The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: What are YOU reading? #imwayr Oct. 22nd, 2012

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I enjoy keeping track of my reading and sharing with others each week.  I was a little slower on the books this week, been busy at work!


I was advised to put aside all books and just enjoy:
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – Utter brilliance. Overwhelming. Fantastic. What grief. What a beautiful yet disturbing book. Really enjoyed.

Grateful I listened to advice! Goodreads Summary: The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming… This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

 

Lone Pine by Susie Brown and Margaret Warner, illustrated by Sebastian Ciaffaglione – symbolistic gift connects to a nation as a symbol of rememberance. Based on true story. Pretty powerful. Goodreads Summary: From a battlefield at Gallipoli, a soldier sends a pine cone home to his mother. Little does he know that his simple gift will become a national symbol of history and remembrance. Susie Brown and Margaret Warner’s sensitive text is evocatively illustrated by Sebastian Ciaffaglione, and tells a story that is about both personal experience and a nation-defining event.

 

One Smart Fish by Chris Wormell – I really enjoyed every piece of this book. Even when I started out thinking it was a non-fiction book, why? Because I was pulled in… I love that this book is really all about evolution and while I completed reading it I wondered to myself, “wonder if this is banned anywhere?” My son loved this book. Read it to himself, read it to me with powerful voice, fun, fascinating book. Goodreads Summary: Long ago in the deep ocean, there lived… one smart fish! He wasn’t the biggest and he wasn’t the boldest, but he was the cleverest. What this smart fish wanted more than anything else was to walk upon the land. But everyone knows that fish can’t walk… can they?

The Great Wall of Lucy Wu by Wendy Wan-Long Shang –  I am so grateful that I am participating in Hong Kong Battle of the Books because otherwise this lovely book would have flown under my radar. I’d say it felt like a combination of Lisa Yee and Grace Lin characters with the sports appreciation, culture awareness, and family dilemmas. Just really enjoyed every minute of the read. Goodreads Summary: In this humorous and heartfelt debut about a split cultural identity, nothing goes according to plan for sixth-grader Lucy Wu. Lucy Wu, aspiring basketball star and interior designer, is on the verge of having the best year of her life. She’s ready to rule the school as a sixth grader and take over the bedroom she has always shared with her sister. In an instant, though, her plans are shattered when she finds out that Yi Po, her beloved grandmother’s sister, is coming to visit for several months — and is staying in Lucy’s room. Lucy’s vision of a perfect year begins to crumble, and in its place come an unwelcome roommate, foiled birthday plans, and Chinese school with the awful Talent Chang.


Cleopatra- Discover the world of Cleopatra through the diary of her handmaid Nefret by Adele Geras – Wow, this book was NOT quite appropriate for my son who picked it out but he’s tended to gravitate to the 900’s in our new library.  Even though it wasn’t quite appropriate, he was captured by this girl’s diary, learning about Caesar getting murdered, Cleopatra’s brother-husbands dying questionable deaths, love affairs and babies, and many more interesting topics that seemed to lead us to many discussions. He was heartbroken at the end of the book. Here’s hoping he doesn’t pick out Romeo and Juliet next! Goodreads Summary: This innovative, fully illustrated, and factually accurate novel tells the story of the legendary Egyptian queen. At ten years old, a young girl named Nefret becomes a handmaid to Cleopatra, the last queen of Egypt. It is through her eyes, as a servant in Cleopatra’s court, that the history of this powerful ruler unfolds. In nefret’s diary, readers will observe Cleopatra’s struggle to become a pharaoh and her relentless determination to rule Egypt well. A reference chapter provides accurate historical and cultural context. [close]

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

22 comments on “Styling Librarian: What are YOU reading? #imwayr Oct. 22nd, 2012

  1. carriegelson
    October 22, 2012

    Wow. Now I am very intrigued to read One Smart Fish. Kids love books about evolution. Have you read Charlie and the Kiwi Bird? I haven’t read A Monster Calls. I really must!

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 22, 2012

      Charlie and the Kiwi bird now… shall put it in my Goodreads TBR pile. 🙂 A Monster Calls is quite memorable. Won’t forget that one…

  2. David E.
    October 22, 2012

    I’m quite intrigued by LONE PINE. My library doesn’t have it. Australian, right? In my post today I mention THE CARPENTER’S GIFT. Definite connection between the two.

  3. David E.
    October 22, 2012

    Oh — did you read the illustrated MONSTER CALLS?

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 22, 2012

      No, but I picked it up at a bookstore today, gorgeous! Might be rereading it when I have time. I’m now beginning two other new books from the store. 🙂

  4. Myra GB
    October 22, 2012

    Hi Debbie, A Monster Calls is one of my absolute favorite books. Couldn’t stop raving about it several months back. I’ve also done a review of The Chaos Walking Trilogy – you’re right – brilliant would be a pretty apt description. I know about The Great Wall of Lucy Wu but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all these.

  5. msyingling
    October 22, 2012

    I LOVE Lucy Wu, but it always alarms me when she gets shelved right after all the creepy Darren Shan books! I try to put her out on a separate display.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 22, 2012

      So funny, thought I was the only one who noticed which book friends sat next to one another on the shelves. 🙂 Glad to read another person who thinks along the same path!

  6. Holly Mueller
    October 22, 2012

    Do you have to read the whole Chaos Walking trilogy to understand A Monster Calls? I’ve heard a ton about it, but not as much about the other two.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 22, 2012

      Haven’t read Chaos Walking trilogy– and I understood A Monster Calls… or at least I think I did… 🙂

  7. Gigi McAllister
    October 22, 2012

    I have been meaning to add the Lucy Wu book to my pile. Thanks for the reminder, it looks great!

  8. Teacher.Mother.Reader
    October 22, 2012

    I just didn’t connect with A Monster Calls. I guess that there is a book for every reader. On the other hand your description of the Cleopatra book interested me. I have also had my eye on The Great Wall of Lucy Wu, too! Thanks for sharing.

  9. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    October 22, 2012

    I love Cleopatra – I may have to check out this book. What age range do you think it is appropriate for?

  10. megan
    October 23, 2012

    I really need to read A Monster Calls…and finish Chaos Walking. The first book was awesome.

  11. Earl
    October 24, 2012

    A Monster Calls was a book I really enjoyed. The illustrations fit perfectly with the text. It’s interesting that the edition you had didn’t include it? I definitely need to check out his other books.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 24, 2012

      I agree, shall be reading more of his books! I do have an illustrated version now. Amazing connection to text!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

