The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

Styling Librarian: It’s Monday! What are you reading? 4/2/12

Fun reading time, as always with book treasures.  

Here’s the inspiration behind this post/meme:  http://www.teachmentortexts.com/
Thanks to Jen and Kellee for the inspiration!

I am presently right in the middle of Chomp! by Carl Hiaasen – enjoying it quite a bit. I also look forward to reading Close to Famous by Joan Bauer soon… and many other titles teasing me over on the book shelf.

I treasure every minute that I’ve read with my son this month…

he’s been very open-minded when I come home with a stack of 20 new picture books.

I adored reading Here Come the Girl Scouts by Shana Corey. I’m looking forward to sharing this with everyone- my students, staff… love the format, illustrations, quotes, life story, just wonderful book from beginning to end.

I love the time period and look forward to partnering the book with Barbara Kerley’s book What to do about Alice? How Alice Roosevelt Broke the Rules, charmed the world, and drove her father Teddy Crazy.

Here’s a movie promotion for Here Come the Girl Scouts:

Here Come the Girl Scouts Shana Corey Interview from Expanded Books on Vimeo.

I went a little… cuckoo on reading all of Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s picture books this past month, what a fun run it was through his brilliant books! I’ll post more about this soon enough in an author appreciation post. Ollie is in another picture, don’t think I purposefully missed it! What a fun collection of books to read through with my son. I especially enjoyed when he was able to read me the books, so nice that Jarrett writes at a variety of different reading levels.  I did already post once about how I’m a big fan of Punk Farm- it was my first “ever” Styling Librarian post: http://thestylinglibrarian.com/2012/01/02/starting-out/

This past week was Spring Break for me so I was on a mission to clear out some of the titles on my shelf… but I added more to the piles as well, so they don’t look any lighter, what’s new?

I enjoyed many books nonetheless.
I’m looking forward to chatting with my 5th graders tomorrow as I finally can answer “yes” to their constant checking if I finished reading Matched by Ally Condie, I did enjoy the book.

Not so eager to jump into the sequel though, not like when I read Divergent by Veronica Roth and desperately am looking forward to May 1st when the sequel, Insurgent, comes out!

This is now National Poetry Month, so I MUST share my new favorite poetry treasure (I have around 80 favorites, might be writing about them this month!) My newest favorite is one that I have been anticipating reading for 3 years! I enjoyed listening to Gail Carson Levine reading aloud her poems during a professional conference and was so excited to finally have the book to enjoy: Forgive Me, I Meant to Do ItFalse Apology Poems by Gail Carson Levine this was a FABULOUS, HILARIOUS, WONDEROUS poetry read that I can’t wait to partner with numerous poetry books.

Here’s my new books read for the month of March 2012, love sharing with Animoto: *Note, I read over 30 books this past week, don’t really want to list them all… but anyone who wants to know what else I’ve enjoyed, click on my Goodreads on the side of this page- happy to make friends with more reading buddies. Also, I love having more friends sharing brilliant ideas on Twitter…

7 comments on “Styling Librarian: It’s Monday! What are you reading? 4/2/12

  1. The Styling Librarian
    April 3, 2012

    Reblogged this on Top Books in My World and commented:

    Sharing over to Top Books in My World for my monthly update…

  2. Catherine Monaghan
    April 3, 2012

    Hi Styling Librarian,
    I’ve just enjoyed browsing your blog for the first (but certainly not the last!) time, and am struck by the difference between our countries and popular authors. Of course there is lots of cross over, but there are also many authors you feature which are not part of our common landscape (although I am sure they are there if you seek them out!) In the UK our Easter Holidays have just started – a great time to catch up, so at my son’s insistence I have just read The Hunger Games (emotionally harrowing) and with my daughter I have been trialling books for next term’s class read – will it be Varjak Paw By S F Said or Mr Stink by David Walliams?
    Saw that you too are a Borrowers fan – have you seen the Studio Ghibli Arrietty? Well worth a look!
    Another big book fan!
    Mrs M
    A Room with a View – Class 2, UK

    • The Styling Librarian
      April 4, 2012

      I did enjoy watching Studio Ghibli’s Arrietty- it is quite interesting to reread it right now.
      Glad you enjoyed browsing! Thanks!

  3. novalibrarymom
    April 3, 2012

    That’s the second time this week that I’ve seen Gail Carson Levine’s book of poems come up. I’ll have to check it out!

    • The Styling Librarian
      April 4, 2012

      Glad you will, for some, they had a hard time getting the humor, but I loved it. Especially with the explanations!

  4. Lots of great books!!!! I had Chomp on NetGalley but didn’t get to it before April so not sure I’ll read it now that I’m in reread mode. 😦

    Here Come the Girl Scouts is great. I love the artwork in that book. We’ve been jamming to Punk Farm this week since we read the books after Jarrett’s virtual booktalks. That was fun.

    I wasn’t a super fan of Matched either…but I did like Divergent. Have you read Delirium by Lauren Oliver? I read Pandemonium (the second one) over the weekend and I really like that series!!

    • The Styling Librarian
      April 4, 2012

      Think I need to read Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, been told a few times that I’d enjoy it… on my tbr pile, THANKS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,874 other followers

Netgalley

Google+ Link

Google+ Link

The Nerdy Book Club

Nerdy Book Club

Creative Commons

