The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR Dec 31 2012

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! I love Winter Break for the fact that my true reading priorities really come to light and I complete many book treasures…

I’ve read…

At a bookstore, I sat and read these two treasures. Really enjoyed:

IMG_2840

Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile by Gloria Houston, illustrated by Susan Condie Lamb – Goodreads Summary: “When Dorothy was a young girl, she loved books, and she loved people, so she decided that she would become a librarian. Dorothy’s dearest wish is to be a librarian in a fine brick library just like the one she visited when she was small. But her new home in North Carolina has valleys and streams but no libraries, so Miss Dorothy and her neighbors decide to start a bookmobile. Instead of people coming to a fine brick library, Miss Dorothy can now bring the books to them—at school, on the farm, even once in the middle of a river! Miss Dorothy and Her Bookmobile is an inspiring story about the love of books, the power of perseverance, and how a librarian can change people’s lives.”

IMG_2841

Follow the Line around the world by Laura Ljungkvist – Goodreads Summary: “Follow the line from the camels of the Sahara Desert to the blue whales of Greenland, from the giraffes of Kenya’s grasslands to the kangaroos of Australia’s Outback. This new Follow the Line book illustrated in Laura Ljungkvist’s signature line style takes young children around the world to see animals in their natural habitats. With informative facts and a gentle environmental message, Follow the Line Around the World is sure to appeal to those interested in taking better care of the earth.”

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – Fantasy, 5th Grade (a bit of a push, more middle school) and up: What a world and political system Rachel Hartman created! I loved the ethics and angst that were woven through this brilliant story. What a strong, talented main character and what a tough situation to be in. I can see how the situation could translate to our life in present day but really enjoyed jumping into this world Rachel Hartman created. I look forward to a sequel which I’ve heard will come out in July 2013. So glad I finally made time for this book, well worth every minute! Goodreads Summary: “Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.
Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.
In her exquisitely written fantasy debut, Rachel Hartman creates a rich, complex, and utterly original world. Seraphina’s tortuous journey to self-acceptance is one readers will remember long after they’ve turned the final page.”

  

Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains by Laurel Snyder – Fairy Tale Novel, 4th/5th grade- Have you ever began reading a book with an accent already running through your mind? Ever burst into song while reading lyrics for the first time? I adore how Laurel Snyder writes, what I loved:  Description of mountain: It was a blot of ink, a puddle of spilled molasses, a solid swarm of wasps. The forest was so dark that it was impossible to make out individual trees, and Lucy had no way of knowing who or what lived within. She felt nervous when she saw it, without knowing why… p. 87
And a song sung during one scene in the book:
Men in silly uniforms
Who get to make the rules
Should all be poked with wooden spoons
And sent away to schools,
Where wild beasts will teach them
That it’s better to be free
Than it is to be a grown-up
Stiff and stubborn as a tree! p. 134
It is no wonder that I’ve tried to read every single book Laurel Snyder’s written! Highly recommended book. Goodreads Summary: “THIS IS THE tale of Lucy and her best friend, Wynston. Until recently, they spent their days paddling in the river, picking blackberries, and teasing each other mercilessly. But now, King Desmond has insisted that Wynston devote every spare second to ruby-shining and princess-finding. Lucy feels left out. So she sets off for the Scratchy Mountains to solve the mystery of her missing mother. When Wynston discovers that Lucy is gone, he tears after her, and together they embark on a series of strange and wonderful adventures.”

Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles – A Giant Problem- Book 2 by Tony DiTerlizzi, illustrated by Holly Black – Interesting to read this story with my son… really enjoying them. I am looking forward to finishing up this series and seeing how the two Spiderwick series characters intermingle with the final book. Goodreads Summary: “Talk about out of the frying pan, into the fire! I was pretty sure that my freaky stepsister and that freaky field guide of hers would ruin my life. But now it looks like they’re going to ruin all of Florida, too! Okay, maybe that’s not fair. Maybe all these stupid giants would be waking up anyway, but if it wasn’t for her and that book, I’d be home playing video games and this would be someone else’s giant problem!”

I listened to:

I am listening to The Life of Pi by Yann Martel –  First time I’d recommend watching the movie before reading the book. It actually really has helped me enjoy the book more! (Never expected to say/type this!!)

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

10 comments on “Styling Librarian It’s Monday What Are You Reading #IMWAYR Dec 31 2012

  1. Gigi McAllister
    December 31, 2012

    Very intrigued by Follow the Line. Looks like you had another great reading week. Happy Birthday to your blog!!

  2. LInda Baie (@LBaie)
    December 31, 2012

    I have the Bookmobile book-very heartwarming story. I have fond memories of the bookmobile coming to my little town when I was young. The Follow The Line books look good for non-fiction additions to a library. Seraphine is already on my list & Up And Down The Scratchy Mountains look very good.

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 31, 2012

      I enjoyed a very short internship on a bookmobile… Could see the impact. Enjoy reading and happy new year!!

  3. Crystal @ librarygrl2
    December 31, 2012

    I recently bought Up & Down the Scratchy Mountains. I will need to get to it. Tanks for reminding me about it. I love Laurel Snyder.

  4. Beth S.
    December 31, 2012

    So many people are reading Seraphina right now. I feel like I need to swallow my aversion for high fantasy and just dive right into this one.

  5. Myra GB
    January 2, 2013

    Hi there, I have Life of Pi here in my shelves for the longest time but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I also have Beatrice and Virgil. Oh dear. I hope I find the time to go over them. I also have the entire Spiderwick Chronicles series, but as per usual it’s languishing in my bookshelves. I love that you’ve read Dorothy and the Bookmobile, I’ve done a review of this one when we had our Library Special a few months back. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      January 3, 2013

      I was thrilled to find Dorothy and the Bookmobile in the store, think it was on my TBR shelf on Goodreads because of you!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons