The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 9/24/12

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I enjoy keeping track of my reading and sharing with others each week.  I honestly didn’t make as much time for reading as I’d like… I’m listening to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern on my commute to and from work, but really found that I’ve preferred to listen to podcasts instead– my favorite podcasts are: Katie Davis Brain Burps About Books, Kids’ Comics Revolution, and Smart Passive Income. All three have been enriching my brain with new ideas and I appreciate that they’re free as well!

I’ve enjoyed participating in International Dot Day and reading The Dot by Peter H. Reynolds to my students. I really love all the dot pictures they’ve created in celebration of creativity and in inspiration of The Dot. What a fun celebration this is continuing to be!

What I read recently:

 

Aristotle by Dick King-Smith, illustrated by Bob Graham – enjoyed the easy read cute story about a cat who was adopted by a witch and went through one life after another until his last life… The cat gets into quite the predicaments, really cute. It was a fun read aloud to enjoy with my son as well. Goodreads Summary: Dick King-Smith’s mischievous narrative and Bob Graham’s sweet, humorous watercolors capture the first eight lives of a kitten who’s ready to scamper his way into hearts everywhere. Aristotle the kitten is so adventurous that it’s a good thing cats have nine lives. What’s even better is that Aristotle has found the kind witch Bella Donna to be his owner. Somehow she is always there when he gets into trouble, whether tumbling down the chimney, tipping over a giant milk jug, or tearing away from a snarling watchdog – just as a truck comes areening by. Is it luck? Or maybe a little bit of magic?


Sit, Truman by Dan Harper, illustrated by Cara Moser and Barry Moser – Just loved this story, very cute. Funny illustrations with a feel of the dog from the movie Turner and Hooch- a Dogue de Bordeaux and the troublesome actions of No, David. Goodreads Summary: No day is dull with Truman around, and he has his own ideas about what he wants to do. Too bad there are so many interruptions: Heel! Sit! Fetch! STOP!
Big, slobbery, and endearing, Truman will make dog lovers everywhere sit up and beg for more.

The Way Back Home by Oliver Jeffers – enjoyed this science fiction book with a kid who jumps into an airplane and heads to the moon. Goodreads Summary: When a boy discovers a single-propeller airplane in his closet, he does what any young adventurer would do: He flies it into outer space! Millions of miles from Earth, the plane begins to sputter and quake, its fuel tank on empty. The boy executes a daring landing on the moon . . . but there’s no telling what kind of slimy, slithering, tentacled, fangtoothed monsters lurk in the darkness! (Plus, it’s dark and lonely out there.) Coincidentally, engine trouble has stranded a young Martian on the other side of the moon, and he’s just as frightened and alone. Martian, Earthling—it’s all the same when you’re in need of a friend.

DogFish by Gillian Shields, illustrated by Dan Taylor – talk about the perfect book for the message of making the best with what you’ve got… Little boy told that no, he can’t have a dog… so he trains his fish to perform like a dog… Goodreads Summary: Everyone has a dog. Except for one little boy. He has a goldfish. He needs a dog.
Mom says, “Why do you need a dog when you have such a nice goldfish?” But goldfish can’t catch sticks or go for walks or wag their tails…. Can they? Maybe they can…

The Tiger Who Came to Tea by Judith Kerr– Cute funny story about a tiger who came to the house and ate every bit of food in the house, in the kitchen from the cupboards to the refrigerator… Goodreads Summary:  While Sophie and her mother are sitting down to tea one afternoon, the doorbell rings. A big, furry, stripy tiger has come for tea…and sandwiches, and buns, and biscuits…and eats all the food in the house until there’s nothing left to cook for Daddy’s supper. Judith Kerr’s reassuring and funny story, with just a hint of anarchy, has been delighting children since its first publication thirty-five years ago. This modern classic has gone on to sell over three million copies worldwide, making it one of the most popular picture books for children ever written.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver – fascinating premise- that love is a disease that can be cured, fascinating. — I really enjoyed reading this book and getting lost in this restrictive, brainwashing future society. It really made me appreciate living in the time I’m living in with the rights that I have, even here in Hong Kong.  Goodreads Summary: Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.
But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

Books I’m honestly finally making time for – although I admit it, I already started reading Lauren Oliver’s sequel to Delirium, Pandemonium. Yup, I’m quite hooked.:

.

The Poison Garden by Sarah Singleton – still reminding me so far of The Westing Game and 39 Clues… But now I’m finding connections to Maile Meloy’s The Alchemist as well… Goodreads Summary: It is the 1850’s, and a young boy, Thomas, leaves his family to be apprenticed to a pharmacist, at the behest of his dead grandmother. He also inherits a magical box from her, which provides him entry into a mysterious garden. But while visiting it, he sees a ghostly vision of his grandmother, who tells him she was poisoned, and warns him that he must find the person responsible, and save her precious garden. For she was one of five members of an arcane guild, each of whom cultivated an individual garden, mastering the art of poison, perfume and medicine. The guild members jostle for power as, one by one, they are murdered …
Can Thomas solve the mystery, before he in turn is threatened?

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

14 comments on “Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 9/24/12

  1. Holly Mueller
    September 24, 2012

    I think I’d like to try the Lauren Oliver series. Thanks for the review! I also enjoyed the Dot pictures!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 24, 2012

      Thanks! Had fun seeing what dot pictures were turned in. It is quite an addicting series.

  2. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    September 24, 2012

    Thanks for the science fiction picture book! I’m trying to find some of those to add to my Sci Friday posts 🙂 And I have The Poison Garden on my list as well. I love a good mystery.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 24, 2012

      I was excited about a sci fi picture book as well. My favorite is Baloney Henry P…

  3. Myra GB
    September 24, 2012

    So many good things here. But Oliver Jeffers, I had to ask my heart to be still. This is one title that I am unfamiliar with, I would look for this one. How are you finding The Night Circus so far? I have a a copy that’s gathering dust on my shelves. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 24, 2012

      I was excited to find an unknown Oliver Jeffers as well. The Night Circus… So so feelings about it. Think I may have to listen to it a second time. Got misplaced a few times for some random reason. Great reader but characters slightly challenging to follow with an audio. But not giving up…

  4. carriegelson
    September 24, 2012

    I just love The Tiger that Came to Tea. We read that and reread that when my children were little and I just got a board book copy for my buddy reading bin (for when we start to read to our kindergarten buddies) I just read The Way Back Home last week. Ahh! Jeffers. He’s just brilliant.

  5. Teacher.Mother.Reader
    September 24, 2012

    I haven’t yet read Aristotle by Dick King-Smith. King-Smith’s animal books are always a favorite with students. I still remember as a young girl reading books about animals and pets, I’ve never grown-out loving those kinds of books! Thanks for sharing, I might have to check that one out. Along the same lines, DogFish sounds just adorable! I love that the mother in the book had such a pragmatic response to the boy’s wanting of a dog. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 25, 2012

      I agree, loved the mom’s role in DogFish. Love Dick King-Smith books. He is so prolific! I was glad to sneak in a new one and now am reading Hodgeheg with my son… so far it is adorable.

  6. Lorna
    September 24, 2012

    I love both Dick King-Smith and Oliver Jeffers, so I can’t wait to track down those titles. Your other picture books look like great fun, too! And I’m sure I said it last week, but that cover The Poison Garden is so great. Do you ever wonder why do some authors get short changed on covers? Kate Messner needs to get that person to do her covers for her novels!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 25, 2012

      I always am in debate about covers and appeal… what makes a publisher choose a cover designer to match with the author’s text… 🙂

  7. I’ve wanted to read Delirium for a while. I LOVE the premise, of love being a disease.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

