The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 9/17/12

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I enjoy keeping track of my reading and sharing with others each week.  It was a distracting week but I enjoyed exploring picture books that were shelved in the fiction collection. I was weeding that collection which is always a great time to get the scoop on the books there!

What I read:

 

Orange Peel’s Pocket by Rose Lewis, illustrated by Grace Zong

I brought this book home and my son promptly read it three times in a row. He repeatedly said:  “I love this book!” It was about a little girl living in America learning information about China from her elders after students asked her during school time. Really quite a cute story with all the people she talked with giving her little surprises that connect with their story in her pocket. I highly recommend. Especially simply for guiding a discussion on presumptions since Orange Peel’s classmates automatically assumed that she knew about the country she was born in even though she’d lived in the US most of her life. Goodreads Summary: One day in class, Orange Peel – who got her nickname by eating orange peels when she was little- and her classmates learn about China. Everyone starts to ask Orange Peel questions about the country because they know that’s where she was born. But she doesn’t have all the answers. So Orange Peel joins her mother on her neighborhood errands to find out.

The Night School by Isobelle Carmody – Interesting picture book.  Scary story about kids coming to a school at night… odd and I’ve reread it around 4 times already to see if I get a different story… Not positive how I feel. Goodreads Summary: A group of children spend the night in a big old school and go on a chilling journey of self-discovery when they decide to play a game. They must travel from room to room, picking up a lantern and writing down their names to ward off the dark. But the old school holds a secret that they must confront if they are to succeed in their journey.

 

Love as strong as ginger by Lenore Look, illustrated by Stephen T. Johnson

Since I’ve tried to read every book by Lenore Look in the past and also because I connected with Lenore Look on Twitter recently, I was quite excited to find this picture book on my library shelf. It is an interesting book that really exposes you to how people work daily to provide food for very little pay. This was a beautiful love story of a grandmother and granddaughter. Lenore Look was inspired by her grandmother who worked at a cannery in Seattle in the ‘60’s and ‘70’s. She wrote the story based on her memories. Beautiful.  Goodreads Summary: Katie loves to show her grandma how to dress a Barbie…and GninGnin loves to show Katie how to make rice dumplings. More than anything, Katie longs to go with GninGnin to work, to crack a mountain of crabs alongside her at the crab cannery. One day Katie gets her wish, but nothing is the way she’d imagined it. GninGnin swings a heavy mallet from sunup to sundown in a noisy, smelly room, earning barely enough for bus fare and fish for dinner. That evening when Katie eats the delicious meal that GninGnin has cooked – “made with love as strong as ginger and dreams as thick as black-bean paste” – she has a new understanding of her beloved grandma’s hard life, and the sacrifices she’s made to give her granddaughter a brighter future.

 

Lucky Monkey Unlucky Monkey A Story by James Kaczman

This was such an odd, entertaining story with a great opportunity to discuss perspective, author intention, attitude, and humor… Hilarious. Plus there are bonus glimpses into the narrarator’s point of view. Goodreads Summary: This story is about Ed and Ted, two thinking, speaking, fully clothed, house-dwelling monkeys. One day, Ed walks out of his just-the-right-size-for-a-monkey house. He is greeted by a bright, sunny day, with butterflies fluttering about and cute, friendly animals cheerfully hopping around.
Meanwhile . . . Ted walks out of his just-the-right-size-for-a-monkey house and is met by a forbidding sky with dark clouds, large insects swarming about, and frightening vermin crawling around.

 

The Cello of Mr. O by Jane Cutler, illustrated by Greg Couch – Here’s another gorgeous war story with a beautiful music connection… Goodreads Summary: In a tribute to the unnamed city of Sarajevo, a girl tells the story of the struggle to survive in a city ravaged by war. The only happiness in her life&150and the lives of those around her&150comes every Wednesday at four o’clock, in the form of a relief truck bearing supplies. But when the relief truck is bombed in the town square, the people begin to lose hope, until the girl’s unfriendly neighbor, Mr. O, takes over. Every day at four o’clock, Mr. O sits in the square and plays beautiful melodies on his cello, buoying the spirits of the town with his music and his courage.

I was distracted by a Contemporary Romance novel I promised I’d write a review on throughout this week, so Brooklyn Love by Yael Levy will be reviewed later, no other novels completed… although…

Books I’m in the beginnings of:

The Poison Garden by Sarah Singleton – reminding me so far of The Westing Game and 39 Clues… Goodreads Summary: It is the 1850’s, and a young boy, Thomas, leaves his family to be apprenticed to a pharmacist, at the behest of his dead grandmother. He also inherits a magical box from her, which provides him entry into a mysterious garden. But while visiting it, he sees a ghostly vision of his grandmother, who tells him she was poisoned, and warns him that he must find the person responsible, and save her precious garden. For she was one of five members of an arcane guild, each of whom cultivated an individual garden, mastering the art of poison, perfume and medicine. The guild members jostle for power as, one by one, they are murdered …
Can Thomas solve the mystery, before he in turn is threatened?

 

Delirium by Lauren Oliver – fascinating premise- that love is a disease that can be cured, fascinating. Goodreads Summary: Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.
But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

13 comments on “Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 9/17/12

  1. Melanie Meehan
    September 17, 2012

    You read such great multi-cultural and global awareness books this week! I’m putting the Cello of Mr. O on my wishlist and I love the premise of Luck Monkey, Unlucky Monkey. Might have to track that one down, too. I don’t have a lot of time for novels so I really appreciate the picture books. Thanks!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 17, 2012

      Thanks! Glad you’re enjoying. I’m having trouble making time for novels and am enjoying the picture books! I love having a whole variety of multi-cultural/global awareness books. Feeling lucky. 🙂

  2. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    September 17, 2012

    Ooo… Poison Garden sounds cool. Can’t wait to hear what you think. I loved Westing Game!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 17, 2012

      So far, it is quirky and interesting… reminds me of Avi-style writing… Like Crispin. Shall finish this week!

  3. lenorelook
    September 17, 2012

    Thanks so much for reading my first book, LOVE AS STRONG AS GINGER. I love that book! It was inspired by my grandmother’s life in the canneries, but I had to do extensive research to get all the details right. My gnin-gnin never talked about her work and died with her stories. While I had the idea for the book, I couldn’t write it until I’d spent a day working in a cannery myself — out on the Washington coast, and interviewing everyone there. My day in the cannery and the stories the workers told me became the book. Thanks so much for mentioning it — the focus these days is so much on an author’s latest work — while earlier work, which is often very revealing and can foreshadow an entire career, is neglected or altogether forgotten.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 17, 2012

      I loved the book as well, what a treasure you created! Celebrating family history and experiences are beautiful… What an enriching experience researching as well. I have family members that never talk about their work/war experiences and feel a loss not having that knowledge. I have a tendency to read everything I can by authors I love and was quite excited to find your book on my new school’s shelf! I’m so honored that you’re keeping up with my blog and commenting on it! Thank you very much, makes my day/week/month. 🙂

  4. Hannahlily
    September 17, 2012

    I’d never heard of The Poison Garden, but it does sound very intriguing. I must see if I can find it somewhere! Delirium is book that has really grown on my. I loved Pandemonium even more than Delirium. Can’t wait til the next book to come out!

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 17, 2012

      I am reading some books that might be difficult to find in the states now… I’m enjoying Delirium so far but now am anticipating Pandemonium- thanks! (I already see why so many people were excited about these books!)

  5. Myra GB
    September 17, 2012

    Hi! I borrowed love as strong as ginger for our festival of asian lit/immigrant theme last May but didn’t get to read it! Too bad. I should check it out again from our library, as based on your lovely review. The premise of Delirium sounds interesting – I’m hoping there’s no love triangle here, though, I’m a little sickened by the formulaic love-triangle-theme in a lot of YA novels. The Cello of Mr. O also looks great. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all these titles.

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 17, 2012

      I highly recommend reading Love as Strong as Ginger- beautiful and highly worth it… I’m hoping to have a break from love triangles as well. Have a feeling it will be more of love vs. the establishment/government… Shall see!

  6. Lorna
    September 17, 2012

    Don’t you just swoon when an author comments on your blog?!! 🙂 Authors are rock stars.

    Love as Strong as Ginger sounds wonderful, especially living here in Seattle. I’ll be looking for that one.

    I’m also intrigued by the premise of The Poison Garden. I too loved The Westing Game

    • The Styling Librarian
      September 19, 2012

      I highly recommend you read Love as Strong as Ginger– perfect Seattle connection. Yes. I swooned. 🙂 The Poison Garden is fascinating… I keep getting torn between the two books this week. Probably will finish them both soon! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Author Connections through Twitter and Blogging « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

