The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian #IMWAYR Reading Update Dec 2nd 2012

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  This was a week where I know I read more, just didn’t take note of each picture book I read as I have in the past. I am working on a new display in the library of books around the world, so shall be updating my world awareness blog quite soon with those new picture book titles and how the display turns out. As for books read update, it was of those “can’t miss” weeks where I absolutely loved and was impressed with every book I read, once I finally finished my brain candy book Wild.

Featured books x 3!!: (It has been a long while since I rated three books in a row on Goodreads with 5 Stars! *****)

Capture the Flag by Kate Messner – Fantastic mystery that had terrific character development, great plot/pacing, good clues and setting, and overall one of my favorite books the year. Looking forward to promoting with my students! Terrific for 4th grade and up! Goodreads Summary: “Three kids get caught up in an adventure of historic proportions! Anna, José, and Henry are complete strangers with more in common than they realize. Snowed in together at a chaotic Washington D.C. airport, they encounter a mysterious tattooed man, a flamboyant politician, and a rambunctious poodle named for an ancient king. Even stranger, news stations everywhere have announced that the famous flag that inspired “The Star-Spangled Banner” has been stolen! Anna, certain that the culprits must be snowed in too, recruits Henry and José to help catch the thieves and bring them to justice. But when accusations start flying, they soon realize there’s more than justice at stake. As the snow starts clearing, Anna, José, and Henry find themselves in a race against time (and the weather!) to prevent the loss of an American treasure.”

On the Road to Mr. Mineo’s by Barbara O’Connor – Finishing off a story with a big smile… what a happy day it was to enjoy this gorgeous book. What a wonderful mix of characters introduced throughout the book! What a ruckus one little one-legged homing pigeon can cause! What beautifully flawed characters Barbara O’Connor creates. Fantastic community story. Loved it. Highly recommend for students 4th grade and up! (Maybe even third grade when they’re strong readers!) Reading any Barbara O’Connor book puts a huge smile on my face, to be honest. Goodreads Summary: “Summer days drift by slowly in Meadville, South Carolina–that is, until Sherman the one-legged pigeon flies into town and causes a ruckus. First Stella, who’s been begging for a dog, spots him on top of a garage roof and decides she wants him for a pet. Then there’s Ethel and Amos, an old couple who sees the pigeon in their barn keeping company with a little brown dog that barks all night. The pigeon lands smack in the middle of Mutt Raynard’s head, but he’s the town liar, so no one believes him. And when Stella’s brother Levi and his scabby-kneed, germ-infested friends notice the pigeon, they join the chase, too. Meanwhile, across town, Mr. Mineo has one less homing pigeon than he used to…”


Anne Frank – The Anne Frank House Authorized Graphic Biography by Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colon – Engrossing, heart-wrenching, fascinating, well written graphic novel following the life of Anne Frank with actual historical accounting of various points during the Holocaust. Well, well done. Perfect for 4th grade and up even though there are a few tough scenes… Goodreads Summary: “Drawing on the unique historical sites, archives, expertise, and unquestioned authority of the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam, New York Times bestselling authors Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colón have created the first authorized and exhaustive graphic biography of Anne Frank. Their account is complete, covering the lives of Anne’s parents, Edith and Otto; Anne’s first years in Frankfurt; the rise of Nazism; the Franks’ immigration to Amsterdam; war and occupation; Anne’s years in the Secret Annex; betrayal and arrest; her deportation and tragic death in Bergen-Belsen; the survival of Anne’s father; and his recovery and publication of her astounding diary.”

Books I also enjoyed: 

Hong Kong- KidsGo! By Mio Debnam – For parents!! What an easy to navigate, packed with good information book! Couldn’t be more thrilled to find it. Good list of restaurants to visit plus some more trips to plan out around Hong Kong with my family. For some reason I also really appreciated the formatting of the maps along with the tips and advice like “Watch out…. Don’t go in there, that’s a cemetery!” My only complaint, I was disappointed there was no index. My preference for these types of books. Decent table of contents. Plus, it included the island I’m going camping at this week with Year 4 students. Oh boy to going to a cave plus shopping… curious to experience.

Wild (Illusions in the US) – A new kind of faerie tale – Aprilynne Pike Terrific quick read, fun fantasy series to get lost in… I needed a little brain candy.  Pike created a fantastic world of faerie’s that had me accepting the content readily. Phew to finishing the third book in the series. Ready to enjoy other book treasures now. Recommended age: High School. Goodreads Summary: “I don’t do patrols, I don’t go hunting, I just stick close to you. You live your life. I’ll keep you safe,” Tamani said, sweeping a lock of hair from her face. “Or die trying.” Laurel hasn’t seen Tamani since she begged him to let her go last year. Though her heart still aches, Laurel is confident that David was the right choice. But just as life is returning to normal, Laurel discovers that a hidden enemy lies in wait. Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible. And for the first time, Laurel cannot be sure that her side will prevail.

Next I’ll read: The first book in the James Potter Series- Fan Fiction following Harry’s son at Hogwarts. My husband is loving this series and threatening to let slip vital plot points. He’s used to me reading the book first. I also look forward to jumping into Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – THE book I’m bringing with me on the camping trip. I’m also reading/reviewing a friend’s manuscript. Shall keep quiet about that one though. Happy reading everyone!

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

Had to add the picture of my sweet dog to this post… finished all three of these books in the past few days!

thirsthurs29

12 comments on “Styling Librarian #IMWAYR Reading Update Dec 2nd 2012

  1. msyingling
    December 3, 2012

    I’ll have to take a look at the Anne Frank graphic biography– I have one, but it’s not very good. It would get a lot of circulation, I think.

  2. ponderingbks
    December 3, 2012

    I’ve never read fanfic before, but your husbands praise has caught my interest and I’m going to see if I can try the James Potter books.

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 3, 2012

      Same here… shall see soon enough! Will be curious to hear what others think too!!

  3. carriegelson
    December 3, 2012

    Lovely review of the newest Barbara O’Connor book. I am such a fan and haven’t yet read this title. I always think you can’t go wrong with her books. I have read each of her titles to my own children so I must get my hands on this one! Thanks for the reminder.

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 4, 2012

      🙂 Agreed. Been on a mission to read it for a while. Keeping up with her on Facebook is always a good reminder for me (her status photo) 🙂

  4. megan
    December 3, 2012

    I can’t wait to get into Seraphina. I heard great things about the audio so I ordered the book on cd for my library.

  5. Tara
    December 3, 2012

    I loved Capture the Flag, as do my sixth graders. Mr. Mineo’s is on my list …and it’s moved up now as a result of your review!

  6. kathyellen
    December 4, 2012

    Capture the Flag…so good! Kate Messner actually lives in my tiny hometown…it’s very cool to have such a great author coming from the same place I came from! I really liked how there was so much story in so few days with Capture the Flag….The James Potter Fan Fiction sounds AMAZING too!

    • The Styling Librarian
      December 4, 2012

      Lucky, lucky, lucky. I used to live in the same town as so many of my favorite authors. Now just keep up on them through Facebook. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,878 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

