The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Reading Challenges

goodreadsI love reading challenges because I actually follow through on them! Last year I enjoyed reading 611 books when I logged almost all the books I read with Goodreads. I thought I might get through 200 and officially changed the challenge number to 500 part way through the year. In the past I never logged picture books or early chapter books. Then in 2011, I realized I wanted to keep track of every single book I read and Goodreads was a terrific place to do so. I honestly miss my handwritten reading journals- I have four journal books filled up with book treasures and thoughts about them… but I really like the switch to just one online reading log source. I know many of my blog friends enjoy Shelfari and Librarything which are both fantastic, I just realized I needed to slow down, lighten my “to do’s” and have one consistent book logging location.  (To be honest, I didn’t log a few books I read because I thought they didn’t deserve even one star and I didn’t want to be mean…) Shall see what I find to enjoy with this new library book collection in addition to the lovely random books my son borrows for us to enjoy.

NFPB2013leaves

I enjoyed reading this post and thought I should enjoy more nonfiction picture books so I’ve committed to the Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge 2013 Hosted by Kid Lit Frenzy:   http://www.kidlitfrenzy.com/2013/01/nonfiction-picture-book-challenge-2013.html#comment-form

Also, I expect that there will be an updated Reading the World Challenge from PaperTigers.org – this I will certainly commit to… I really appreciate how I’ve grown more open-minded and sometimes optimistic by reading children’s books written by people around the world.

readingTheWorld_final1

Finally, one of my favorite inspiring people Donalyn Miller recently posted on Nerdy Book Club with a Book Gap Challenge – read the post for more information!!- and I sat and sat for quite a while thinking about what genres I am weaker in consistently reading books from– military fiction? No, I love historical fiction… Biographies? No, I adore plugging my way through biographies… Sports fiction and nonfiction? Oh yes, it honestly has been a few years since I purposefully grabbed books to enjoy. That genre I’ve only read because of two fantastic authors, Dan Gutman (the year he visited my school, I tried to enjoy every single book by him, he’s quite prolific!) and when Phil Bildner, fantastic, inspiring author visited Oregon a few years ago…  Sure, my former Newbery Book Club adult/kid reading group a few years ago realized we were going a little nuts reading baseball books, but they were GORGEOUS baseball related books… so I didn’t mind. Now with this focus I can “key in” on one of the weaker nonfiction areas of the library and also visit with some sports fiction authors from other places around the world… Please put in a comment with your favorite sports fiction book/author, I’d be grateful! 

So, what will your reading challenge be? Do you find that challenges are useful or intimidating? Do you follow through on them? What will your interest lead to? What will your #bookgap focus be this year?

Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

5 comments on “Styling Librarian: Reading Challenges

  1. Holly Mueller
    January 5, 2013

    Enjoyed this post and will be joining you with the Goodreads challenge, Kid Lit Frenzy’s nonfiction challenge, and the Book Gap Challenge! I’m concentrating on nonfiction and graphic novels to fill in my book gaps. I mentioned you as an inspiration in my end-of-year reading blog post. 😉

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 5, 2013

      Thanks so much for the mention, honored… I hope you love all the awesome graphic novels out there, one of my absolute favorite genres. I’ll look forward to keeping up with you with the nonfiction challenge! Love the first one selected. Happy reading! 🙂

  2. missprint
    January 6, 2013

    I also adore goodreads. I’m challenging myself to read 150 books this year (100 of which will hopefully be the ones I already own) but we’ll see how it goes. Good luck with all of your challenges!

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 6, 2013

      I wish I could get through all the books I actually own versus all the books I bring home to read, maybe this year! Enjoy those books!

  3. Pingback: Styling Librarian It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR Jan 7 2013 #titletalk « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

