The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR #titletalk

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! It was one of those mixed reading weeks where I completed some books with my son, read some books I was excited to have arrive in my new library shipment, enjoyed finishing an audiobook and completed a few books for my challenges. 

My son and I just finished are in the final book in the Beyond the Spiderwick series The Wyrm King by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black. Great wrap up of the series! Was quite relieved to finish reading it aloud, quite intense conclusion. Goodreads Summary: “In the final installment of Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles, Nick and Laurie had thought they solved their giant problems when they drove all the giants into the sea. But now, the Grace kids have come back to tell them they may have more trouble coming their way! It turns out the giants control the population of Hydra, a dragon like creature that is creating sinkholes all over Florida. But with the mermaids refusing to return the giants to the shore, the nixie’s still missing and the threat of a destroyed Florida drawing closer, the kids have to take matters in their own hands. Will Nick and Laurie be able to stop the destruction they unwittingly caused? Can a new giant hunter help save the day? Can Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide help them out of this or are they on their own?”

I finished reading Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick – As soon as I read the first chapter of this book, I paused and worried. Was it going to be like See You At Harry’s by Jo Knowles? I’m not sure If I can go through that heart-wrenching reading experience like that gorgeous treasure again… and I admit it, I went to the back of the book to reassure myself that it would be ok to read…  Ever so grateful to read this powerful book- 3 Tissue Warning – brilliant book. The plot with a teenage boy stuck in his own head but always trying to think of others as well pulled me through this touching treasure. Summary from Goodreads For Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie: “Thirteen-year-old Steven has a totally normal life: he plays drums in the All-Star Jazz band, has a crush on the hottest girl in the school, and is constantly annoyed by his five-year-old brother, Jeffrey. But when Jeffrey is diagnosed with leukemia, Steven’s world is turned upside down. He is forced to deal with his brother’s illness and his parents’ attempts to keep the family in one piece. Salted with humor and peppered with devastating realities, DRUMS, GIRLS, AND DANGEROUS PIE is a heartwarming journey through a year in the life of a family in crisis.”

The City of Ember The Graphic Novel by Jeanne DuPrau, adapted by Dallas Middaugh, art by Niklas Asker – brilliant, well done adaptation/introduction to this series. Nice to read a graphic novel again… Goodreads Summary: “In the spring 2003, kids, parents, teachers, librarians—whole communities—discovered and fell in love with Jeanne DuPrau’s story about a doomed city, and the two children who found a way out. Nearly 10 years later, that story, The City of Ember, is a bona fide classic, with over 1.7 million copies sold. Now experience Jeanne DuPrau’s vision anew as artist Niklas Asker faithfully brings to life the glare of the lamps, the dinginess of the streets, and the brilliance of the first sunrise.”

Early Reader I happily read with my son and can’t wait to share with my students: There’s a Fly Guy in My Soup by Tedd Arnold – Hilarious continuation of this book. Goodreads Summary: “At a fancy hotel dinner, Fly Guy gets into some trouble–and the restaurant’s soup! When Buzz and his family have dinner in a fancy hotel’s restaurant, Fly Guy isn’t allowed in. After searching through the hotel’s trash, Fly Guy smells a wonderful aroma coming from the restaurant’s kitchen. Fly Guy causes some messy mayhem in the restaurant, and in the end, everyone needs a bath!”

Hello! Hello! by Matthew Cordell –  beautiful book of hope. Touching book with a message about the power of communication and nature. Absolutely lovely. I heard about it over at Watch.Connect.Read celebrating the book birthday in October. Goodreads Summary: “Outside the world is bright and colorful, but Lydia’s family is too busy with their gadgets to notice. She says Hello to everyone. Hello? Hello! Her father says hello while texting, her mother says hello while working on her laptop and her brother doesn’t say hello at all. The T.V shouts Hello! But she doesn’t want to watch any shows. Lydia, now restless, ventures outside. There are so many things to say hello to! Hello rocks! Hello leaves! Hello flowers! When Lydia comes back home she decides to show her family what she has found, and it’s hello world and goodbye gadgets!”

Bear Has a Story to Tell by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead – This was such a gorgeous picture book, cannot wait to share with my students. Perfect seasonal selection as well. Goodreads Summary: “Bear found his friend Mouse, but Mouse was busy gathering seeds and didn’t have time to listen to a story. Then Bear saw his friend Duck, but Duck was getting ready to fly south. What about his friend Toad? He was busy looking for a warm place to sleep. By the time Bear was through helping his friends get ready for winter, would anyone still be awake to hear his story?”

Have Fun Molly Lou Melon by Patty Lovell, illustrated by David Catrow – Really cute pictures!! I loved jumping back to this old friend who I adored reading over and over with students (If you haven’t read Stand Tall Molly Lou Melon, you’re also in for a treat with this book!) Have Fun, Molly Lou Melon was certainly an independent book with an adorable character who finds an independent, creative way to approach life. Beautiful story to show how one person can positively influence another. Such a terrific partner book with Hello! Hello! so I’m thrilled I read both in the same day! Goodreads Summary: “Molly Lou Melon’s grandma taught her to be happy with herself no matter what, but that’s not all she learned. Molly Lou heard all about how her grandma didn’t have fancy store-bought toys when she was little. She made dolls out of twigs and flowers and created her own fun in her backyard. So Molly Lou does just that, proving that the best thing to play with is a huge imagination!”

Reading GapContinuing my #readinggapchallenge – sports books

Enjoying a novel that my lovely assistant suggested I read right away:

Shoot to Win by Dan Freedman – Main character has one objective: to play in the football tournament and be discovered by a scout. Unfortunately, mouthing off and giving unsolicited advice lands him off the field and quite frustrated… great story with some strong characters, interesting back plot, and a load of football/soccer. Little did I know it was a beginning series book with quite the draw into the next book, which we don’t have in this library! So now, I’ll rectify the book gap in our library soon! Interesting plot, loads of angst with some interesting twists and turns. I felt like by the end of the book I slightly understood football (soccer) more including random words I didn’t understand before. For example: boots are soccer shoes.

NFPB2013leavesThought I’d also mention my Non-Fiction Reading Goal Progress:

I enjoyed reading:
The Legend of the Chinese Zodiac by Susan Whitfield & Philippa-Alys Browne – I’ve wanted to find a book like this for a long long time. This one is fantastic. Folktale/legend story explaining years, animals, characteristics for people born in certain years. Wonderful title.

Unusual Creatures by Michael Hearst, illustrated by Arjen Noordeman, Christie Wright, and Jelmer Noordeman –  Share with each grade level in a different way, I really think this is a perfect non-fiction book. This is one fascinating, hilarious, and fantastic non-fiction book filled with facts, figures, and incredible creatures. I highly recommend you enjoy reading through this book. My son and I realized special things about the organization, loved using different measurement units with the diagrams, and also reading facts/figures/poems/songs about animals. What a fun book. Goodreads Summary: “With humor and flair, Michael Hearst introduces the reader to a wealth of extraordinary life-forms. Which animal can be found at the top of Mount Everest, 10,000 feet under the sea, and in your backyard? Which animal poops cubes? Which animal can disguise itself as a giant crab? These fascinating facts and hundreds more await curious minds, amateur zoologists, and anyone who has ever laughed at a funny-looking animal.”  I now am trying out a new program called Tackk, similar to my favorite, Smore. I was introduced to the program by @loveofxena author of the fantastic blog  http://librariansquest.blogspot.hk. I thought I’d collect a few animal videos and info bits that my son and I wanted to explore more after reading Unusual Creatures. So, here’s the start of my new collected page of animal fun created on Tackk: Inspired by Unusual Creatures.

Rest of Non-Fiction Reading Goal Progress: This one hasn’t changed too much… I am in the middle of enjoying two non-fiction books with my son. We’ve agreed to read a page a day of each:

 

National Geographic Kids Ultimate U.S. Road Trip Atlas and They Played What?! The Weird History of Sports and Recreation by Richard Platt.

I finished listening to Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – *ADULT BOOK- nice brain candy treat. Really reminded me of reading Anne Rice novels years ago. Nice mix of creatures and quite the twisted love story. Unfortunately, this is a trilogy with the second book already released. Shall enjoy listening to the next book soon enough! Goodreads Summary: “Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.”

For now, break time: thrilled to have time to listen to podcasts.


I am now enjoying: Templeton Twins have an idea by Ellis Weiner, illustrated by Jeremy Holmes – pretty fantastic so far.

#Titletalk:

Really enjoyed #Titletalk today, loads of amazing webpages shared.

Here are a few I thought I want to revisit:

Webpage: books that heal kids: http://booksthathealkids.blogspot.hk/p/about-me.html

Titletalk Archive Wiki: You will be amazed at the amount of gorgeous titles shared! http://titletalk.wikispaces.com/

About.com – children’s books with life lessons: http://childrensbooks.about.com/od/lifelessonsissues/Life_Lessons_Issues.htm

Youth Services- books about children with physical challenges and social issues: http://www.midland-mi.org/gracedowlibrary/ys/pathfinders/Social_Issues/Index.html

Resources Patricia Polacco collected on bullying, connects with her fantastic book Bullyhttp://www.patriciapolacco.com/

Digital Citizenship – important as well – good resource: http://www.netsmartz.org/Parents

TED Talks on Empathy: http://www.ted.com/talks/sam_richards_a_radical_experiment_in_empathy.html

Children’s Stories: http://litworld.org/

Schneider Family Book Award: http://www.ala.org/news/mediapresscenter/presskits/youthmediaawards/schneiderfamilybookaward

Trudy Ludwig resources, I’ve blogged about her fantastic books before! http://www.trudyludwig.com/

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

21 comments on “Styling Librarian: It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR #titletalk

  1. msyingling
    January 28, 2013

    Sonnenblick gets more brilliant with each book he writes. Zen and the Art of Faking it was my favorite… until Curveball came out. So good!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 28, 2013

      Can’t wait! Zen and the Art of Faking It and Notes from the Midnight Driver are on my bedside table. 🙂

  2. Colby Sharp
    January 28, 2013

    I really need to read the Ember GN. Thanks for sharing these great titles:) Happy reading!

  3. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    January 28, 2013

    You read some good books this week. I love Hello! Hello!, it has such a great message! One that I hope to be able to pass onto my students.

  4. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    January 28, 2013

    Wow! What a fabulous reading week! I enjoyed Hello! Hello! and Bear has a Story, too.

    Sports books are also my Book Gap, and I’m starting this week with Pinned.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 28, 2013

      Watching your posts, shall see if I can enjoy some of the sports books that you do! 🙂

  5. Andrea Payan (@payanar)
    January 28, 2013

    Wow! Thanks for the collection of links from TitleTalk. It went by so quickly I could not keep up. I need to visit the archive to reread and absorb the conversation.

  6. Tara
    January 29, 2013

    You have been a busy reader!Drums, Girls is an awesome book, as is its sequel. And thanks for all the wonderful trailers!

  7. Gigi McAllister
    January 29, 2013

    I really love how you synthesize the tons of info we get at #titletalk. I have a copy of the graphic novel of The City of Ember, but have yet to read it.

  8. Myra GB
    January 29, 2013

    Oh wow, you have been truly busy this week. Love all your titles here. I also fell in love with Bear Has a Story to Tell – I think I’d be posting a review of picture books about Bears this week, and this one is included in the list. A Discovery of Witches and the Templeton titles also caught my eye. There’s a fly guy in my soup kind of reminded me of “There’s Soup in My Fly” by David Seow, a local Singaporean author. Hmm… lots of parallels. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Comment Challenge 2013: A Running Update |

  10. Earl
    January 30, 2013

    Have you read Tony DiTerlizzi’s WondLa books? The illustrations are just incredible. I hate starting unfinished series because of the waiting and the potential possibility that the end will suck (The Hunger Games trilogy, for example) but A Discovery of Witches sounds like a book I might enjoy.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 30, 2013

      I was just thinking about that series yesterday. Loved reading it. What a world DiTerlizzi created! I love discovering a series I haven’t read that is already complete. 🙂

  11. Dan Freedman
    October 29, 2013

    Thanks for your comments on Shoot to Win. Hope you enjoyed Golden Goal! All the best, Dan Freedman

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

