Really Geek Out!

Honestly, a former colleage/great friend/talented screenwriter and actor/librarian, Patrick Wohlmut, is part of this podcast. If that doesn’t make me push play, I don’t know what will. Some fascinating topics are there including many book and movie related discussions, I just can’t wait to make time to listen!

7. Professor Blastoff

Expanding my knowledge base… when I’m in the mood.

8. Podcast Answer Man

I heard about this podcast through #5, Smart Passive Income, and have listened to a few already. Just honestly not ready to podcast personally but fascinating topic to listen to others…

9. Seth Godin’s Startup School

Can’t wait. Just need to make time.

10. TED Talks Audio

I listened to one so far and became frustrated and opened up the video instead… The speaker continually referred to pictures he was showing. I love pictures. Not sure if TED Talks really translates *for me! to podcasts. BUT I LOVE watching them! I just watched Jeanne Birdsall, favorite author of the Penderwick series, talk about recapturing childhood. I was completely enchanted by her story… with fantastic pictures.

IMG_0284

Please share, what are your favorite podcasts? I would love to add them to my list! – Comment below, thank you!

If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

6 comments on “Styling Librarian: 10 Favorite Podcast Inspirations

  1. jgibsonmillis
    February 20, 2013

    You are amaaaazzzziiiinnnngggg!! Podcasts galore…one to interest everyone in our family! Thanks for sharing!

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 20, 2013

      🙂 Glad to finally share. Sure is giving me guilt to listen to those other ones but in the middle of an audiobook that’s making me wince and hope for better, so I can’t stop listening…

  2. Maria Hoeffer
    February 20, 2013

    I love this list!! Thank you so much for sharing!!

  3. mariahoeffer
    February 20, 2013

    Thank you for sharing this list! I love it and recently got addicted to listening to podcasts as I cook, clean, and drive!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

