The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: 200th Blog Post Reflection

200 Posts Mark: Styling Librarian
So on January 1st 2012 I followed through on an inspiration after encouragement from family members, especially my sister (whom I make most of my videos for). This inspiration was NOT a new years resolution but more of a personal gift. I took on the name “Styling Librarian” and became an official blogger instead of someone who ran a few WIKI’s and a monthly book blog for students and parent community members.
This was one of the best choices in my professional career. I know it isn’t too much for some, but I feel like I’ve grown personally this year. The world has opened up for me and not only because I moved from the US to Hong Kong. I’m out of my sheltered world environment and into the world community… So grateful for this personal choice. At the same time that I adopted the “Styling Librarian” persona, I laid out the groundwork of what I dreamed of doing:
1. Get comfortable on Twitter and find like minded friends. Boy did I. Some people tell me I follow too many. I looked through the people I follow last night and found hundreds of teacher librarians, educators, friends, literacy directors, technology inspirations, authors, illustrators, publishers, a few celebrities, and so many people I’ve grown with and have been inspired by. I am not really all about numbers but cannot believe I’m almost at 1000 Twitter Followers now, wow to wonderful connections! What a great resource Twitter is for those who want to learn and get great ideas.
2. Define blogging goals and do not overdo basic intentions. Be consistent and predictable. This has worked out for me since I have some monthly special posts but also have consistent memes that I enjoy working on each week. *Thank you to those who have patiently followed me this year as I shaped this blog, I’m so grateful!
3. Find new programs that I can use to make my life simpler. Try to add new programs in and explore them at least one per week. If I’m not trying out a new resource, I simply refine and become better at a program I might have put aside or need to understand better. Usually something that I’m trying out will be used professionally as well as in blogging world. I appreciate how I can transfer my knowledge from one platform to another.
4. Trust my instincts. This was sometimes a challenge because I have a tendency to be very reflective and think for a little while before acting… I’ve worked to really tune into that quiet, intuitive voice in my mind. This habit of reflectiveness is helpful sometimes. I don’t waste time when I know what I’m doing and also I am careful before I act on things. Taking two months to officially begin my webpages for my new school library page turned out to be quite wise. Instead of jumping into a program I didn’t feel confident with I searched for one I thought made life easier. I’m quite pleased with the results on my online resources collection for my school community: http://www.only2clicks.com/pages/BradburyLibrary/
5. Preprogramming posts and tweets is quite helpful. I’ll post a new technology share soon about Hootsuite. I love using the program because I can space out my Twitter, LinkedIn, and Facebook posts. As I said to a colleague, I also don’t look like such a nut posting everything that inspires me all at once when I’m online.
6. Pre-writing isn’t always for me – sometimes I’m inspired 10 minutes before I post! It is sometimes the unplanned posts that I’m most excited about.
7. Appreciate the writing moments and prepare to be patient about redeveloping the skill: This is the most personal writing I’ve done in years. I really missed this outlet for expression and feel more balanced when I make time to blog. I find that carving out blogging time in my schedule is much more approachable since I feel like what I share is appreciated, thanks so much followers!
8. Journaling through a blog is lovely: Moving to another country is quite an upheaval and useful to document! Even though I don’t often write my Hong Kong Update posts as personal family posts, I really feel connected still to my family who are scattered across the US, past school community, and all my wonderful friends that are quite supportive over the years.
9. Appreciate the longevity of blogging: I love how I can share something one day and seven months later someone writes to me about how that past post was useful to them. I also appreciate how I can edit and update posts. I also decided to personally track my favorite blog posts on Pinterest and I’ve found it quite helpful for quick relocation of information.
10. Treasure friends and followers: I appreciate how many new friends I’ve made over the past year with this blog and other outlets of interconnectedness– Twitter, Pinterest, Goodreads, Facebook, LinkedInDiigo and many more. Thank you friends for all of your support. I am especially grateful for the connection with my author heroes and with inspiring educators with whom I can reciprocally learn and grow.
Brilliant educator bloggers of the world, how have your skills grown through the years? Do you have other lessons you could share?
Here’s to many more posts, thanks again for following this blog. So grateful….
Debbie – Styling Librarian
Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, if you’re interested, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.
litldebbie
IMG_0482

7 comments on “Styling Librarian: 200th Blog Post Reflection

  1. Earl
    December 19, 2012

    Congratulations. I also just started my blog this year and I’m still learning how this whole blooging thing works! I look forward to many more posts from you!

  2. Mrs Hewett
    December 19, 2012

    Dear Debbie,
    What a wonderful post – thanks for sharing your insights and thoughts on this. I am very happy to have met you online and through Twitter. I have only been in my school library for two terms after being a stay at home Mom for 15 years and sometimes feel the tools and opportunities are a bit overwhelming…however bloggers and tweeters like you and the many others that share their knowledge and enthusiasm inspired me to do all sorts of things that I would never have thought I would even want to do, let alone be capable of doing. Thank you so much for giving so much of yourself to the online community.
    Happy 2013, Alison (@alidevnz)

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 20, 2012

      Thanks so much Alison! Appreciate the encouragement plus that my blog/online presence can support!! Best wishes on a fantastic holiday and happy new year!

  3. jgibsonmillis
    December 24, 2012

    Dear Debbie,

    Online, I “met” you through Libby Hamler-Dupras, my dear friend and mentor, who passed on your blog to me. I feel we have physically met at an OASL conference a few years ago. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that your blog and life path have inspired me which I have needed greatly since being laid off ,as a fellow teacher librarian,, a year and a half ago. I too, after much thought, started a professional blog, Diary of a Displaced Librarian. It is quite my baby right now, and I have much to learn ( :

    My husband, a PE and Outdoor Education teacher, and I are also in the process of looking for international teaching jobs for 2013/2014. We have applied through ISS and are excitedly searching and waiting to see what happens for next year. I would appreciate any tips that you might have for picking the best setting. We have two kids, a 13 year old boy and an elven year old girl.

    I truly want to thank you. One day, I hope our paths cross so that I can thank you in person. Until then, I wish you and your family a happy holiday season.

    Best regards,

    Jennifer Gibson-Millis

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 25, 2012

      Shall reply to you in personal email, have some thoughts… not sure if I have your email though, could you click on write a personal message to me?

  4. Pingback: Styling Librarian Favorite Book Recap 2012 « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

