The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: Post about Hong Kong Move

Hello everyone who follows my blog, thank you!! I apologize to those who follow me specifically because I post about books, I will be mixing things up a little and posting once (or twice) a week about living in Hong Kong. I decided to do so because I’m quick about posting here and don’t need another blog to manage. I’ll post sometimes about books in these, including today!

Here we go: just one week ago, we wrapped up life in Beaverton, Oregon, U.S.A. and flew for hours, around 16 total, to Hong Kong.

What made us up and move to Hong Kong? I put together a FAQ page about this very thing for those who are curious:

http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/05/21/styling-librarian-moving-frequently-asked-questions/

We purposefully chose to ride Air Canada because of their fantastic customer service on the plane. Also, the personalized video screens were helpful for entertaining a six year old for hours.

I watched so many movies, couldn’t believe it… couldn’t concentrate on reading for some really weird reason so I decided to give in and catch up on some movies I’d not have time to watch otherwise.

MYRIAD OF MOVIES WATCHED:
My movies: Crazy Stupid Love, Foot Loose, In Time, Moneyball, and Wanderlust – yes, I stayed awake and watched them all.
My son’s movies: The Lorax… Various tv shows including Wayside School– didn’t know that was a show!!

Then, when we landed in Hong Kong, we bumbled around a bit figuring out how to load and move six large suitcases, three rolling carry ons, and three large backpacks. That was everything we decided to bring to Hong Kong. We decided to get rid of all our furniture, store a large closet worth of items at my parent’s home, and lighten our load of belongings. We had to do this with the rental company we worked for as they would only rent out our house empty/unfurnished.

We prepared in advance and were picked up by a van through my school foundation and additionally met by our wonderful homeowner whom we’re renting the third floor of his house on Pak Kok, Lamma Island. We went to a ferry terminal, rode a ferry over to the island, unloaded all our luggage with four strangers’ help carrying our suitcases up to the house from the ferry and up to the third floor, and then we settled in… We got there in the evening but were so thrown from the time change and flight that we quickly unpacked what was needed, communicated that we were alive online and crashed.

The next day began our riding of ferries, buses, trams, trains, and taxi cabs which leads us to today.

Here’s a glimpse at our beginning adventures. Nothing (in my opinion) fun yet, more focus on the transition, paperwork requirements, money situations, apartment searching, and exploration of random food eateries. We also have hiked and enjoyed cooling off from the humid weather in an air conditioned house.

Oh, I forgot to mention, the 2nd full day we were in Hong Kong, there was a drastic weather change: we came home from another part of Lamma Island on the ferry to a very concerned homeowner. He was worried we wouldn’t make it back since weather was taking a huge turn. Within an hour a Typhoon level 10 hit Hong Kong. The Typhoon speed was 140 km(86 miles)/hour and recorded as the worst one in Hong Kong since 1999.

Finally, my beautiful, brilliant, fun, talented sister Rachel and I agreed to begin communicating through YouTube a few times a week. I already have a YouTube channel, http://www.youtube.com/user/deblalv?feature=watch so we’ll be posting videos on YouTube to one another (and the world) and I’ll include some on this blog: Here’s my first one, now I know how to hold the camera better– going to try to not have to edit, just do a quick one or so minute video each time to post.

Books I mentioned during the video above:

Teach Like Your Hair’s on Fire by Rafe Esquith – This book is brilliant, fascinating, inspiring, and packed with information that I honestly believe every teacher should read. One of my favorite professional books I’ve read in a long time.

Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sara Pennypacker – still reading and enjoying although a little squirmy about a decision some kids are making.

The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller – anxious to completely read, have enjoyed portions but not the complete book. My next professional book to enjoy reading this summer.

*I usually try to read through more professional books during the summer but with this move, I thought two was a reasonable number!

Thanks so much for keeping up with me on this blog, I really appreciate the support. Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. Thanks to all who are already doing so! I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

20 comments on “Styling Librarian: Post about Hong Kong Move

  1. Maryrose Raegen
    July 30, 2012

    Hi Debbie!
    I’m so glad to hear and see that the 3 of you have arrived safely, survived a typhoon, and are sharing this! So cool to hear your voice and see your Youtube piece. Love to you!
    Maryrose

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 30, 2012

      Thanks Maryrose! I’m honestly better at keeping everyone up to date on Facebook– a little more personal there– but glad you’re caught up a little! Hugs your way! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Resources shared August 2012 « The Styling Librarian

  3. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 7 « The Styling Librarian

  4. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 8 « The Styling Librarian

  5. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 9 « The Styling Librarian

  6. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 10 « The Styling Librarian

  7. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Transition: Week 11 « The Styling Librarian

  8. Pingback: Hong Kong Transition: Week 12 « The Styling Librarian

  9. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 32 Hong Kong Update | The Styling Librarian

  10. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 33 Hong Kong Update | The Styling Librarian

  11. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 34 Windsurfing | The Styling Librarian

  12. Pingback: Styling Librarian Week 35 School Life, Exhibition, and Flower Expo | The Styling Librarian

  13. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 36 Junk Boat Special Feature | The Styling Librarian

  14. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update US Visit Edition Week 37 | The Styling Librarian

  15. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 38 | The Styling Librarian

  16. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 39 | The Styling Librarian

  17. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 40 | The Styling Librarian

  18. Pingback: Styling Librarian Hong Kong Update Week 41 | The Styling Librarian

  19. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Hong Kong Update Week 42 | The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,875 other followers

Styling Librarian

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

