The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Whatever Wednesday: October 3rd 2012

Here’s my second “Whatever Wednesday” post… I shared other things in the past that tickled my fancy, but I appreciate my twitter and Facebook friend David Etkin’s ( @davidaetkin ) Whatever Wednesday meme and thought it would be fun to reflect on one thing each week that really catches my attention, entertains me, and is special enough I just have to share it with the world.

Unfortunately, I often worry about copyright and share favorite pictures only on my  Facebook pages… So I’ll probably share my favorite YouTube video of the week every week: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Styling-Librarian/253190371415435

Here’s my Whatever Wednesday Randomness:

Hexaflexagons: Vi Hart anyone want to boost their brain power? You should watch a video created by Vi Hart. She is brilliant, entertaining, fascinating, worthy of every minutes you watch. My favorite video she’s done is: Mobius Strip Story, Wind and Mr. Ug — absolutely fantastic – I’ve used this video many times to discuss perspective, storytelling, and MATH connections with students. Ok, I’ll include that after the fantastic, amazing Hexaflexagon video:

Celebrate Banned Books Week: http://www.epicreads.com/blog/banned-books-week/ – Here’s the most fantastic video I’ve seen celebrating Banned Books with a Virtual Readout:

Want more on banned books week? http://www.bannedbooksweek.org/virtualreadout

Random webpages that caught my eye this week:
Star Wars and Dr. Seuss Mashup, yes please!!: http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/jason-peltz-star-wars-dr-seuss-mash-ups

What’s Wrong With Reading? – this article gave me pause and feel quite upset simultaneously:
http://www.youthcomm.org/story/id/NYC-2012-09-24.html?fb_action_ids=4656103283120&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=aggregation&fb_aggregation_id=288381481237582

Since I adore Wonder by R.J. Palacio and since October is National Anti-Bullying Month, I thought I would share this video of WKBT news anchor Jennifer Livingston responding to someone bullying her in a letter. Some may question whether it really is bullying… Why? Perhaps because they do not know better. I think the message is quite clear and I respect and appreciate the voice shared for children and adults alike.

Thank you again to “Eat the Book” for the Whatever Wednesday meme: http://mretome.wordpress.com David Etkin’s words: “Whatever Wednesday — a chance to post something I’ve seen that I’m diggin’. Though often a cool quote or poster, it might simply be a picture.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

Top Posts & Pages

Bloglovin – Follow me here!

Follow on Bloglovin

Goodreads

