The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Retro Post on Reading Styles– appealing characteristics in books:

Glimpsing Back on My Reading Perspective 8 Years Ago: I dug through my old librarian conference records and found notes from a workshop on how books have appealing characteristics. Here’s my point of view of favorite books eight years ago, made me chuckle and also reflect back on some favorite books. I think it is interesting to see the mingling of a few adult and young adult titles with other children’s literature and also to see that at the time I only included one picture book. How things have changed since then! *I probably will post soon with my new lists but won’t rush into it! I do think that analyzing books with these traits- character driven, favorite setting, central story, wonderful language — would bring about some fascinating discussions with colleagues, book groups, and in class as well. See my blogger/comment challenge below! I actually even disagree with some of the categories my 8 years back self placed books in- especially Shadow of the Wind, if there ever was a book with the most gorgeous language ever, that book is it.

Five of my favorite novels:

  1. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke – fantasy, 4th/5th through adult
  2. Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly – historical fiction, high school
  3. P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern – romance, adult
  4. House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer – science fiction, high school
  5. The End of the Beginning by Avi, fantasy, 3rd grade and up- it takes a special reader, a special family to enjoy this treasure of a book. I love this as a read aloud!

Favorite character driven books:

  1. Ida B. by Katherine Hannigan – realistic fiction, 4th grade and up
  2. Olivia Kidney by Ellen Potter – fantasy, 3rd/4th grade and up
  3. Gooney Bird Greene by Lois Lowry – realistic fiction, 2nd grade and up
  4. Star Girl by Jerry Spinelli – realistic fiction, 4th/5th grade and up
  5. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – fantasy, hard to classify age range…
  6. Curious Incident of a Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon – realistic fiction, high school
  7. Loser by Jerry Spinelli – realistic fiction, 5th grade and up

Favorite Setting Books:

  1. Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes – memoir, adult
  2. Dune by Frank Herbert – science fiction, high school/adult
  3. Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse – historical fiction, 4th grade and up
  4. Boston Jane by Jennifer L. Holm – historical fiction, 4th grade and up

Favorite Books with a Central Story:

  1. Roland Smith/Will Hobbs – any of their books – specifically their adventure/survival books, 4th/5th and up
  2. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen – adventure/survival – 5th grade and up
  3. DaVinci Code by Dan Brown – mystery, adult
  4. The End of the Beginning by Avi – fantasy, 3rd grade and up
  5. Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – adult
  6. Secret Garden by Frances Hogston Burnett – classic, 4th grade and up

Favorite Books with Wonderful Language:

  1. Madeline L’Engle – any of her books – fantasy/science fiction, 5th/6th grade and up
  2. Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly – historical fiction, high school
  3. To Think I Saw it on Mulberry Street by Dr. Seuss – fantasy, picture book, all ages

Overall Books that Fit Every Wonderful Favorite Category:

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – fantasy, still hard to classify age range but if forced, 3rd grade and up
  2. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen – adventure/survival, 5th grade and up
  3. Holes by Louis Sachar – multifaceted- fantasy/realistic fiction/tall tale, 4th/5th grade and up

What would be your favorite books for different categories? I challenge all my reader friends around the world to reply below or participate in this reading reflection if you blog! Can you find your book log from eight or ten years ago? Can you categorize favorite books presently or in the past?

I would love to help others share their ideas but also collect your brilliant thoughts for my own use!

Hello WordPress, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, email and all other followers! I’m so grateful to be able to share my point of view with the world, however random it may be. I just finished two “induction” days with English Schools Foundation in Hong Kong. I’m looking forward to working with this organization that is so welcoming, professional, organized and supports IB/PYP in a passionate, educated manner. I also cannot wait to begin working at my new school. My family found an apartment and we begin our purchases and move into the apartment tomorrow. It will take a few days though. I’ve allowed myself to be distracted while we’re adjusting to our new life, surroundings, and all the other extra activities that come with moving from one continent to another! I wrote this post a few months ago (never shared until now) and just loved reflecting back on how I’ve grown as a reader, even with just eight years. The influence of my colleagues, professional resources, online education community, and family are obvious when I think of what I love now vs. then… but at the same time, I love celebrating the books that are mentioned, they are still fantastic in my opinion. I created the collage images on Picasa, think I’ve mentioned before in some of my technology posts how much I love that program. Wishing everyone the best in coming days. Thank you again for keeping up with me, I love it!

Please visit me at Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian
Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

One comment on “Styling Librarian: Retro Post on Reading Styles– appealing characteristics in books:

  1. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Resources shared August 2012 « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

