The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: It’s Monday What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! I decided to focus on some early chapter books so that I can properly promote them to my Y2-Y3 students. I read a load before but these series, which we have numerous copies of including some in the multiple copy section of the library, I hadn’t picked up yet… Since I’ve been sick for a random amount of days, concentration wasn’t with me much, therefore, these books were also a welcome relief!

Early Chapter Books I enjoyed:


Billy the Bird by Dick King-Smith – Young Corgi series: Well, I’m a huge fan of Dick King-Smith, special author. Billy the Bird is fantastic for a sibling story about a older sister catching her younger brother floating and then flying on special days of the month. Great little story.  Goodreads Summary: “Mary, her cat Lilyleaf, and her guinea pig Mr. Keylock are astounded to discover that Mary’s little brother Billy can fly whenever the moon is full.”


Little Stupendo by Jon Blake, illustrated by Martin Chatterton – Sprinters series: This Sprinters series is one I know is quite popular, illustrations, mixed comics, and quick easy read. Hoping that I can get my son to enjoy these. Enjoyed the story about a character who proves to another who overlooked before that she was quite necessary and talented.


Kind of Twins – A Maxine and Minnie Storybook by Pippa Goodhart, illustrations by Allie Busby: Special quick friendship chapter book about two girls who life in a duplex and agree to be kind of twins. I liked how one of the characters is in a wheelchair just naturally integrated in without any mention of it throughout the book. Wish I could find more books with this occurring. Goodreads Summary: “Maxine and Minnie are very different—Maxine is big and bold while Minnie is quiet and shy—but they become best friends. These are simple stories of friendship for beginning readers.”

Captain Underpants and the Terrifying Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers, the 9th Epic Novel by Dav Pilkey: Hilarous as always, must buy #10 because there’s a cliffhanger that had my son screaming aloud “WHAT?!” Now to be able to locate it… Also, I appreciate how this book is heftier than the prior books, growing up along with the readers a little bit. Goodreads: “Tra-la-laaa! Captain Underpants is back in an all-new epic adventure that’s the zaniest, funniest, outrageousest, and time-travelingiest yet!
When we last saw our heroes, George and Harold, they were under arrest and headed for prison. Then Harold foolishly uttered the fateful words “What could be worse than going to jail for the rest of our lives?” and changed the course of human history.
In this ninth epic novel, Dav Pilkey takes readers back in time to the carefree days of kindergarten, when the worst thing George and Harold had to face was NOT evil mad scientists or alien cafeteria ladies but a sixth-grade bully named Kipper Krupp, the nephew of their clueless school principal. And because George and Harold don’t actually invent Captain Underpants until fourth grade, the two clever kindergartners are on their own — using their brains to beat the bully.
Hold on to your UNDERPANTS — the Captain is back!”

Some special picture books I’ve enjoyed recently:

Chopsticks by Jon Berkeley: Beautiful picture book folktale with a mouse hero who is quite persistent about providing a wooden dragon with freedom. Really loved the illustrations. Goodreads Summary: “In a busy harbor, in the faraway island of Hong Kong, there is a floating restaurant. This restaurant is home to Chopsticks, a tiny gray mouse. Chopsticks befriends a wooden dragon who wants to fly. On the night of the full moon, during Chinese New Year, they share a high-flying adventure with the help of Old Fu, the dragon’s creator.”

Tyrannosaurus Drip by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts: Ugly Duckling meets rhyme and dinosaurs. Quite an entertaining read. Goodreads Summary: “Everyone knows that tyrannosauruses are big and scary, so when a placid duckbill dinosaur’s egg ends up in the wrong nest confusion is sure to ensue When the baby dinosaur hatches out, he’s so out of place that his grisly big sisters call him Tyrannosaurus Drip. Poor little Drip: all he wants is a quiet life munching on water weed . . .”

The Wild Girl by Chris Wormell: Touching little book, love the twist in the story… could just read without words and get lost in the illustrations they’re so beautiful. Goodreads Summary: “In the great wide wilderness, a little girl and her dog live alone in a cave high up on the mountainside. They are happy surviving on their own, until one day in the bitter cold of winter, they see bear tracks in the snow that lead right up to their cave . . .Charming illustrations bring life to this sweet story of courage and compassion, written and illustrated by award-winning author and illustrator Chris Wormell.”

Reading GapBeginning my #readinggapchallenge – sports books

Enjoying a novel that my lovely assistant suggested I read right away:

NFPB2013leavesThought I’d also mention my Non-Fiction Reading Goal Progress:

This one hasn’t changed too much… I am in the middle of enjoying three non-fiction books with my son. We’ve agreed to read a page a day of each:

  

Our favorite is: Unusual Creatures by Michael Hearst; We’re also still enjoying… National Geographic Kids Ultimate U.S. Road Trip Atlas and They Played What?! The Weird History of Sports and Recreation by Richard Platt.
Speaking of reading with my son, we just finished watching the movie The Spiderwick Chronicles, interesting to see the adaptation from the books we enjoyed. We are in the final Beyond the Spiderwick series The Wyrm King by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black. Great wrap up of the series so far!

I’m now reading Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick – As soon as I read the first chapter of this book, I paused and worried. Was it going to be like See You At Harry’s by Jo Knowles? I’m not sure If I can go through that heart-wrenching reading experience like that gorgeous treasure again… and I admit it, I went to the back of the book to reassure myself that it would be ok to read… Love the writing so far. Grateful for the recommendation!

I’m still listening to Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – nice brain candy treat. 

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

17 comments on “Styling Librarian: It’s Monday What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR

  1. Lee Corey
    January 21, 2013

    I connected with your blog from TeacherMentorTexts and I’m really glad. I’m a middle and high teacher, now working in a district office and having to support elementary as well. I appreciate the titles – many of which I had not heard of. The three nonfiction books you’re readng with your son sound really interesting as well. I look forward to checking those out. Btw, I haven’t read See You at Harry’s yet, but I read Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie a while ago. I thought it was great, but I do recall shedding a tear or two while reading the book.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 21, 2013

      The nonfiction books are fascinating… See you at Harry’s was a 5 tissues book for me, so far, 1 tissue 1/3 of the way thru Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie. Powerful one, beautiful one…
      Warning, with some of the books I share they might be difficult to grab as I’m living in Hong Kong and educating myself with Australian and UK authors and series… Around 1/2 have been published in the US as well though. Happy Reading!

  2. Myra GB
    January 21, 2013

    I’ve heard so many great things about Chopsticks, I hope to find it in our libraries here. The Wild Girl also sounds like something I’d enjoy greatly. I had to smile when I saw that your reading gap was about sports books, I must confess that I have the same reading gap myself. Haha! 🙂 Your post also reminded me that I have the entire Spiderwick Chronicles waiting unread in my shelves. 🙂 Hope to get to it soon enough. Have a great reading week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 21, 2013

      🙂 I’ll be watching for your reading gap updates as well! 🙂 Happy book reading your way, enjoy Spiderwick if you find time for it!

  3. Pingback: Comment Challenge 2013: A Running Update |

  4. Niki Barnes
    January 21, 2013

    I need to check out Unusual Creatures since my book gap is nonfiction. 🙂

  5. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    January 22, 2013

    I really love the Spiderwick series! My students love them too. I love the length of the books, as students can really feel successful completing one and then dive into the next.

  6. Gigi McAllister
    January 22, 2013

    The Tyrannosaurus book and Chopsticks look interesting. I too liked the Spiderwick Chronicles. I think I need to show my class these books as they have remained on the shelf all year.

  7. Tara
    January 22, 2013

    Drums, Girls and its sequel are classroom favorites….The Wild Girl sounds lovely.

  8. LInda Baie (@LBaie)
    January 22, 2013

    Love the idea of Billy The Bird, sounds like it would be such fun for younger students. And the Sonnenblick book has been read by several students in the past & they’ve never said anything but that’s it’s very good. I suspect you’re okay. Thanks for the picture book reviews, too.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 22, 2013

      I LOVED Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie, shall review in next IMWAYR post. 🙂 Thanks, I’ve been missing picture book reviews some weeks. Trying to be balanced. 🙂

  9. Kathryn
    January 22, 2013

    I must read a Captain Underpants book this year! And be educated! I am looking at the Little Stupendo too and thinking that might be a useful one for reluctant older readers? You seem to be the only one with a comment about it on Goodreads.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 22, 2013

      Captain Underpants, they make me chuckle, roll my eyes, etc. on my own, but to read them with my son or another 6-10 year old is quick a different experience. Little Stupendo- that series Sprinters- would be great for reluctant readers- older ones, well… if they aren’t deterred from the cover…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

