The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 7/23/12

Thanks to: TeachMentorTexts for the inspiration! Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the meme!  I do so love keeping track of my reading and sharing with others each week. Personally, having this blog vs. just having a written book journal (which I still keep) and logging thoughts on Goodreads is a tremendously rewarding outlet. I am flattered connecting with other amazing bloggers and book reviewers in addition to connecting with other teacher librarians and fabulous educators from around the world! My family moved to Hong Kong on Saturday. Shall blog soon about it. Been quiet as we packed/prepped for that reason. Curious/unsure about amount of reading time/access to books I will have… Glad I packed it in during July before departing.

Enjoyed books as an escape during preparations:

FICTION:

White Crane by Sandy Fussell – Samurai Kids series. – I love the one sentence promo on the back of this book: “Can a one-legged boy become a great samurai warrior?” Terrific book, fascinating premise, and my favorite thing was the messages of flexibility and diverse opinions are acceptable. This was a book I read for Hong Kong Battle of the Books. Love that it is exposing me to Australian authors!

GRAPHIC NOVEL:

Babymouse for President by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm – I adore Babymouse. I highly recommend reading every Babymouse book. Here’s a fantastic blog that has wonderful resources for Babymouse for President: http://mrschureads.blogspot.com/2012/07/happy-book-birthday-to-babymouse-for.html

Gabby & Gator by James Burks – I loved this graphic novel! Very cute, special book with fantastic messages about friendship, misunderstanding others, judging before you know, and standing up for yourself. Gabby is an endearing character for me just by the posters in her room like Recycle OR DIE and Go Vegetarian! I loved that the alligator had a computer journal and has to resolve his eating thing… I want to read the sequel– which I dream is in the works even though it was published in 2010…

BIOGRAPHY:

Bambino and Mr. Twain by P.I. Maltbie, illustrated by Daniel Miyares – Anyone who loves cats will love this book. Anyone interested in a glimpse into Mark Twain’s life will enjoy this book. I loved the feelings portrayed in the book in regards to Mark Twain losing his wife… I had this as a read aloud with my son and he was confused at first about whether this was really a biography or a story… We agreed in the end it was a story with a loads of information about Mark Twain. Touching, wonderful book.

Hanging off Jefferson’s Nose – Growing up on Mount Rushmore by Tina Nichols Coury, illustrated by Sally Wern Comport – Since I grew up hearing about Mount Rushmore and researching, it was fascinating to read this biography about someone who grew into quite a prestigious position in the creation of Mount Rushmore.

Life in the Ocean – The Story of Oceanographer Sylvia Earle by Claire A. Nivola – Talk about focus, drive, and inquiry! This is a fantastic biography that not only explores the fascinating life of Sylvia Earle but also investigates the history of oceanography.

POETRY:

The Arrow Finds Its Mark- A Book of Found Poems – edited by Georgia Heard, illustrated by Antoine Guilloppe – Fantastic creative way of finding poems. I’ve read some teaching ideas about this in the past but seeing a compiled book that you could use for creative writing in the classroom was wonderful.
Here is my favorite poem from the book:
Found by Laura Purdie Solos in book titles on a library shelf:
Top Ten Rules for Our Zoo Field Trip

Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus
Please don’t feed the bears
Don’t go pet a porcupine
Never tease a weasel
Never, ever shout in a zoo
Never smile at a monkey
Please don’t wake the animals
Never play snap with a shark
Don’t take your elephant to school

DON’T TOUCH THAT!

*I read this poem without an explanation as to how it was created and he started to bounce up and down and shouted “I know how they created this one!” What a fun book this would be for sharing in the classroom!

PICTURE BOOKS:

Dog in Charge by K.L. Going, illustrated by Dan Santat – very cute story, my son read it to me and chuckled throughout. – Loved the illustrations too!

Little Bird by Germano Zullo – fascinating, interesting book… I think I’d connect it with Hey, Al by Arthur Yorinks

When Blue Met Egg by Lindsay Ward – This book was quite the quirky one. I’m still processing it. It was cute as far as the message of friendship and seasons goes though! Plus the illustrations were quite cute.

NON-FICTION BOOKS:

The Plant Hunters by Anita Silvey — True Stories of Their Daring Adventures to the Far Corners of the Earth – This is one fascinating book, makes me want to read the Orchid Thief now that I understand the history, tools, and obsession a little more of the plant hunters. My favorite part of the book is the beginning paragraph: “One got eaten by tigers in the Philippines; one died of fever in Ecuador; one drowned in the Orinico River; one fell to his death in Sierra Leone. Another survived rheumatism, pleurisy, and dysentery while sailing the Yangtze River in China, only to be murdered later. A few ended their days in lunatic asylums; many simply vanished into thin air.” — wow, what a beginning, right?

Which Side Are You On? The Story of a Song by George Ella Lyon, artwork by Christopher Cardinale – Beautiful illustrations, fascinating strength portrayed in this explanation of how people stood up to their company, formed a union and then had their lives and their family’s lives threatened for speaking up for what they knew was right. – I think this link provides you with the song both with lyrics and audio: http://unionsong.com/u015.html

Want more book ideas and reviews? – Yes, I’m quite brief, but a prolific reader!  Please visit me at Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1941055-the-styling-librarian

Also, please follow this blog through email updates – (do so to the right of this blog post), my Facebook page, comment, or meet up with me on Twitter. I appreciate all of the support, makes my day! Honored by all the wonderful followers.

19 comments on “Styling Librarian: What are you reading? 7/23/12

  1. Earl
    July 22, 2012

    I may have to read the Mark Twain book. He fascinates me.

  2. Melanie Meehan
    July 23, 2012

    I’m marking your page for my trip to the library! One of my daughters will love the oceanographer book and I want to read the Plant Hunters–I loved the Orchid Thief!
    Have a great week!

  3. Jennifer
    July 23, 2012

    You always have such great books! I can’t wait to get Babymouse for President.
    Happy reading this week!

  4. Linda Baie
    July 23, 2012

    Thanks for the loads of book titles to find. I have The Arrow Finds Its Mark-very fun poetry. I will definitely look up the Rushmore book-my son-in-law grew up near there-he will love it, too!

  5. Katya
    July 23, 2012

    The Plant Hunters looks fascinating. I loved The Orchid Thief.

  6. Jessica Walsh
    July 23, 2012

    Holy wow! You read some great books this week. You just increased my TBR list. Thank you for sharing!

  7. Hannahlily
    July 23, 2012

    You read 2 of my favorite picture books this week! Little Bird and When Blue met Egg. Love them both! I can’t wait to read Life in the Ocean and The Plant Hunters. They sound so interesting!

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 23, 2012

      I did so enjoy Little Bird and When Blue Met Egg… It was fun to read some non-fiction picture books this past week…

  8. Ms. O
    July 23, 2012

    I am still waiting for The Plant Hunters at the public library. Now must add Hanging off of Jefferson’s Nose to my hold/TBR list!

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 23, 2012

      🙂 It was quite interesting to read, good luck on that hold list, I was sad to let go of holds w/the move… But ran over to the bookstore to read a few of them before I left! 🙂

  9. You did read a lot! I’m so glad you read and loved Gabby and Gator!!!! I adore that book and Beep and Bah by James Burks! 🙂

    • The Styling Librarian
      July 24, 2012

      Thanks so much for recommending both! Fabulous book treasures. Had to read a lot before flying out. Enjoying a few books but no more new picture books for a few weeks. 🙂 Then I’ll get into my new library and have a book party exploring new treasures!

  10. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Resources shared August 2012 « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,877 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

