The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 27 Update

Well, this has been one odd week. Sick at the beginning, two days of in school work, then three days of attending 21st Century Learning Conference here in Hong Kong. Now, Sunday and I’m almost feeling settled enough to focus on posting!

Here’s my quick reflection on the past week in Hong Kong.

First off, I’m thrilled, honored, and tickled pink that my son was featured on Lenore Look’s blog. I love how her voice pops out even with a thoughtful blog post and cannot wait for the new Alvin Ho book to come out this Spring. (Neither can my students!)

We explored a tiny area of Central, Hong Kong and found an interesting Starbucks. The way the displays and layout were set up, it was not your normal Starbucks. Here’s a glimpse of their moving art display I found interesting/distracting.

Now, I normally do not frequent Starbucks even though there is one just a block from my apartment. I tend to drink coffee from the supermarket, under $1 US each, and happily frequent Cafe O on Sundays as my indulgence. But I don’t mind a family outing with a yummy smoothy drink at Starbucks once in a while.

Work zipped by for me since I was only there on Tuesday and Wednesday but I was able to open new book deliveries and also wrap up going through the multiple copy books and big books that I’ve been working on weeding and reorganizing. Here’s an example of my dusty/dirty fingers after finishing for a day with the project:

Dirty Fingers

I really enjoyed the first day of the 21st Century Learning International Conference. I met people from all around Hong Kong and Asia including people flying in from Indonesia, Japan, Korea, and China. Such a vast array of perspectives and experiences. A friend told me, it is one of the biggest gathering of tech geeks you can experience here in Asia!

The first day I attended a teacher librarian pre-conference workshop led by Debbie Abilock who I have followed for years and highly admired. Her presentation and workshop was on Designing “Friction” into an Engaging Research Process and was packed with ideas, tips, webpages, resources, and tricks. I still haven’t wrapped my brain around everything I heard that day but am working on organizing a google doc that I might share soon enough on this blog! I was thrilled to chat with Debbie Abilock about my interests, blogs, and persistence in writing and cannot wait to keep up with her.

At the end of the workshop, there was a 2 hour break before the opening keynote presentation, so I went with some newly met teacher librarian friends on a walk around the area we were at… here’s a quick exploring video down by the waterfront. I thought it was beautiful and quite refreshing after being in a building in a chair for mostly six hours. If you put your mouse over the pictures, you can see some of my random thoughts…

So after exploring, I enjoyed a keynote speaker and two more days of presentations. As I mentioned before I’ll post on my reflections and key take-away ideas soon in a post. If you want a glimpse of my favorite things and many others as well, you could go to the Eventifier that was created for the conference. Or you could visit my Tweets or others with #21CLHK hashtag.

For now, here’s my pride showing: I found my way back and forth on the MTR (train that runs through Hong Kong) over an hour both ways and across four switches where I get out of one train and find another train’s location to catch to another place until I arrive at my destination. Honestly, I have quite the tendency to misplace myself, so I’m shocked to be actually getting around so smoothly.

After enjoying the last day of the conference, I went with my wonderful husband and tried out a new-to-us Indian restaurant, Tulsi, delicious. Then picked out a new tool that I’m sure to use daily.

Happy week to you!

Thanks so much for the follows! Would love if you followed my posts by going to right side of screen and subscribing. I share thoughts 3-5 times per week on books, Hong Kong life, and technology.  I also have a Facebook page or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

Here are past posts on Hong Kong Transitions through the weeks: I bounce between professional and personal reflections.

Week 26: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 26 Update
Week 25: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 25 Update
Week 24: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week Update Week 24 The Vietnam Edition
Week 23: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 23
Week 22: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 22
Week 21: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 21
Week 20: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 20
Week 19: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 19
Week 18: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 18
Week 17: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update: Week 17
Week 16: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 16 Update
Week 15: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 15 Update
Week 14: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 14 The Thailand Edition
Week 13: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/10/22/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-13/
Week 12: Hong Kong Transition: Week 12
Week 11: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 11
Week 10: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/10/02/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-10/
Week 9: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/23/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-9/
Week 8: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/17/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-8/
Week 7: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/09/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-7/
Week 6: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/09/02/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-6/
Week 5: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/26/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-update-week-5/
Week 4: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/19/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-week-4-update/
Week 3: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/13/styling-librarian-hong-kong-move-update-week-3/
Week 2: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/08/03/styling-librarian-hong-kong-transition-positives-and-negatives-week-2-update/
Week 1: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/07/27/styling-librarian-post-about-hong-kong-move/

17 comments on “Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 27 Update

  1. Lsacker
    January 28, 2013

    Once more thanks for mix of travelogue and library stuff. Always a delight to read. I travel virtually with you in Hong Kong,

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 28 Update « The Styling Librarian

  3. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 29 Update « The Styling Librarian

  4. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 30 Update « The Styling Librarian

  5. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 31 Update | The Styling Librarian

  6. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 32 Hong Kong Update | The Styling Librarian

  7. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 33 Hong Kong Update | The Styling Librarian

  8. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 34 Windsurfing | The Styling Librarian

  9. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 35 School Life, Exhibition, and Flower Expo | The Styling Librarian

  10. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 36 Junk Boat Special Feature | The Styling Librarian

  11. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update US Visit Edition Week 37 | The Styling Librarian

  12. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 38 | The Styling Librarian

  13. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 39 | The Styling Librarian

  14. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 40 | The Styling Librarian

  15. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 41 | The Styling Librarian

  16. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 42 | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

