The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Celebrating Chinese New Year by enjoying books throughout the week off of work! I really appreciate joining up with Netgalley, already read four books and appreciate the experience of trying out new books first.

I LOVED reading The Runaway King by Jennifer Nielsen – ARC from Netgalley, so thrilled for the opportunity to enjoy! I highly recommend that you grab it upon the release on March 1st, 2013- It is a fantastic sequel that I didn’t find awkward at all. It was a great stand-alone story but boy does it leave you hanging at the end for the third title coming out. Released on March 1st- Goodreads Summary: “A kingdom teetering on the brink of destruction. A king gone missing. Who will survive? Find out in the highly anticipated sequel to Jennifer A. Nielsen’s blockbuster THE FALSE PRINCE! Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation. Rumors of a coming war are winding their way between the castle walls, and Jaron feels the pressure quietly mounting within Carthya. Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far. Will he ever be able to return home again? Or will he have to sacrifice his own life in order to save his kingdom? The stunning second installment of The Ascendance Trilogy takes readers on a roller-coaster ride of treason and murder, thrills and peril, as they journey with the Runaway King!”

readingTheWorld_final1

I always try to keep up with Reading the World Challenge but forget to mention that I am, guess it is becoming natural to read books from a variety of places around the world.

Herbert The Brave Sea Dog by Robyn Belton – A True New Zealand Story – I love animal survival stories. Adorable little dog illustrations with a story about a little dog lost in a terrible storm. Also the faith of the owner as well. Goodreads Summary: “A boy never gives up hope when his little dog vanishes at sea in this suspenseful and heartwarming true-life adventure. Herbert was a small dog who lived by the sea. Everybody loved him, but the person who loved him best of all was Tim. One fine day, Herbert sets off on a boat with Tim’s father. But without warning, a storm crashes in — and so begins the biggest adventure of Herbert’s life. This stirring true story, written and illustrated by Robyn Belton, tells the remarkable tale of a young boy’s beloved dog and his real-life adventure at sea.”


Adventures with Chipper the Cheetah by Jan Latta – True to Life Books – Beautiful little cheetah informative book. Part of a pretty fantastic series. Love the information and the touch on conservation as well. Published in Australia. Good for introduction to research.

Change the world before bedtime by Mark Kimball Moulton, Josh Chalmers and Karen Good – cute rhyming book, not quite sure I need it in the library since I already have 4 books with pretty much the same message/wording, but it was quite cute. Goodreads Summary: “Written in simple, engaging rhyme, this story takes an inspirational look into how the little things in life a smile, a kind word, a simple deed can help change the world in a big way. Through 18 stunning illustrations, children will read about eating right, cleaning up the Earth by recycling and conserving, helping the sick and those less fortunate, and working in a group to make bigger miracles. Even an ordinary kid can be a superhero before bedtime!”

Also I’ve enjoyed:

Pickle – The (Formerly) Anonymous PRANK CLUB of Fountain Point Middle School by Kim Baker, illustrated by Tim Probert – What a hilarious book where pranks get out of hand and just having fun becomes actions that impact numerous people in a negative light. Goodreads Summary: “This is the story of THE LEAGUE OF PICKLE MAKERS. Ben: who began it all by sneaking in one night and filling homeroom with ball-pit balls. Frank: who figured out that an official club, say a pickle making club, could receive funding from the PTA. Oliver: who once convinced half of the class that his real parents had found him and he was going to live in a submarine. Bean: who wasn’t exactly invited, but her parents own a costume shop, which comes in handy if you want to dress up like a giant squirrel and try to scare people at the zoo. TOGETHER, they are an unstoppable prank-pulling force, and Fountain Point Middle School will never be the same.”

Every Day by David Levithan – High School – wow, I flew through this book, couldn’t put it down. What a brilliant premise and a well done angst ridden storyline with a character who moves from one body to the next. Reminded me of watching Quantum Leap but with someone who had ambivalence (at first) instead of a mission to help the person whose body he is sharing. This is one rich, beautiful, complicated book. Goodreads Summary: “Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.
It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.”

Graphic Novel Fun:

Gum Girl – Chews Your Destiny by Rhode Montijo – Loved this book, not quite graphic novel, not quite early chapter book, like the fantastic books Frankie Pickle and Bad Kitty. Shall share more about this one closer to when it is released in June. Goodreads Summary: “Gabby Gomez loves to chew bubble gum even though her mother has warned her against it. It’s not like she will turn into gum…except, that’s exactly what happens! With her new, stretch-tastic powers Gabby can help save the day, but she will have to keep her gummy alter-ego a secret from her mother or else she’ll find herself in a really sticky situation.”

Reading Gap

Continuing my #readinggapchallenge – sports books

footballflukesFootball Flukes by Rob Childs – Ok, honestly? Meh. I really don’t “get” the anxiety that people have to win one competition and then stress over the next. I also get annoyed when a character should know better about how to be a team planner deliberately ignores common sense and just becomes a self serving player oblivious to how actions might impact others. Tried to enjoy the book, I know many of my students in 3rd/4th grade/Y4/5 would enjoy this book. Goodreads Summary: “Luke Crawford, captain of the Sunday league team, the Swillsby Swifts, knows that he’s got a tough task ahead of him when the Swifts set out to play an important cup-tie. Luke wants to prove that the Swifts’ first-round victory in the cup wasn’t simply a fluke. Win or lose, Luke and his team-mates love their football.”

NFPB2013leavesThought I’d also mention my Non-Fiction Reading Goal Progress:

My son and I finished reading They Played What?! The Weird History of Sports and Recreation by Richard Platt – some parts would be more appropriate for 3rd grade and up but overall this book was fascinating. I loved reading with him about pistols, war games, running, animal racing, hunting games, roller coasters, and many other entertainments through time. Pretty fascinating book. ** Plus this counts for a reading gap challenge book as well, one I really enjoyed/understood! Goodreads Summary: “A ball game in which the losing team is murdered?! The Weird History series shines the spotlight on some of the crazy and not-as-crazy-as-it-seems things people have done over the centuries. From marathons and gladiators to bungee jumping and thrill rides, They Played What?! describes some of the weirdest ways people have found to have fun.”

We also finished co-reading You Read to Me, I’ll Read to You Very Short Fairy Tales to Read Together by Mary Ann Hoberman, illustrated by Michael Emberley – those poems tickle both our funny bones in just the right way. Goodreads Summary: “Designed with budding readers in mind, this collection features eight fairy tales, each given a new twist and set in three columns and three colors as a script for two voices to read separately or together.”

.

 

I’m currently reading Young Samurai The Way of the Warrior by Chris Bradford – really enjoying the perspective, adjustment to new culture and expectations… Pretty fantastic and the beginning of a series!

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

22 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    February 18, 2013

    You’ve got some great titles there. I’m so jealous that you were able to get an ARC of The Runaway King. I’m counting down the days! I love seeing what nonfiction books that you are reading, because that is where my bookgap is. I’m trying to read more nonfiction books this year.

  2. Lee Corey
    February 18, 2013

    I just bought the kindle version of the False Prince so now I’m a little more excited to read that. I must say, I’m really becoming a fan of Netgalley! It’s taken me a little while to figure out how it works and how to search, but now it’s in my regular rotations (NCTE books, library books, Kindle, Nook, Netgalley). As always, thanks for the variety of titles this week! 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 18, 2013

      I’m not quite confident searching yet, mostly look at what is popping up in Netgalley conversation on Twitter and Facebook/blogger friends… But I am finding some random books through accidental searches! 🙂 Happy to explore a variety!

  3. Gigi McAllister
    February 18, 2013

    Chipper the Cheetah looks good. I also enjoyed Gum Girl. I really need to get into The False Prince series, haven’t started yet. Have a great reading week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 18, 2013

      Chipper the Cheetah has been out for quite a while… I am glad you enjoyed Gum Girl. I liked how it was similar to Zapato Power with culture/language naturally integrated into the story. I’ve seen it the opposite way before. I forced myself last summer to read The False Prince just to see what all the hype was about and completely understood once I read it…

  4. Kimberley Moran
    February 18, 2013

    I’m jealous of the Runaway King, I loved False Prince. I think you sold me on Every Day. You haven’t been the first to mention it, but I think I must add it to my list now.

  5. Myra GB
    February 18, 2013

    “You Read to Me I’ll Read to You” sounds like a book that I would definitely enjoy. I’ve been seeing a lot of the Runaway King by Nielsen – it’s been receiving a lot of love lately, and I’m definitely intrigued. I know I have to find Everyday by David Levithan soon. 🙂 Sounds like a fascinating read.

  6. Kristen H. (@bookgoil)
    February 18, 2013

    Wow! I love that Gum Girl cover. I may have to buy that for my own library! I really loved and devoured The Runaway King myself, as did my husband. Hope your next reads are as good!

    What the Book Monsters are reading

  7. Hannahlily
    February 18, 2013

    Still haven’t read The False Prince, but I’m hearing such great things about it and The Runaway King. I must get to them soon! Need to read Every Day too. I’m a big fan of Levithan!

  8. Beth S.
    February 18, 2013

    Herbert looks like a great picture book. I can’t resist a good dog story!

    I need to get around to reading Every Day. Everyone who reads it seems to love it (though that also makes me nervous because I have a tendency to dislike books that everyone else loves)

  9. LInda Baie (@LBaie)
    February 19, 2013

    I love hearing about Herbert The Sea Dog since I just read Little Dog Lost, another non-fiction book about a dog’s adventure! I’ll be sure to find the Herbert book! I just got The False Prince on my IPad-hope to tackle it soon so I can be ready for the next one. Thanks for all, Debbie. You read a lot of good books this week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      February 19, 2013

      I noticed you mentioned Little Dog Lost, added it to my list! 🙂 Enjoy the reading week!

  10. Holly Mueller
    February 19, 2013

    Such great titles! I’m in the middle of Runaway King right now and am loving it! I also LOVED Every Day!

  11. carriegelson
    February 19, 2013

    Oh I am envious! I can’t wait to read the Runaway King! We have just ordered it and when it arrives, I must read it aloud to our entire family so we don’t have arguments about who gets to read it first! I also LOVED Every Day – and just read it a few weeks ago. I agree – impossible to put down and then, impossible to stop thinking about!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

