The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Update Week 5

Hong Kong Week 5 Update:

Well, I now have internet access! Ever so thrilled about being officially connected again after a few weeks going without. I will admit that not having internet and tv access certainly led me to more reading and project completion for school.  We did not get out and explore much of Hong Kong as a family this past week. I was personally quite focused on work, finding a helper, and getting our son to adjust to school and figured down time after a day at school was a good idea. This Friday, while I was at a school PYP/IB Inquiry training for the day, Declan and Doug went to explore Ocean Park and have fun there. I’ll include a few pictures below.

Work is quite interesting. I love that I’m challenged in a new environment but find myself getting frustrated at my limitations, lack of name recall at times, and the steep learning curve that I’m climbing. I’m looking forward to plugging away at things so that I feel success at the end of each day. Some days I have, for the most part. I am taking the time to note what I’ve done each day in the library in a calendar so that I can be reflective before wrapping up and bringing work home with me. I’m trying to be realistic and not burn myself out. The library I am in is beautiful. Also it is quite LARGE from what I’m used to prior- I have to race through the library to get to my office phone- that’s getting old… But at the same time the library is familiar as well. Next week’s post I will include various pictures but for now, I’ll share a picture of the hundreds of books (sorted) that all need cataloging and processing in the library. I only added three books to the hundreds, so it is odd to be working hard to add a selection of books that I didn’t pick for the library. I am impressed with the former librarian’s selections but am honestly concerned with how we’ll get through all those books so that I can focus on purchasing books for programs I am excited about like Hong Kong Battle of the Books, book award programs, etc. I already put out a plea for volunteers who hopefully are willing to help process the books.

A few weeks ago I wrote positives and negatives so far for us. Now, I’ll just write a quick list of what I’m grateful for…

  1. I am grateful for the opportunity that my family is experiencing, especially my son. He already is quite confident with navigating and riding buses, trams, taxis, and the MTR (subway). He’s small enough to squeeze through people when it comes to the tightly packed crowds on buses and the MTR which is quite helpful too!
  2. I am grateful that we brought our dog Dulcie with us. Even though it was complicated, having our sweet dog with us provides us with a feeling of home and routines that we need daily. Plus the love and attention that she gives and receives is always a healthy bonus to our lives.
  3. I’m grateful my husband and I are good communicators, especially with one another. He actually listens and understands and finds solutions to frustrations soon after I’ve voiced them. I’m also grateful that my Doug came over here and jumped right into everything that was intimidating to me. He’s dealt with the initial exploration, navigation, purchasing, and various other imperative life necessities.  Especially now that I’m working and Declan is at school… and he is looking for a job!
  4. I’m grateful for online access to family and friends. If I didn’t have email, Skype, Facebook, Twitter, etc., I think I’d fall apart. It is helpful to get letters from home too! (Thanks Mom and Rachel!)  I love all the emails I’m receiving from colleagues, former students, friends, and family. What a boost they are after exhausting days.
  5. I’m grateful we found a helper- she’s starting on Monday. So far, I have job hope lists, a calendar, key contact numbers, and other random communication tools that I think we’ll need. We also set up our 3rd bedroom for her with bedding and bathroom gear we think she’ll need. We’re hoping it will work out well, shall see!
  6. I’m grateful to have a job that will be challenging and rewarding. I’ve enjoyed meeting most of my new students this week. It is funny to be the new person on campus after being at my former school for 12 years. There are over 700 students in the school and double the staff to get accustomed to in addition to loads of helpers, classroom aides, and other friendly people around the building.
  7. I am really grateful to people who helped Doug and I over the past five weeks transition into this new life. From random strangers who we took up on their offer to help or others who we just met but were headhunters for jobs that might fit for Doug’s needs… felt really lucky to have people helping us out. Thank you to all who are our lifelines here!
  8. I’m thankful for what we brought to Hong Kong and what we’ve needed to purchase—I would love to live a minimalist life, but it just isn’t happening. Every time I purchase something, I think to myself: this will need to last two years at least, will it? Am I buying quality? I loved reading this article last week that helped me reflect on my approach to life and material objects: http://bucks.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/06/26/the-case-for-spending-a-little-more-sometimes/

I’m looking forward to things as well:

  1. I’m looking forward to exploring Hong Kong instead of having to shop every time I have a free moment. We have a wonderful book, Hong Kong for Kids,  that we enjoyed browsing and picking trips to go on and plan to go explore on Saturdays.
  2. I am looking forward to prioritizing health again. My knee is clearing up after getting inflamed/upset at all the stairs I was climbing those first three weeks here… so this means I can start going to the fitness room in our building and working out a little.
  3. I’m looking forward to my son making new friends and coming home to a happy boy who is excited about his day at school. Not complaining, he’s happy enough and sharing about some school activities and he’s content with things presently, but it is a hope.
  4. I’m looking forward to trying out new meals with our helper, not dealing with laundry/dishes on top of commuting and work… and being slightly relaxed at home. I will not be complaining about that change. At all.

45 comments on “Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Update Week 5

  1. Hillary Harris Moldovan
    August 26, 2012

    I am thankful that you have been in my life these past seven years and I get to experience Hong Kong through D4! ❤
    I am chuckling that you are being such a good PYP person – Reflective, indeed! 🙂
    I am envious of the new experiences you're having (and the helper!) but then I have to admit to myself – could I do this now? I can't make Maggie, Mitch, and Ian move with me!
    I remember my time in Paraguay and am at peace knowing how that made the person I am now and that Hong Kong will be a part of the amazing person Declan is growing to be.
    I am not looking forward to tomorrow morning and not seeing your face.
    But most of all, it's the first line – I'm just so glad that my family has been blessed by your family in our lives! ❤

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 27, 2012

      Thanks so much Hillary, ever so thankful for your friendship and support. 🙂 Hugs your way.

  2. Erin FB
    August 27, 2012

    Sounds like it’s going pretty well! That pile of books is intimidating, I’m sure, but one book at a time it will all get done. You seem to be adjusting really well. I haven’t seen one post about ending up in a puddle of tears, and I did that pretty regularly last time I changed jobs, and I hadn’t moved to another country on top of it! Hang in there 🙂

  3. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Resources shared August 2012 « The Styling Librarian

  4. Nancy Farrar
    August 29, 2012

    Your adventures will be so valuable to your son in the future . Seeing and making changes done well is such a such an asset for his future. You and Doug are a great team.

  5. Damiana King
    August 30, 2012

    Hey Debbie, It has been a weird week back to school without you! We can’t even check out books! 🙂 But I’m so glad you are out exploring Hong Kong and are getting to keep spreading your library knowledge as you are so good at it! I miss you! Hugs, Damiana

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 30, 2012

      So sad, no books. Sickens me. Missing everyone quite a lot, seriously. Hope a good assistant comes in and helps everyone transition. But enjoying the new experiences and starting to collaborate with new colleagues. Goodness… Good luck with your class size, yikes. 38. Right? Ech. Hugs your way!

  6. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 7 « The Styling Librarian

  7. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 8 « The Styling Librarian

  8. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 9 « The Styling Librarian

  9. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 10 « The Styling Librarian

  10. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 11 « The Styling Librarian

  11. Pingback: Hong Kong Transition: Week 12 « The Styling Librarian

  12. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 13 « The Styling Librarian

  13. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 14 The Thailand Edition « The Styling Librarian

  14. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 15 Update « The Styling Librarian

  15. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 16 Update « The Styling Librarian

  16. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update: Week 17 « The Styling Librarian

  17. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 18 « The Styling Librarian

  18. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 19 « The Styling Librarian

  19. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 20 « The Styling Librarian

  20. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 21 « The Styling Librarian

  21. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 22 « The Styling Librarian

  22. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 23 « The Styling Librarian

  23. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week Update Week 24 The Vietnam Edition « The Styling Librarian

  24. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 25 Update « The Styling Librarian

  25. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 26 Update « The Styling Librarian

  26. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 27 Update « The Styling Librarian

  27. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 28 Update « The Styling Librarian

  28. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Week 29 Update « The Styling Librarian

  29. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 30 Update « The Styling Librarian

  30. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 31 Update | The Styling Librarian

  31. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 32 Hong Kong Update | The Styling Librarian

  32. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 33 Hong Kong Update | The Styling Librarian

  33. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 34 Windsurfing | The Styling Librarian

  34. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 35 School Life, Exhibition, and Flower Expo | The Styling Librarian

  35. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 36 Junk Boat Special Feature | The Styling Librarian

  36. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update US Visit Edition Week 37 | The Styling Librarian

  37. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 38 | The Styling Librarian

  38. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 39 | The Styling Librarian

  39. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 40 | The Styling Librarian

  40. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 41 | The Styling Librarian

  41. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 42 | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

