The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: #IMWAYR December 17th 2012

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme! Meeting new authors and illustrators from various countries has been a dream come true. Sometimes a little bit of a nightmare as I feel pulled in all directions to read all these exciting new book treasures… this week I went back to basics and focused on enjoying books with my son while at the same time plugging along at books I’m in the middle of:

Puff the Magic Dragon by Peter Yarrow and Lenny Lipton, illustrated by Eric Puybaret – My son and I have read/sung this book to one another 15 times in the past week, plus we watched a few videos connected as well. Warms my heart every time. I especially love watching the original performance videos!

This week I finished the first of the Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles called The Nixie’s Song by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black – This book certainly has a different feel to it even though past characters come back into this story. I liked that the main character has a father who isn’t environmentally thoughtful as he works on a neighborhood land development. I’m curious to see how the story continues and also glad there are only three books in Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles. Goodreads Summary: “The Spiderwick Chronicles leave the old-fashioned charm of New England far behind and head south for some fiendish faerie fun in the hot Florida sun. Eleven-year-old Nicholas Vargas only thinks his life has been turned upside down after his developer father remarries and moves his new wife and daughter into the soon-to-be completed Mangrove Hollow.  But an “expedition” to a nearby lake turns up a little nixie with a giant problem – the huge, lumbering, fire-breathing variety – and it’s up to Nick; his stepsister, Laurie; and his big brother, Julian (plus a familiar face from the original Spiderwick Chronicles) to figure out the best way to stop a host of rampaging giants before all of Florida goes up in smoke.”

Who is Jane Goodall?  by Roberta Edwards, illustrated by John O’Brien – Here’s my first non-fiction chapter book that I read alongside my son. We didn’t read aloud, just silently read together and then discussed as the story progressed. For example when we were reading the page where Jane was attacked by a chimpanzee I said “oh no, this is terrible” and my son said “Shh, I’m not there yet… oh no mommy, did this really happen?!” When we read the pages about a chimpanzee who had no empathy and went on a killing spree, we had a discussion on some humans who also don’t care about how their actions hurt others… I loved this new biography entry into Jane Goodall’s life. I think it is the perfect book to accompany those who loved both The Watcher and Me…Jane. Well done even in following her marriage, divorce, and family member involvement in her life. Also, I love how the end leads children to think about how they can also help the earth and learn with Jane Goodall! Goodreads Summary: “A life in the wild! Jane Goodall, born in London, England, always loved animals and wanted to study them in their natural habitats. So at age twenty-six, off she went to Africa! Goodall’s up-close observations of chimpanzees changed what we know about them and paved the way for many female scientists who came after her. Now her story comes to life in this biography with black-and-white illustrations throughout.”

Since I LOVE watching TED Talks, here’s one from Jane Goodall:

picThursthirstySmall Steps – How simple ideas can make a difference to planet Earth by Glenn Murphy – There are so many little things we can do to make our world more lovely. I knew most of the information in this book already but really appreciate the way the information is organized and presented for children to use. It is also an excellent non-fiction book to use for chart and graphic organizer studies. Weldon Owen Publisher Summary: “How simple ideas can make a difference to planet Earth:
-A hip, stylish look at saving the planet for kids
-Fun illustrations tell the environmental story
-Clever and quirky design demonstrates the impact of going green
-How one person, a group of friends, a class and a school can make the world a healthier place”

I’m still working on:

James Potter

The first book in the James Potter Series- Fan Fiction following Harry’s son at Hogwarts – free!! – James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing by G. Norman Lippert. I think I’ve veered toward reading this book more because it is not only on my iPhone (convenient for travel) but also because I love getting back in the world of Harry Potter – from smiling at old characters to enjoying new plots to realizing new problems, just loving it. 

I also jumped into Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – -I haven’t opened this since I returned from camp, too distracted in reading other books… I want to focus and enjoy this book… a holiday break read for sure! Interesting but a book I need to concentrate on to keep up with- what a world and political system Rachel Hartman created! Looking forward to having time to read this coming week. Shall see if this becomes reality. 

I am also listening to The Life of Pi by Yann Martel – Still enjoying this book… slowly but surely will complete it.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

2 comments on “Styling Librarian: #IMWAYR December 17th 2012

  1. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    December 17, 2012

    Lots of great ones! I have that Puff book. My dad used to sing it to me all the time when I was a kid. I read it to my own son many times. I even wrote about the experience on my blog 🙂 http://www.mariaselke.com/2011/07/puff-magic-tradition-encouraging.html
    I adored Seraphina..

    Hmmm…. James POTTER?? You’ll have to let us know what you think of it. Fan fiction can be hit or miss, but if it’s good….

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 17, 2012

      Well, I’ll say presently that James Potter is quite long… enjoying it overall. Nice to read about character friends again. Loved your post on Puff. 🙂 My son teared up the first 3 times we read it… Learned about a book app that isn’t available YET in the US, can’t wait to grab it when available…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

