The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 8/20/13

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I enjoy keeping track of my reading and sharing with others each week. 

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi – High School/Science Fiction out words that were deepest thoughts of the character in addition to the brilliant plot pulling me throughout the book. I found the book compelling and actually found myself comparing it to the much younger book (and lighter in many circumstances) The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester and Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Goodreads Summary: The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.


A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – so I did it. I started an adult book. And also I started a book that is part of an addicting series. This was my gift to myself since I know I’ll want to read it everywhere and can carry my iPad around and enjoy getting lost in this fantasy, complicated world. Understanding and remembering characters and their interconnectedness is the biggest challenge so far for me. It has been a while since I read a book with such a large character driven community in it, but I’m loving every minute so far! **No I haven’t and won’t watch the show until I’m done with the book/series. I hate having others reshape my imagination as I read a book… 🙂

My apologies to friends in the US who will now hear about gorgeous new picture books published in Australia. I have the bonus of getting to review these new books that just came into my school library! *Soon I’ll spend more time reversing images, etc… Rushing today as I have no internet at home yet…

 

The Coat by Julie Hunt, illustrated by Ron Brooks – wow, what a beautiful story! The text and illustrations work together in a gorgeous way to describe a magical coat that is offended just sitting out in the middle of a field and the magical experience a human has when he decides to go and put the coat on. I loved the fantasy element of this story and was drawn to all the illustrations. I look forward to finding more books in my new library created by both the author and illustrator!

 

Pooka by Carol Chataway, illustrated by Nina Rycroft – awww. Just look at the cover illustration. Doesn’t your heart melt? Imagine a family finding a dog on their doorstep and falling in love with the dog and at the same time having to advertise that they found the dog… Imagine the family completely connecting with the dog but then the owner showing up. What a beautiful, touching story! I would use this book with students when I’m trying to help them understand about empathy and reflectiveness. I loved the ending which was just perfect as well. I recommend this to any dog lover!

 

A Boy Like Me – A Story About Peace by Libby Hathorn, illustrated by Bruce Whatley – This is a gorgeous book with a message that needs more than one read to deeply understand on what peace means to different people, how to seek and find peace, and how to understand peace…  Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

 

A Bear and a Tree by Stephen Michael King – I always fall for those friendship stories. This one is beautiful… it started slightly abrupt for me but was drawn quickly into this story that I thought was perfect for illustrating how to be reflective and enjoy the process of life and projects vs. the product.

 

No Bears by Meg McKinlay – Here is an Australian author/illustrator who is akin to Lauren Child, one of my favorite book creators. What a cute story with an additional story through the illustrations… like Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathman. A little girl share how she is creating a story which has absolutely no bears in it since she’s totally sick of seeing bears in stories… and in the background there is a bear helping, rescuing, and interacting in the background on every page. What a hilarious book this was—and I enjoyed how it connected with fairy tales as well to make it slightly a fractured fairy tale too!

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

19 comments on “Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 8/20/13

  1. Myra GB
    August 20, 2012

    Hi there! I’m so glad that you’re also reading George RR Martin’s A Game of Thrones. Unlike you, though, I started with the TV series (watched both seasons with the husband) before I began reading the books. I made mention of this in my It’s Monday, what are you reading post as well. 🙂 The picture books you shared all look so lovely and luscious! I was particularly taken with “A Boy Like Me” by Libby Hathorn – will definitely look for that one. Thanks for sharing all these. 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 20, 2012

      I find it quite exciting to explore all these new books! I put off Martin’s books since I knew they would distract me… 🙂

  2. Debra Perrin
    August 20, 2012

    Stephen Michael King and Bruce Whately are both consistently good authors and illustrators, don’t pass them by without looking inside anything that has their name on.

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 20, 2012

      Shall do! 🙂 Looking forward to it… I know I’ve read other Bruce Whatley books before… But I bet I have more is a selection now!

  3. Stacey H. (@libraryjo92)
    August 20, 2012

    You’ve got some picture books that I haven’t seen yet, but will be on the look out for.

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 20, 2012

      Terrific! I felt slightly guilty at first realizing that I will be presently blogging about picture books that are from Australia. But then it hit me, that world awareness is helpful and important… So even if they aren’t all available, still good to know about them!

  4. Natalie Dias Lorenzi
    August 20, 2012

    I hadn’t heard of Pooka, but it looks adorable! I wonder if it would pair well with Andrew Clements’ Dogku–I think I’ll give it a try. Thanks again!

  5. walkharv
    August 20, 2012

    I’ll have to check out The Magic Coat — I’m reading The Night Circus right now and I’m drawn to everything magic! I’m even dreaming about magic. You might like the book, Words Set Me Free, I posted about today — it has a dedication from the author to librarians, such as you! http://jeannewalkerharvey.blogspot.com/2012/08/words-set-me-free.html

    How’s Hong Kong treating you?

  6. Lorna
    August 20, 2012

    Love all your Aussie books! Pooka looks so cute! I did get to read No Bears! and found it sweetly funny. Kids will adore that one as a read aloud. I’ve not yet read or seen The Game of Thrones, but can understand the draw and glad it’s living up to all the addicting hype!

  7. Having GoT on your iPad is probably easier than reading the physical books, because the paperbacks are so big! I hate creasing the spines of my books, but it’s hard not to when they’re that long.

  8. Maria Selke (@mselke01)
    August 21, 2012

    Another benefit of reading RR Martin electronically? The Wiki. I got the fifth book as an ebook and could click on a name and hit up the wiki for a quick refresher on who the heck they are.

    I had read the first book years ago, then watched the first episode of the series when it came out. I panicked when I needed to know what happened to a character, so I reread the book before I watched the rest of the season. Then I read all the rest of the books. *chuckles*

    • The Styling Librarian
      August 21, 2012

      Hadn’t thought about that! So many resources to aide readers! We are on a lucky yet worrisome stage. I still am at that happy medium stage.

  9. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)
    August 22, 2012

    I’ve heard people talk about Game of Thrones but haven’t read or seen the shows. Very cool that you have some preview books from Australia! I like No Bears! Thought it was cute.

  10. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Resources shared August 2012 « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

