The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: #IMWAYR It’s Monday, what are you reading? Oct. 29 2012

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I enjoy keeping track of my reading and sharing with others each week. I enjoyed a vacation and read an adult memoir instead of children’s novel…

Tomorrow Girls – With The Enemy by Eva Gray – 3rd book in the series. Really enjoyed zipping through this series, one more to go. Great to get lost in this futuristic society. Simple in comparison to some other books I’ve read but I am enjoying the series. Goodreads Summary: In a terrifying new world, four girls must depend on each other if they want to survive.Evelyn has always suspected that things are more sinister and more complicated than they seem. Now that Maddie has been kidnapped, Rosie, Louisa, and the boys are paying more attention to Evelyn’s theories. As the group makes their way toward war-torn Chicago, they’re under constant threat of capture. Danger and dark surprises lurk around every twist of the road. Evelyn knows they need a solid plot to find Maddie. But what the group comes up with may be their riskiest plan yet: infiltrating the Alliance itself. Even Evelyn has her doubts. Can they save Maddie before it’s too late?

Gweilo – A Memoir of A Hong Kong Childhood by Martin Booth – Brilliantly written book. Really enjoyed jumping into the past of Hong Kong seeing how life was then, what experience Martin Booth had, and I really appreciated how he shared the perspective of others as well. The only heartbreak I had was how terrible his father was during his life with mental abuse not just to family but to others. Showed how one can ignorantly isolate themselves from others. Here’s a line from the book I thought was poignant:
“I had learnt much about the world since I had last seen her, learnt to differentiate between fun and cruelty, humour and contemptuous laughter, love and hate.”  – p. 347
*I also  appreciate hearing how he got ideas for his other book I enjoyed, Music on the Bamboo Radio, on it. Goodreads Summary: Evocative, funny and full of life, this is a beautifully observed childhood memoir of growing up in colonial Hong Kong in the 1950s. As an inquisitive seven-year-old, Martin Booth found himself with the whole of Hong Kong at his feet when his father was posted there in the early 1950s. Unrestricted by parental control, he had free access to hidden corners of the colony normally closed to a Gweilo, a “pale fellow” like him. Befriending rickshaw coolies and local stallholders, he learned Cantonese, sampled delicacies such as boiled water beetles and one-hundred-year-old eggs, and participated in colourful festivals. He even entered the forbidden Kowloon Walled City, wandered into the secret lair of the Triads and visited an opium den. Along the way he encountered a colourful array of people, from the plink plonk man with his dancing monkey to Nagasaki Jim, a drunken child molester, and the Queen of Kowloon, the crazed tramp who may have been a member of the Romanov family. –Shadowed by the unhappiness of his warring parents, a broad-minded mother who, like her son, was keen to embrace all things Chinese, and a bigoted father who was enraged by his family’s interest in “going native,” Martin Booth’s compelling memoir is a journey into Chinese culture and an extinct colonial way of life that glows with infectious curiosity and humour.

Quentin Quokka’s Quick Questions by Barbara deRubertis, illustrated by R.W. Alley– I like this series Animal Antics A to Z – My son is honestly obsessed with the series. I’m so grateful that we have access to all of these books through the Reading Rainbow app. When I read through the list of books my son has read, I see books from this series read over and over again. I personally enjoyed sharing the Quentin Quokka book because I simply loved introducing the concept of valuing questioning skills with my students. While we were reading the book, I was able to pause and discuss where you find answers to questions, who you ask questions to, where to look for books to answer questions, etc. Pretty fantastic starting off point for Kindergarten and up.

The Mark of Athena – The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan – So excited to finally begin reading this book… just picked up from a new local bookstore that I loved (a post on that is coming.)


Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

9 comments on “Styling Librarian: #IMWAYR It’s Monday, what are you reading? Oct. 29 2012

  1. msyingling
    October 29, 2012

    I still haven’t gotten my hands on a copy of Mark of Athena yet. I’ll have to buy a copy for my son for Christmas so I have a chance to read it!

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 29, 2012

      So far it is fantastic, but only book 3 of the series… You can always buy a Christmas copy early! 🙂

  2. Myra GB
    October 29, 2012

    I head from one of my GatheringReaders that Mark of Athena was great. She read it over the weekend I think and loved it. She says she can’t wait for the next book. That says a lot, I thought. Gweilo also sounds interesting.
    BTW, I’m not sure if it’s the browser that I’m using and my system (I use Safari in my macbookpro), but I have trouble reading through your entire blogpost – the right side seems to be cut off for some reason. Just thought you should know.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 29, 2012

      Gweilo kept me going and going… 🙂 Sorry the blog was cut off, not sure what was going on. I use Safari w/macbookpro too?! Happy reading week to you!

  3. carriegelson
    October 29, 2012

    Just ordered Mark of Athena for my son. He is waiting rather impatiently for it to show up. He is such a Riordan fan. He got to hear him speak in the Spring which added to the author adoration.

  4. megan
    October 29, 2012

    Tomorrow Girls looks exciting! I loved Mark of Athena-I think it’s the best one yet. Enjoy your reading!

  5. Teacher.Mother.Reader
    October 29, 2012

    You mentioned using the Reading Rainbow App. I’ve heard great things about it, but I can’t access it yet. I am hoping it comes to my e-reader as an app soon! You’ll have to tell more about it! The A to Z books look fun, I think my son might like them too, for what age readers do you think they are targeted?

    • The Styling Librarian
      November 1, 2012

      Honestly, I think there are books from K-5+ on there- biographies, poetry, heavy on the picture books. I adore the app. I love that it keeps adding more books each month. I adore supporting reading rainbow in this new incarnation since I grew up enjoying it…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Top Posts & Pages

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

