The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Here I am on The Nerdy Book Club- so honored to be a guest!

Nerdy Book Club

So.  Ever get so fed up with your professional situation that you decide you’re going to take complete charge? Up and move across the ocean to another continent? Provide your family with a lifetime opportunity to experience life in a different manner?

I did.

I read magazine articles and books on taking the reins back on your life. I figured, why shouldn’t I? I deserve to experience choice without frustration and anger in my career.

For the past few years I’ve advocated. Innovated. Bent over backwards. Worked four jobs in one position. Felt that I provided my school district with the best value to their dollar. The budget was stretched beyond normal constraints. Then came the cuts. They were drastic. Emotionally draining. Still creating a reverberating impact on children, community members, staff, and more.

I became a self-advocate, took control of my fate instead of waiting to see what my…

View original post 975 more words

6 comments on “

  1. Indrani
    October 21, 2012

    Hi Debbie: Wow, what a courageous move! Love your post. I found a couple if books @ the bookstore @ The Peak when I was in Hong Kong last summer. They were the Sasha series in Hongkong & Mumbai.

    Enjoy your stay in HK.

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 21, 2012

      Thanks! 🙂 I was just at that bookstore yesterday and looked at those books! They’re already in my school’s library.

  2. lenorelook
    October 21, 2012

    Wow. Love this post and your clever photo montage! Can’t wait to meet you and your little darlings! Love that you took control of your life instead of merely reacting to it. It would make a great children’s book. Think about it. See you soon! xxoo

    • The Styling Librarian
      October 21, 2012

      Thank you so much Lenore! 🙂 So excited to have you visit. Good point. Shall think on that book idea!! Anticipating……

  3. Rachel -
    October 24, 2012

    Cool post! 🙂 Rachel

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2012 by in Books.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

