The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Book Gift Recommendations

I opened my email this morning and saw a message from one of my favorite librarian friends, Ruth Murray, who organizes a monthly newsletter for Oregon Association of School Libraries. I love contributing to this newsletter, still do even though I’m over in Hong Kong, and I was thinking about her idea prompts for the month. One was suggestions for gifts for the holidays.

Thought I’d briefly point out a few gifts that I think would be fantastic.

Natalie Merchant created the most gorgeous CD compilation of poems that is now a beautifully illustrated book with Barbara McClintock’s artistry: Leave Your Sleep: Watch the book trailer, it shows you how beautiful this treat is.

 

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore was first an amazing app and movie, now it is out as a gorgeous book by William Joyce, a beautiful celebration of reading:

 

If I started listing all my favorite books, authors, book compilations, other gift ideas, I would go on forever. If anyone has anything they’d specifically like to request, I’d be thrilled to share my ideas in another post.

One last thing though. I mentioned numerous times how much I appreciate the talent of Robert and Laura Sams who created Sisbro Studios. What a talented team they are creating brilliant videos that combine entertainment and information with storytelling and musicality. I highly recommend visiting their store for gift ideas as well. http://www.sisbrostudios.com/

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

