The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Author Interview: David Michael Slater

Why do I love to blog? Because I can do what I want. This is completely voluntary. If I need a break, I take it. If I want to honor favorite authors, I create a new blog theme. If I love a specific theme? I keep up with it…

I decided to interview David Michael Slater because I appreciate the variety of books he’s written and quality of the books as well.  I’ve known him for around 14 years. I’ve worked with his wife who is a fantastic teacher librarian who I considered a mentor at the beginning of my career, a very patient mentor. David is a brilliant author. I love the way his brain works. I enjoy how he plays with words. Through the years, I’ve seen his skills refined even more so since he always shares his ideas with fantastic students he teaches and also bounces ideas off of his son. I love that “I knew David when…” David has numerous popular books, one that is very popular is Cheese Louise. I keep personal copies of numerous autographed books that I adore, this one ranks quite high. I also appreciate how David created a book that is wordless yet still tells a brilliant story, The Bored Book, illustrated by Doug Keith. The illustrations fulfill many of my dreams about jumping into a book. I am VERY EXCITED to see David’s new wordless picture book when it is released The Boy and the Book I’ve always enjoyed David’s picture books and I get lost in the adventure and fantasy of his chapter books… There’s been a bit of controversy with the Sacred Book Series but really, the books provide you with a good solid fantasy adventure that many of my readers have been addicted to in the past. I recommend a read of The Book of Nonsense! For those in Reno, N.V., you are in for a treat if you would like to enjoy a fantastic, information, inspiring writers author visit! I’ve had David visit my school a few times and have seen a successful, exciting change in students afterwards with writing activity increasing and understanding of the process of book publishing increased as well. David’s books are treasured at my school and many children were thrilled to laugh through various books.

I’ve always been inspired by David’s consistent writing practice of rising early and working for a few hours daily. Of course this needs to be done but to additionally have a full time job is quite impressive to imagine balancing. Additionally, David shares almost daily witty, hilarious, and thought provoking posts on Facebook that I never want to miss.

So… that’s enough from my end, here’s David’s interview:

David Michael Slater Interview:

What was your favorite childhood book memory?

 Probably the 12 hours I spend on the couch one Sunday reading The Two Towers. I’d never been that enraptured by a book before and couldn’t believe how long I’d been reading when I finally finished.

Are there any authors or books that you liked as a child that you still read now?

Dr. Seuss, any time!

Have you read any children’s literature books recently?

 I teach middle school English, so I’m always reading. Recently read and enjoyed The Inquisitor’s Apprentice.

What was a favorite genre you read as a child?  How have your tastes changed as an adult?

Fantasy. Now I’m a sucker for what they call novels of ideas. Any book about books–I’m in.

Do you still have any of your books from when you were a child?

Lord of the Rings, Watership Down, The Dark is Rising series, The Phantom Tollbooth

Are you in a writers group? If so, has it helped you?

No, never had the time. But I recommend them!

Do you have a key writing tips for kids? Or adults?

Persistence is every bit as important as talent if you hope to be published. Also: you would not believe how just 10 or 15 minutes a day dedicated to your writing can add up to a manuscript before you know it.

Do you have a new book being released in the next year?

Two: Fun & Games, and adult comic-drama, and The Boy & the Book, a wordless picture book.

How do you feel about the development and growth of the e-Book industry?

Love it. The more opportunities there are to get your work out, the better!

Did you always plan on a writing career or if not…?

Not at all. I enjoyed writing when it was assigned, but I never imagined doing it (gasp!) on my own time.

What truly influences you as a writer?

Reading, writing, living life!

If you weren’t a writer, what occupation would you be working in?

I’m keeping the day job for now : ) Teaching 6,7,8th grade in a Gifted/Talented magnet program.

Did any teacher or mentor specifically influence you in your career?

I began writing just moments after reading a story by Jorge Luis Borges.

*Do you have any favorite topping you like on your pizza? (in honor of my husband who thinks it would be cool if I collect a list of author’s favorite pizza “You can learn a lot about a person from the pizza topping they like.”) – I’d really appreciate you answering this one!!

Most definitely: crispy bacon and mushroom. Or plain cheese.

Completing a few sentences for me:

The best advice I’ve received for my profession was….

Relentless persistence is not an option.

The habit I never break for my writing practice is…

not writing. 

If someone had told me…

that getting a book published is not the same thing as getting the book into actual readers’ hands, it would have saved me a good deal of frustration.

Why do people always assume…

that writing for kids is easy.

Anything else you’d like to share?:

You can learn more about me and my work at www.davidmichaelslater.com

http://www.amazon.com/David-Michael-Slater/e/B001HOM7DQ

David’s appearances and interviews— http://www.davidmichaelslater.com/pages/appearances 

 If you enjoyed this post, please consider following my blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. If you wish to read other author interviews, please visit this page: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/authors-celebrated/ I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers. 

3 comments on “Styling Librarian: Author Interview: David Michael Slater

  1. Enjoy Your Words
    September 22, 2012

    Great interview! I hope that you’ll do more of these. It was like The Actor’s Studio for authors!

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian Book Anticipation | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

