The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR Jan 14 2013

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! This past week was almost a blur with work starting back up and projects flying left and right. I’m grateful for what I did accomplish with lovely books:

Before I begin sharing books I’ve read this week, I thought I’d share about a special day coming up:

.

worldreadalouddayWorld Read Aloud Day– what a fantastic way to celebrate books and support the action to provide books to all children around the world… (Sure, every day in my library is a read aloud day, but isn’t it fun to participate in these special days once in a while?)

Peely Wally by Kali Stileman – adorable picture book about an egg who rolled away after the mom jumped for joy at laying the egg. It has been a while since I saw this type of mixed media where the main character almost looks like it is finger painted on the page. Quite a cute little story. Goodreads Summary: “Peely Wally was a small bird who lived high up in a tree. One day she laid an egg. Follow the dotted line and see where the egg goes! With lots of animals to spot and talk about and a butterfly to find on each page. Don’t miss the special surprise at the end!”

Reading GapBeginning my #readinggapchallenge – sports books

Thought that if I read a fiction sports picture book first I’d enjoy this transition to sports a little more so I read…

Shall see how I progress I make with this goal. Carrying around a sports fiction book in my purse now.

Dad, Jackie and Me by Myron Uhlberg, illustrated by Colin Bootman – reminded me of Phil Bildner’s writing and stories. Loved the main character’s attitude about his father, sports, and equality. Story is set in 1947 with a kid in Brooklyn expecting that Dodgers were going to go all the way because they signed Jackie Robinson on to play. His father came home after never indicating interest in baseball in the past to having a pair of tickets so they could go watch the game. It was quickly revealed that the father is deaf which leads to the father chanting Jackie’s name in a different way than the rest of the sports fans. Beautiful celebration of the game through the season and the father learning from his son about baseball. I’d recommend using this book as a way to introduce slavery and cruelty of prejudice in class discussion. I really appreciated the authors note and additionally the original newspaper clipping end papers. Goodreads Summary: “An inspiring and sentimental tale of one famous summer in Brooklyn in 1947. It is the summer of 1947 and a highly-charged baseball season is underway in New York. Jackie Robinson is the new first baseman for the Brooklyn Dodgers-and the first black player in major league baseball. A young boy shares the excitement of Robinson’s rookie season with his deaf father. Each day he listens eagerly to the Brooklyn Dodgers games on the radio. When his father arrives home from work, the boy uses sign language to tell him about the Dodgers. His father begins to keep a scrapbook, clipping photos and articles about Jackie. Finally one day the father delivers some big news: they are going to Ebbets Field to watch Jackie play in person! Author Myron Uhlberg offers a nostalgic look back at 1947, and pays tribute to Jackie Robinson, the legendary athlete and hero who brought a father and son- and an entire New York community-together for one magical summer. Illustrator Colin Bootman’s realistic, full-color illustrations capture the details of the period and the excitement of an entire city as Robinson helps the Dodgers win the long-awaited pennant.”

I’ve also read:

Two Times the Fun by Beverly Cleary – Ever walked up to the bookshelf and had a double take because you didn’t realize that a favorite author rereleased a compilation of four stories in 2005? That’s what happened to me. With all the twin books I’ve seen out lately, I enjoyed reading this cute book about growing up, the four stories actually felt like one complete early chapter books. Really enjoyed the unexpected solutions and conclusions during the story. Thrilled I spotted it! Goodreads Summary: “Jimmy and Janet are twins, but that doesn’t mean they are just alike. When we first meet Jimmy, he wants to dig a real hole. He likes to use a real, grown-up shovel. While he’s working, his sister, Janet, pretends to be a bird! She likes to use her imagination. But the twins both like silly jokes, brand- new boots, and talking to Mr. Lemon, the mailman. As Beverly Cleary writes about Jimmy and Janet’s doings, the unique understanding of children that she brings to all of her beloved books is coupled with a keen awareness of duo dynamics that comes from raising twins herself. Originally published as four separate picture books (The Real Hole, Two Dog Biscuits, The Growing-Up Feet, and Janet’s Thingamajigs), these are stories that a Jimmy would like because they are so true-to-life, and that a Janet would love because they are so believable.”

Warriors of the Raven – The Legendeer Trilogy Book 3 by Alan Gibbons – Here was the series finale- the characters almost all know what they are in for and are quite eager to jump into the new Legendeer computer game’s alternative reality, this time set in the world of Norse mythology. Goodreads Summary: “The Legendeer opens the gateway between our world and the world of the myths, between triumph and tragedy. The Gamesmaster almost has us at his mercy. Twice before, 14-year-old Phoenix has battled him in Shadow of the Minotaur and Vampyr Legion, but Warriors of the Raven is the game at its most complex and deadly level. Set in the world of Norse myth, Phoenix enters the arena for the final conflict. Join him in Asgard to fight Loki, the Mischief-maker, the terrifying Valkyries, dragons, and fire demons—and hope for victory. The future depends on him.”

After by Morris Gleitzman – What a beautiful, yet more appropriate for middle school, conclusion to this series. It is not a cheery, happy book that has an easy ending. This is a realistic, upsetting end of the Holocaust book full of closure to many character stories. Goodreads Summary: “In the fourth part of Felix’s story, continuing his adventures in World War Two, he faces perhaps his greatest challenge – to find hope when he’s lost almost everything, including his parents. As Europe goes through the final agonizing stages of the war, Felix struggles to reconcile hatred and healing. He’s helped by a new friend, but if he should lose her as well …”

NFPB2013leavesThought I’d also mention my Non-Fiction Reading Goal Progress:

I am in the middle of enjoying three non-fiction books with my son. We’ve agreed to read a page a day of each:

Our favorite is: Unusual Creatures by Michael Hearst; We’re also enjoying… National Geographic Kids Ultimate U.S. Road Trip Atlas and They Played What?! The Weird History of Sports and Recreation by Richard Platt.


Speaking of reading with my son, we just finished watching the movie The Spiderwick Chronicles, interesting to see the adaptation from the books we enjoyed. We are in the final Beyond the Spiderwick series The Wyrm King by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black.

.

.

I’m listening to Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – had to restart listening to this four times but now quite enjoying. Might have not given myself enough of a break between audiobooks. I need to catch up on some favorite podcasts that I’ve fallen behind on!

 

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

19 comments on “Styling Librarian It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR Jan 14 2013

  1. Jennifer Kloczko (@jkloczko)
    January 14, 2013

    I had no idea about that book by Beverly Cleary! I must check it out! Also, I think I’ll follow your lead and post about Read Aloud Day next week. Such a great idea. My book gap is fantasy- I’m starting off with Fablehaven! Have a great week and happy reading!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 14, 2013

      I was pretty shocked… 🙂 Love Read Aloud Day- think Colby Sharp posted first about it… Or maybe John Schu. 🙂 Enjoy Fablehaven, entertaining series. Not my complete favorite but a good solid fantasy to enjoy. I have no gap in Fantasy unfortunately… Shall see how successful I am at this sports gap. 🙂

  2. msyingling
    January 14, 2013

    Too bad the Cleary looks too young for my students. Glad you are embracing the sports books. There are SO many good ones out there.

  3. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    January 14, 2013

    I also didn’t have any idea about the Beverly Cleary book! I’m going to have to find it! I’ve got to start doing some more reading for my book gap, which is nonfiction. Happy Reading!

  4. Myra GB
    January 14, 2013

    Lots of great books here. I’m glad to also hear about World Reading Aloud Day. I have the entire set of Spiderwick Chronicles lying unloved in my bookshelves – maybe this is the year to crack that bookspine open. I also remembered a time when my 11 year old daughter was deeply into Beverly Cleary – she is simply adorable. After by Morris Gleitzman sounds like a heavygoing book but one that I think I’d enjoy. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all these.

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 14, 2013

      Gleitzman’s series is actually lighter as a Holocaust novel in comparison to other ones…

  5. jgibsonmillis
    January 15, 2013

    Besides a fitness challenge, it is important to challenge ourselves in reading, so I’m committing to 100 books and more nonfiction as well!! Thanks for posting your commitments! Now to see if I can follow through ( :

    I tried to find the Gleitzman series on Goodreads and found the first two, but I didn’t see the third. It sounds like a series worth reading…I’ll check at the public library.

    Oh, I wanted to ask if you would share your favorite podcasts. Thanks!

    Best wishes for a wonderful week!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 15, 2013

      Never know if the third is one that is published with a different name in the US… 🙂 I’ll post on fav. podcasts, sure, thanks! I think I did so ages ago…

  6. Gigi McAllister
    January 15, 2013

    A great week Deb. You are really closing your book gaps. I have never seen this Beverly Cleary book. Who knew?

  7. LInda Baie (@LBaie)
    January 15, 2013

    I don’t know the Gleitzman series, so will look this up. I’m sure it’s worth reading from what you said. And thanks for telling about the Cleary book. I will pass that on to our librarian, unless we already own it. Great books all. Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Comment Challenge 2013: A Running Update |

  9. vidyatiru
    January 15, 2013

    love all the books in your list today.. we watched the spiderwick chronicles too.. i did want to read the book as well.. reading the same book as my just turned 10 year old son at the same time as him.. as well reading to and with my daughter (who is 6) are two of my favorite things to do.

  10. Cindy Beggs (@cb6luvs2read)
    January 15, 2013

    Ooh, I will have to look into that Beverly Cleary one… 🙂 What a great week of reading you have!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

