The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian Favorite Book Recap 2012

Thought I’d put together a recap of my favorite books of 2012. In the past it was quite difficult for me as I had to look through numerous hand written journals and other resources to remember everything I’ve read. But this year, I entered ALMOST every book I read on Goodreads and identify in a “favorites” category which books rose to the top…. How convenient for this blog post!

2012rdgchallenge

I already reflected on my official year of blogging here:

Styling Librarian: 200th Blog Post Reflection

Now, here’s my year in reading:

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/1941055?shelf=read

I had Goodreads make a montage of the books I’ve put as favorites for the year: (Honestly, a few past favorites popped in here as well, but I’ve accepted that anomaly, nice to recognize them as well!) If I had to presently narrow down to top books, I think I’d go a little nuts and simply refer people to the Goodreads Link above for reviews in addition to my weekly book reviews and start breathing calm again… I might make a slideshow to reflect back on favorite books when the new year arrives, but for now, I love looking over this collage and seeing old and new book title friends there:

montage1

montage2

As many wonderful followers know, after we moved to Hong Kong I was exposed to hundreds of new authors, titles, and world view books. What an exciting experience to open hundreds of new books and make friends with new writers… So, I apologize that some of the titles I really love and appreciate might be more challenging to locate for some blog readers.

Also, I am a huge fan of The Nerdy Book Club and was honored to share my thoughts there twice this year…. The year end book nomination/voting results are coming out presently, I highly suggest visiting the webpage. I LOVE the books that have been reviewed and voted on. Plus the people posting the winners are quite talented in the way they’re reviewing and presenting the titles. Fantastic book recommendation resource all the way around! Nerdy Book Club: http://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com
Overall Book Award Winner Page for 2012
So far these are the book winners announced: Non-Fiction Picture Books,  Picture Books Fiction, Early Reader and Early Chapter Books

wonder

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

6 comments on “Styling Librarian Favorite Book Recap 2012

  1. lenorelook
    December 29, 2012

    Wow! Thanks very much for including ALVIN, HENRY, and UNCLE PETER in your faves! Woohoo! I feel like I won the lottery! xxoo

  2. Augusta Scattergood
    December 29, 2012

    Love that gorgeous collage and what a tremendous year of reading. Happy Books to you, 2013.

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 29, 2012

      Thank you so much! Looking forward to books in 2013! Happy reading your way as well!

  3. jgibsonmillis
    January 1, 2013

    How cool to see this visual of your life in books!! Thanks so much for sharing! I am constantly inspired with your posts–thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

